We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not authentic wax figures”
Review of The Wax Museum

The Wax Museum
Attraction details
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not authentic wax figures”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

There are two stages to your tour at the wax museum, the first stage has the museum of important people who shaped history, these wax figures are no where near the likeness of the original person, Madame Toussauds displays around the world are exemplary and are the real deal and i have seen the one in Sydney, Hong Kong and the UK, although the second stage of the tour displaying the horror chamber was very interesting and informative and presented by a tour guide.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank prozac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    59
    72
    54
    43
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Wax Museum was definitly worth the visit. There is a Tour Guide to talk about some of the figures, and took about 30 mins to get around. Something different to do.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DelandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go again”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Quite disappointing really - expected more for the entry price

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waste of money - a lot of better things to do!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I went to the wax museum today, expecting a good, entertaining time with my family. Oh boy was I wrong! Firstly it is WAY OVERPRICED, more expensive than The Haunted House and Infinity and a hundred times worse. The figures are dated and not very detailed. The tour for the Torture exhibit was boring and I believe that some of the "Facts" told were untrue. Some of the figures don't look close to who they are meant to be and the back of the glass rooms looked rushed with no thought gone into them. You'd expect that when you are paying extraordinary amount's to get in that they would keep the dummies in pristine condition and have more detail. I was expecting a lot more from The Wax Museum. I came out extremely disappointed with how i spent my morning.


Final Comment: Don't bother, plenty of better things to do, most cheaper as well

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RULE303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Not the most engaging attraction. Was hoping for more being billied as Madam Tussards.

Helpful?
2 Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wax Museum also viewed

 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to The Wax Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing