We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic place and unbelievable position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakfree Peninsula
Townsville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic place and unbelievable position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying here in the June school holidays for 5 nights recently. Upon ringing the hotel and speaking with Margaret, we were given a beautiful apartment which had been renovated beautifully. The position of the hotel is fantastic, ensuring beautiful beach views in front and to the north. The layout and furnishings were excellent . Thankyou to Margaret and the team who have ensured a great holiday. The price was reasonable for the situation and quality.Can hardly wait to return. Jones Family, Townsville.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjones099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    176
    58
    39
    31
See reviews for
349
91
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

While the room on 33rd floor was spacious, everything about it was either tired, dated, or simply broken. There was no air conditioner, no AUSTAR pay TV as promised, and no internet access available. In fact, the tiny TV was probably new when Noah stepped off the ark.

The carpet colour had changed over time from grey to pink, probably from excessive steam cleaning, and there were many bleach stains evident throughout. Numerous cigarette burns dotted the carpet, chairs and soft furnishings, and one of the stools had no screws holding the seat in place.

Kitchen cabinets were chipped and flaking under the sink - one drawer completely fell apart when opened. The laminated bench tops were chipped and missing in places. The wall oven and grill were probably new 25 years ago, but the enamel grill trays are now wrapped in aluminium foil to hide the grime. We didn't bother using them...

The shower in the ensuite bathroom to the main bedroom simply dribbled - there was no pressure. The shower cubicle tiling and grout in the main bathroom/laundry was mouldy, as was the ceiling, thanks to the lack of adequate ventilation. The lint filter in the tumble dryer was badly frayed.

All of the drawers, robes and closets through out the unit were dated, tired and had broken fittings. Most of them had items of rubbish or broken trim inside, including the main closet in the hallway which was largely full of rags, paint tins and carpet offcuts.

One only had to look up at any light fitting to find that it was full of dead insects. Not a good look, particularly when combined with a truly awful stucco ceiling. Cracked light switches and power points should have been fixed ages ago. Another annoyance was that only one or two windows were able to be opened, and the main glass door to the balcony would not shut properly. This left a gap, through which a draft whistled incessantly, as did the ever-present noise of surf on the beach below.

If one was brave enough to step onto the balcony, the railing wobbled disconcertingly. To be fair, work was on progress to replace railings on all the units, but this one hadn't been done yet, which begs the question of why the unit was actually available for rent at all.

Overall, a very poor effort. Absolutely unacceptable for a place which is advertised as 4 stars, at 4-star pricing. Don't believe the glossy pictures. Save your money and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

We have stayed at the Peninsula many times over the last 15 years and will keep returning. Ok, the rooms are not super modern or trendy but who cares when you have that view. I spend hours on the balcony, the best place to be in Surfer's! We had a few problems on our latest visit with workmen right near our room (very loud, very early in the morning!) but the second we complained we were moved to a better room and given the opportunity to lodge our complaints with the site foreman. A few years ago at the same hotel, after checking out, they let us back for several hours when my partner became ill - for no extra charge.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nairina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

We booked a year in advance for my daughters wedding - on arrival, the apartment was extremely musty....the furniture old and dingy, carpet in need of being riped out. My husbands asthma instantly started up and I felt sick. The pool was closed (apparently for the next 6 months) and the front desk personnel were less than friendly. We did not travel for 24 hours to stay in a dump with no pool! We walked out and got a great apartment down the street right on the beach.
My advice, do not book into this hotel - if you want to enjoy your vacation, STAY AWAY.

my rating above.....ZERO

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Islandgirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

My Family booked through the internet on this vacation,tried directly with the hotel.They referred us to and agent RCi.com who helpfully enough booked us a room.Upon Arrival we were dubious about the place with large waste bins out front and and signs notifying us of construction work on the premise.The service was poor from the front staff who looked confused in their jobs as tradesmen worked amongst them and as others strolled in and out of the foyer.
We finally checked in,took the elevator to Level 21 .WOW what an entrance.All the wall paper was ripped down from the walls,the ventilation grills were all removed plaster and other debris on the floor,It looked more like a building under construction and the smell of paint and glue made my entire family nausea for the entire evening, even trying ventilate by opening all windows and turning on all fans took hours to clear.I tried to change rooms to be told they were booked solid and even tried to relocate to another premise but the gold coast is busy in March and it was fully booked.The pool downstairs were closed one of the days because of the tradesman working which did not really matter cause the indoor pool was so over chlorinated it burnt the kids eyes and to top things off we on the third day the sprayed the hotel for bugs which left a really poor odor.It had a Kitchen but was missing most of the vital utensils to cook for a family,one of the 3 separate air conditioners did not work in the lounge so we had the room coolers on full blast to try cool the apartment.When Checking out we left early in the morning to catch our flight there were no staff so were unable to get our $100 cash key deposit back.It took 4 weeks and 5 phone calls to finally have it returned via direct deposit.

I have traveled overseas and around this country of mine and i found that this is the worst hotel/motel/back packer/caravan stay of my life.Fair enough i payed just below the standard rate for a room on the coast but i still expect to be given basic comfort.I expect at least the 3 stars it advertises not the 1 star,WHAT A DISGRACE.I f i was told prior it was being renovated i would have gone somewhere else.I believe its the proprietors responsibility to advertise it on there web sight otherwise its false advertising,Others beware This place in 2008 is the Pits.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — the smell of paint and burning glue from wall paper removal
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

We stayed in a spacious 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms, good kitchen and dinning and big lounge area with great ocean views from our room 12c.
We had 3 good sized heated pools, 1 indoor and 2 outdoor and plenty of barbeques.
Only 5 to 10 minute walk to Cavil Mall and bus stops, we bussed it to theme parks and had a great time, our kids loved it and so did we, we can't wait to return,

Grant, Maree and family,
Geelong victoria,

  • Liked — big rooms and views close to everything
  • Disliked — we didnt get it for free!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gmaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

The Peninsula is in a great location with spectacular 180 degree views from our apartment. The foyer and communal areas are newly renovated, and it had great facilities. I've stayed in many apartments on the Gold Coast, and this has huge rooms (not like most of the newer buildings) which you can actually entertain in.

  • Liked — The location, right opposite the beach and near shops, restaurants
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyliel_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Peninsula

Property: Breakfree Peninsula
Address: Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Surfers Paradise Esplanade, BreakFree Peninsula offers sweeping views from the Gold Coast hinterland to the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. Just 100 metres to the beach and close to the retail and dining hub of Cavill Avenue, the resort offers quality, affordable accommodation ideal for a weekend getaway or family holiday. Accommodation options include One, Two and Three-bedroom Apartments, most with stunning ocean views. If you want to pay a small amount more you can live it up Surfers Paradise style in the Two Bedroom Deluxe Ocean Apartments that have been completely refurbished. All apartments feature their own balcony, ceiling fans, hair dryer, in-room safe, Foxtel, security access and intercom, wireless Internet access (at a charge) and full kitchen and laundry facilities. Onsite there are many facilities to choose from including three swimming pools, children's wading pool and playground, heated spa, sauna, gymnasium, tennis court, BBQ facilities and in-room massage. Located just down the road from Cavill Mall, the shopping and dining hub of Surfers Paradise, and close to all the action of Surfers Paradise. Directly opposite the beach, BreakFree Peninsula offers family friendly facilities and the perfect location for your Surfers Paradise escape. **PLEASE NOTE** Air-conditioning is available in some apartments only. Hence it is on request but subject to availability. For your convenience we cannot accept bookings for same day arrivals outside of reception hours. Please phone during normal business hours prior to arrival to arrange after hours check in. Once a booking has been made we accept NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS to that booking. Party Policy: • Parties are not permitted in apartments • Registered guests only are permitted in apartments after 10pm • Excessive noise will not be tolerated Failure to comply with the above will result in the eviction of the guest/from the property. The property reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Peninsula Hotel Surfers Paradise
Peninsula Hotel Breakfree
Peninsula Apartments
Surfers Paradise Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing