We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in Surfers Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find, free shuttle bus, good location, 20 metres from the beach, bus stop at the end of the road!

Free wifi, tea/coffees. Small TV's in rooms which can play whatever the big TV downstairs is playing. DVDs can therefore be hooked up to your room on request. Very cool!

Kitchen is always clean and well equipped - AND ALSO AN OVEN!!!! So all those home made dishes you miss, you can finally get started on.

Downstairs toilet and shower available to save you walking back to your room. Bar/pool/outside seating area is nice with loungers to sunbathe. Bar is cheap. Reception has a locked safe.

The rooms and hostel are cleaned everyday. Girls come in and clean the bathroom, hoover, clean mirrors, change bins etc.

There are lots of backpacker nights out where you can join in. For example €30 on a Wednesday night for 4 nightclub entries and 4 drinks!!

Bedrooms are in 6's with en-suite. The rooms have tons of mirrors in so you're never fighting for a space. Especially if you're with girls in a room! There's also a clothes rail with hangers, perfect little touch.

What more could you want :) spent a lot longer than I intended here, but definitely returning at some point!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank EFEE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 248 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great location right beside the beach. 5 minutes to main CBD. Very very friendly staff! Nice community feel. Very inclusive and welcoming. 8 bed dorms have ample space. Cleaned every morning.

Games and events organised each night. Spacious kitchen. DVD area. Free wifi.

Loved it here!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Staff are very helpful and friendly. Room is well maintained, I don't think it is small because I just need a place to sleep and shower. Staff invite all guests to hang out every night that is very fun and can make friend. It is the liveliest hostel ever I have been.

Room Tip: Choose room with a pool view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratcha_poom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

One of he best hostels I've stayed at in Australia. Friendly and helpful staff. Very close to the beach, bars and shops. Nice clean dorms with en suite which was a bonus. Great place to stay if you like to party and socialize - everyone drunk together and played drinking games before a night out at the bar (which was very cheap). Nice kitchen and the best part was it had an oven which most hostels do not! Would highly recommend and will be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My self and my friend stayed here for two nights. We got the shuttle bus to pick us up which was a great service. We were staying in the apartment section if hostel and was perfect for what we needed. The only problem was the amount of cockroaches that were there.. For the two nights we stayed at least 5 were found..
The beach is only 1 minute walk away.
The staff make u feel very welcome and I like the idea that they get every one together and organise nights out. Its great way for people to mix.. Would defo stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kar102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for about two weeks and we loved it! We first stayed in a 6 bed dorm with own bathroom for the first week; we met so many lovely people! I couldn't fault this place at all, the room gets cleaned everyday, the kitchen is always clean (and is very spacious), they've got every film you can think of! And free WiFi :) The nights out that the hostel do are amazing and cheap. Don't get pulled into the other bar crawls that are sold on the street! We also got upgraded to an apartment for the same price in the second week, thanks to the guys at reception -Kat Kacey and Rhianne :) and the manager Gary! We were only supposed to stay for a few nights but everyone at the hostel is so welcome and it's very safe and homey that you won't want to leave. We still go back to see everyone and would recommend this place to anyone.
Stace & Lloyd :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacey697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in mid October for about 3 nights and had so much fun. We were recommended this place by a tour operator and it didn't disappoint.
We had a 6 bed shared dorm between 4 of us which was clean and tidy and we had our own bathroom.
Staff were friendly and helpful if we ever needed anything. They were such a laugh on nights out too. Very good nightlife at surfers.
Would recommend this hostel happily.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank gazzah91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.9 mi away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#29 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#110 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
356 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#39 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Bea...
#86 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#16 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#74 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers

Address: 3323 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $22 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOVE THE BEACH! GOT THE LOCATION! Come Home to the best Hostel On the Gold Goast.All Dorms and En suites have been fully renovated.FREE UNLIMITED WIFI AND FREE INTERNET COMPUTERS.Surf n Sun is the only hostel in Surfers Paradise with a fabulous 'beachside' location.If you love the beach well we have the location.Just 30 seconds walk from our hostel to the golden sands of surfers Paradise Beach Voted No 4 Hostel in Australia Hoscar Awards 2012If you want the true backpacking experience that is friendly and fun then come home to* Free WiFi* Free Washing* Free Body Boards* Free Movies* Free Tea and Sugar* Play the wii* Free linen* Free Blankets* Free Towels* Free Nights out and Free Drinks* No Deposits for the kitcken!! all plates, cups, bowls etc are free . * Free bag storage* Free use of the B.B.Q* Surfboard Hire* Free pick up and drop off* Cheap Drink at the Hostel Bar 'The Surf Shack'Free WiFi and Free Laundry to hostelworld Guests.(Please ask at reception,conditions apply)Lonely Planet - 'The Epitome of Surfers Paradise wrapped up in one big bundle of backpacker heaven.With an emphasis on fun and frivolity and staff that love to party, it's no wonder that rooms here get booked up well in advance'.Backpackers have traditionally voted with their feet. That's why this family owned and operated hostel, has been the No 1 hostel for travellers from all over the world, for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing