We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and Awesome Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Breakfree Peninsula
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just returned from our week long Gold Coast holiday, with our 2 teenagers, and we were absolutely thrilled with our accommodation at the Breakfree Peninsula in Surfers Paradise.

The Good:
Our first class apartment! - we literally had a brand new (refurbished) 2bed/2bath deluxe apartment (22A) and it was soooooo flash :-). 60 inch TV with Foxtel and a TV in the main bedroom too. King size bed in the main, Stone benchtops and fully decked out kitchen, with soft close doors! The people in before us had busted a toilet door lock, and the guy who renovated the apartment fixed it while we were getting checked in. He said the quality of apartments is a bit of a lucky dip, as some are newly renovated, and others are a bit dingy. When we booked we asked for the best one we could get, and according to the renovator, we pretty much got it! - yay!

The VIEW! - First day we were greeted with Whales surfacing about 50 metres from shore, directly in front of us.

The Location! - just walk straight across the road to the patrolled Beach and only a few corners up the road and you're at Cavill Avenue! The Beachfront Markets are on each Wednesday and Friday, and these are literally at your front door. The Q1 is right next door, you have two outdoor pools and one indoor with a spa (which we never went in because it seemed crazy to go inside when you are at such an awesome place like Surfers!)
Played some Tennis, had a nice BBQ in the provided areas in the motel grounds, and basically just enjoyed having everything at our fingertips.

Staff service from Adil was great, and he even printed off our boarding passes for our flights when we were checking out.

The bad:
The plumbing was a little sus in the apartment, and we would get some crazy gurgle noises when the shower was on, just ignored it though. The outdoor spa was a bit useless - but hey, the beach was across the road, so why spend your days at the motel!
Secure and undercover Parking is only provided in limited designated spots - and it seemed like there weren't enough - I was scared that I wouldn't be able to get a spot, but always managed to snag one!
Need some more cutlery in the kitchen :-)

Room Tip: We got a beach view, and high up to avoid traffic noise, but it really isn't a problem because y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear 11Steve,

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

We are very happy that we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday. Our location is very central and close to the beach, shopping, restaurants and other amenities.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Breakfree Peninsula again soon.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 654 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Peninsula with our 3 kids aged 9,7 & 5 from the 10th to 14th Sept, 2012. Fantastic location, close to Cavil Ave, shops & a supermarket. Across the road from a patrolled beach & walking track. Once inside, the staff were polite & helpful. Spacious apartment, open plan living led to a large balcony with great views. Overall the decor was quite dated, but clean & tidy. The grounds & facilities were well maintained, kids loved the pools. We had a great break!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCheleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear MCheleR,

Thank you for posting a wonderful review about your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a great break at Breakfree Peninsula and that we exceeded your expectations on all counts. I will share your feedback with our team. Guest feedback is vital to us for improvement and it aligns with our vision to be the Favourite by Knowing What Matters to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family at Breakfree Peninsula in the near future.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed at the Breakfree Peninsula from the 16th ot the 18th of May 2012, the view was fantastic, the facilities were great and in good condition, and the staff were great and polite.
Wish I could have stayed there longer!
most definitely going back!! this time with the whole family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors the view is amazing !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Rustom P,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and polite.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family at Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the Peninsula with my husband and 2 boys and found the apartment to be very comfortable. We felt right at home and there was plenty of room for us all. The kids had their own room and the views from the balcony were beautiful.
While the room wasn't very modern, we felt more at home than staying in flash hotel as a family.
This is a great place for young families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dally1012004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Dally1012004,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Breakfree Peninsula in one of our comfortable two bedroom apartments. Our apartments are spacious with expansive and breathtaking ocean views.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family at Breakfree Peninsula again.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

As long as you are aware that the apartments are not what would be considered "modern", then you're sure to enjoy your stay. Yes, the decor is reminiscent of the early '90's, but the apartments are spacious, the amenities are complete and the view cannot be beat. The balcony is HUGE and allows for a panoramic view of the beach and the hinterland. The beach itself is directly across the road.
We didn't have a need to communicate with staff other than at check-in and check-out, but it was extremely friendly on both occasions.
The location is within walking distance to the main drag, but far enough away so that the noise of nightclubs doesn't keep you awake. I'll definitely be booking the Peninsula on my return to GC.

Room Tip: Corner apartments seem to be biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatkatydidnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Whatkatydidnext,

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our spacious, fully furnished apartments with fantastic ocean and hinterland views. I am happy to hear you are impressed with the proximity of our location to the beach, shopping, restaurants and other local attractions.

Your comments about our friendly and helpful staff is noted and I will share this feedback with our team.

I look forward to welcoming you and your friends at Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Location wise, couldn't ask for much better! Only a 5 minute walk to the beach. Staff was friendly. But sometimes felt they didn't know too much about the surrounding areas. Rooms were well used and could have been cleaner, but THAT view from the balcony is just sublime. Balcony tend to give you a 180 view of the beach and surrounding areas. Tennis courts, indoor and outdoor pool areas. BBQ area. Sauna etc. Rooms equipped with fully functioning kitchen, bathroom and laundry facilities. Was well priced and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bawdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Bawdo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am delighted to hear that you found us to be centrally located and provided good value for money. I am also happy to hear that the staff were friendly. I have noted your comments about the lack of information from the front desk staff and will ensure that further training is provided in that area.

I am thankful that you have decided to stay with us when you visit the Gold Coast again.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed there for 7 nights,was on the 6th floor and found the location of where it is was great. We were within walking distance to restaraunts, kfc and some tourist attractions eg Ripleys believe it or not. So close to the Surfers paradise beach. Got a good rate for room on internet, the rooms were adequate,decore is a little bit dated, so what! You dont't spend much time there anyway! Love the indoor heated pool and spa! Car parking could be manged better, maybe when booking in you are allocated a car park number , otherwise all good. The only complaint I have is that there could have been two televison sets, one in the bedroom would have been good. Beds were good, made use of kitchen and laundry facilites. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: had a room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satisfiedPortLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear SatisfiedPortLincoln,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Breakfree Peninsula on the Trip Advisor forum.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to the beach, shopping and other amenities to be very central and convenient. At Breakfree Peninsula, we have excellent facilities ranging from heated pools, spa, gymnasium, BBQs to tennis courts. I am happy to hear that you made use of the facilities.

I have noted your suggestion about a T.V. in the main bedroom and will recommend the same to our owners.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next visit to the Gold Coast at Breakfree Peninsula.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,743 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Peninsula

Address: Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $112 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering family friendly facilities and the perfect getaway atmosphere, BreakFree Peninsula is the perfect location for your next holiday. **PLEASE NOTE** Air-conditioning is on request/subject to availability. For your convenience we cannot accept bookings for same day arrivals outside of reception hours. Please phone during normal business hours prior to arrival to arrange after hours check in. Once a booking has been made we accept NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS to that booking. Party Policy: • Parties are not permitted in apartments • Registered guests only are permitted in apartments after 10pm • Excessive noise will not be tolerated Failure to comply with the above will result in the eviction of the guest/from the property. The property reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. *clearance 1.9 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Peninsula Hotel Surfers Paradise
Peninsula Hotel Breakfree
Peninsula Apartments
Surfers Paradise Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing