We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small beachside hotel full of surprises”
Review of Chateau Beachside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Beachside
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Chateau for sure is not a fancy 5 stars hotel, but definitely a jewel in Gold Coast.

The location is super, located right infront of Surfer Paradise where you can just see the beach, listening to the ocean wave & feel the sea breeze right inside your room. Waking up in the morning was the happiest moment i'm looking forward to every morning.

They claim the best buffet breakst in Surfer but i doubt it. However, the 2 cafes sitting across the road are excellent with food as well as their coffees.

Centro is 5 mins walk, and you can find foods, drinks, shoppings nearby. High end shops like LV, etc are sittinf next to the hotel. Great too that night market is holding infront of the hotel every Wed, Fri & Sun.

For nightlife, famous Orchard Ave is located behind the hotel.

The most exciting is still the reasonable price comes along with these features around.

Chateau is defitely my choice next time i come to Gold Coast again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcpang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,693)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Beachside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,272 - 1,278 of 1,693 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed at the Chateau in room 1002.

Pros -
Beautiful Beach-front View room
Close to everything less then 5 minute walk
large kitchen & TV
Clean environment
no air con only ceiling fans, made it very hard to sleep at night
helpful receptionist on arrival

Cons -
all windows in apartment all dirty
apartment was a little out dated and rust showing in bathroom
wanted to use fold out couch but has never been cleaned in a while
receptionist on departure was very rude (different person to arrival)

over all the experience staying at the chateau was great just needs a little updating with furniture but would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for high rise room worth going for beach-front apartment
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Chateau Beachside Surfers Paradise turned out to be a major disappointment on several fronts, the room, number 1108 was a major disappointment, old and dated, small TV, dirty windows to spoil the view they were difficult to open and close and a bathroom right out of the 70’s
.
An insult was the management’s insistence on a $200 key deposit in case we lost the keys or made off with the furniture. I travel extensively and this is the very first time I’ve been asked for this. Makes one question if this is indicative of the guests.

The noise at night is just off the planet, drunks, garbage trucks, traffic noise. All might not be so bad if the unit was updated with double glazing and windows that one could actually close.

On the up side the staff were friendly, security was good. It’s obvious that the management and the corporate body have pride in the place, the foyer, hallways, lifts and parking spaces are clean and tidy, shame that they can’t also get the unit owners to up the-ante and update the units. My suggestion when booking this hotel make sure you ask for a renovated unit.

I’ll not be staying at the Chateau Beachside again.

Room Tip: A recently renovated room
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fritz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I left the place cleaner then when I got there. The apartments are run down and old, bathroom had rust everywhere, paint peeling from every wall, bed sheets were stained! Toilet didn't flush because the buttons were stuck! Told management, told management and the answer I got was 'oh well you've checking out now!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mellesa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Fantastic location, friendly staff , really nice rooms and very clean. Fantastic location and great views. You wont find better value accomadation anywhere on the Gold Coast. We will definatly be going back, and very soon i hope.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We decided to book this room instead of an hostel to stay in a nice place, but we had a bad surprise... Dirty small and bad smelling room for 150$ par night...we won't recommend this place to anyone!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lucia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very nice place great service, great location. The room was lovely and the pool area was amazing, really great place for the kids, defiantly will bring the kids next time. Love how there is a play ground in the pool area and the games room is great. wish we stayed longer

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomo2789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
472 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Beachside

Address: Corner The Esplanade And Elkhorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $71 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Beachside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Beachside Resort is the ideal location for your next relaxing getaway. Only one block North of Cavill Mall, The Chateau Beachside is located in the heart of the shopping, dining and entertainment precinct. Featuring 3.5 Star rated facilities and the world famous sandy shores of Surfers Paradise just metres away, you're sure to find what you are looking for right here!Situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise, all units have spectacular ocean views of the famous Surfers Paradise beach below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Beachside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Beachside Hotel Surfers Paradise
Chateau Beachside Surfers Paradise
Chateau Beachside Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing