We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fine dining without fine service!...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaduction

Seaduction
8 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 5635 5728
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Seaduction is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $33
Cuisines: Australian, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: As one of the Gold Coast's premier, two-hatted restaurants, Seaduction has an elegance all of its own. The acclaimed menu is superbly complemented by an intimate wine-tasting room, private dining room and bar.Resisting the Seaductive aromas conjured by Executive Chef Reuben Radonich and his team at Seaduction will prove impossible. Once you've tasted the handcrafted cuisine of our two-hatted restaurant you're sure to return.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
282 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Fine dining without fine service!...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had the opportunity to invite friends for dinner at this top fine french cuisine restaurant located on the first floor in the Hotel Sea Temple in downtown Surfers Paradise. We had a great table overlooking the illuminated beach- the decor is modern with good taste. The menu is limited. Portions are small- we had excellent starters but the main courses were a disappointment- eventhough we had each chosen a different main course, the presentation of the food was almost identical but disappointingly served lukewarm.....We had an excellent South Australian Merlot with our meal. The service was a let down-the staff needs additional training as service is such an important part of the eating experience in a fine cuisine expensive restaurant as this one.... they made errors both when they served the food and the way they cleared the table!
This was my last dinner during my recent visit to Australia but unfortunately it was a disappointment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caris25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    78
    42
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good value for money lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Four of us had lunch last Saturday without a booking but it was no problem getting in. We had the two course lunch with a glass of sparkling wine. Food was of very good quality but service was slow and the waitress made several mistakes and seemed to be run of her feet or inexperienced. According to our friends who had been before the food was much better then previously.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Truus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful, elegant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Outstanding menu, I really felt like I could have picked anything from the menu and enjoy it. Very, very high quality, fresh ingredients. Gorgeous interior space and magnificent view. Attentive but not intrusive or pretentious service. This place is really impressive.

I dined here for business but it would be the perfect venue for a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LXE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast, gorgeous ocean views, but all inclusive should include a cappuccino!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

After reading great reviews of Seaduction, we decided to have a celebration breakfast there while on a weekend stay at surfers. The staff were all delightful and attentive. The decor is beautiful, with great attention to detail, and tables are well separated, so that you feel very uncluttered.
Our buffet breakfast did not disappoint, with perfectly prepared Bircher muesli, fresh fruit salads, and excellent pastries. The freshly prepared omelet was wonderful.
So with such wonderful service, and a top dollar price for the buffet, why is there a $4.50 charge for any coffee other than filtered? We have stayed at many hotels in Australia and overseas and this is often included with the buffet. It seems needlessly picky. Seaduction, please do not include everything but a decent coffee!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This is a must !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I went with a large group of overseas visitors - none or few of whom had any concept of what was going to be put in front of them and out of this a word of caution.
This is a very smart restaurant and an understanding of what it is about is important otherwise this can disappoint. Having got that word of caution out there this is a ripping place to eat and be. Just great wait staff - ours was a noisy Cantonese mob who could not make up their mind and the delightful young lady we looked after us deserved a food VC
. Wine list was expansive but had cheaper options for those who have not won lotto this year but also catered for those who have.
Food first class and lots of foam etc while retaining the taste of what was being served in a classical way. Modern food at its best and not to savage on price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oziemuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaduction also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Seaduction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing