We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.”
Review of Chateau Beachside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Beachside
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Firstly, I will say that we really like Chateau Beachside. We have stayed there many times, in various rooms, on various levels and will continue to do so. The beauty about Beachside is location, location, location. Directly opposite the beach and Cavill Mall just a block away, it's right in the heart of everything and if its not in the immediate vicinity, its only 5 minutes walk. There are lots of bars and restaurants in the area, including Surfers Sand Cafe on the ground floor which is definately worth a visit. Cheerful staff, good food and reasonable prices. Both Coles and Woolworths are also close by. Big pool, spas and games room for the kids. Chateau Beachside is not 5 star accommodation and this is reflected in the rooms. Some rooms are very well appointed and others have the very minimum basics on offer. It seems to depend on the indiividual owner of that room. On some occasions we've had to go out and buy simple items like sink plugs, can or bottle opener, or decent sized glasses. However, everything is clean and tidy in the rooms themselves which is a credit to the staff. This visit we were very pleased to be told we were located on the beach end, Floor 18. Wonderful views up and down the glitter strip of Sufers and high enough to escape some of the street night noise which travels upwards. I would score it Excellent and 5/5 except for one major issue which we have noticed on previous visits to Chateau Beachside and this reduced the score to Very Good 4/5. Somewhere on or around the 18th floor there's a pressure controlled pump that regularly cuts in and runs for exactly 4 minutes. This pump penetrates throughout the whole floor and not doubt probably down to Floor 17 as well because its very LOUD and very intrusive when it cuts in and out throughout the night. We drew it to the attention of a staff member but never heard from him again to what the issue was. In the days of modern pump technology combined with decent sound proofing, to my mind it would be a very simple matter to address and resolve this problem to the comfort of guests. Certainly it's unacceptable and something we've never experienced in highrise accommodation anywhere worldwide and its need fixing pronto. Other than this Chateau Beachside is at the cheaper end of costs, but you will be rewarded and happy in your choice.

Room Tip: beach end if you can secure it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am in the process of addressing the issue of the pump noise from the roof with the Body Corporate. We have had the pump serviced but it still seems to be noisy and I can appreciate the inconvenience of this noise especially at night and I do apologise for this.

On a lighter note I am pleased to hear that you enjoy your visits to Chateau. We are updating the units but it is a slow process but hopefully next visit you will see an improvement in the overall facilities in the units. In future if you need anything please do not hesitate to contact the Reception staff as they are more than happy to assist you with your needs.

I will pass on your great comments about the cleaning to our staff - they do work hard to ensure all our rooms are of a high standard of cleanliness.

We hope to see you back at the Chateau on your next visit.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,693)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Beachside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 1,693 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a great stay. I liked the factthat management were relaxed and friendly. There werent heaps of locked doors and rules. We had nice bbq at the pool, visited friends rooms and made dinner together. Kids watched dvd they rented free of charge. Storing bikes was no problem. Parking was great. Rooms were big and had everything we needed, with a great view. Good value for money. Spa, sauna and pool lovely. Our bed was comfy and nice. Our sons rolloway was very uncomfortable and putting the mattress on the floor didnt help because it was such a bad mattress. The only negative was having cigarette smoke from nearby rooms and balconies constantly permeating our room, especially through bathroom. Seriously disgusting. If you dont like breathing in other peoples cigarette smoke dont stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Unfortunately we do not manage all the units in the complex so it is very difficult to control the smokers in the complex and we do apologise for this spoiling your holiday.

Happy to hear you made good use of the complimentary facilities in the resort and the kids especially seemed to have a good time.

We hope you do visit us again next time you stay at the Gold Coast.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently stayed for a weekend at Chateau Beachside. The staff were friendly and helpful every time we approached them. The location was the best part. A short walk to beach, shops and other amenities. We were able to park in the car park and leave the car there all weekend. The room was fine. Lovely views of the beach and ocean. As far as furniture went it was quite minimal and not necessarily comfortable - but then, we didn't spend a lot of time in the room itself anyway. Would definitely go back. Especially for the price considering the convenience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate your comments about the furniture in the unit. We are in the process of updating the furniture packages in the units.

The position is fantastic and very close to the beach and the centre of Surfers Paradise that it is a shame to spend too much time in the unit and not enjoy the facilities of the resort and the Gold Coast attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chateau on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Chateau Beachside. The location is fantastic! Right across the road from the beach and barely a two minute walk to Cavill Avenue and dozens of bars restaurants and cafes. The view from the juliet balcony was breathtaking and it was great to sit back with a glass of wine and the windows open listening to the waves. The room itself was spacious and quite modern and the pool area was a great place to relax, with THREE heated spas, a steam room and a sauna.
What let this hotel down was a lack of attention to detail. We were not supplied with soap or shampoo, there was mould in the shower, the cutlery had not been cleaned properly and neither had the drinking glasses. An ashtray on the balcony was still full of cigarette butts and there was a family of jelly beans living under the couch. Our "Queen sized bed" was actually just two singles pushed together which made for some uncomfortable sleeping moments. There are mats put down in the elevator to protect the floor during renovations but it really needs to be taped down as I witnessed more then one person trip their way on board and risk serious injury. The staff, while always professional, weren't always friendly, we were sometimes made to feel like an inconvenience.
With that said, these minor issues did little to detract from our experience as a whole. The price is incredibly low compared to other hotels in the area, even those who aren't positioned in such a phenomenal location. The facilities are good and the rooms are big, bright and welcoming. Overall this is definately an above average hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We appreciate your feedback about your stay at Chateau. I'm glad to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday but am sorry to hear we did not meet all your expectations.

We were having problems with our cleaners and have since changed staff and supervisor and hopefully the problems you experienced are a thing of the past.

We hope you consider us again next time your visiting the Coast.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

After asking the outlandish request if it was possible to check in early I was told,

'Check in is at 2'.

After replying that I was aware of this but was just wondering if possible any room would be available before that time as I had traveled from Tokyo with 2 children under 5, I was told

"Check in is at 2".

After then asking if I could fill in the check-in paper work now so I could come back at 2 and immediately get the key I was told:

"Check in is at 2".

After re-stating that I understood 'Check in is at 2' and that what I was asking was to complete the paperwork now so I could just grab the key at 2 and avoid the '2 o'clock check in rush', I was told:

"Look, what I can do is refund your money and you can go somewhere else!".

I understand the check in times and I understand that it is not always possible to meet special requests but Im afraid I dont understand the hostile response.

Loads of accommodation on the coast and most of them offering similar deals. Go somewhere you are welcomed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
8  Thank Living in Japan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

The receptionist staff has a different recollection of the events on your checkin but we shall put that down to the fact that you were jet lagged when you arrived. You failed to mention the following points in your review:
1. You arrived at 8am when checkin is at 2pm and the guest in the room had not even checked out.
2. You were rude and condescending to the receptionist when she told you the room was not ready.
3. The receptionist "offered" to refund your accommodation charge as she felt you would not be happy staying at the resort and you would be more comfortable staying else where.

As I am sure you are aware by our other reviews on trip advisor we aim to make sure all our guests are treated with respect (and in turn be respected by our guests) and we hope they leave here happier and more relaxed. Obviously it is very difficult to satisfy guests expectations when they have unrealistic and impossible to meet expectations.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Needed a break away with my sons and The Cheatu price was a little hard to believe for school holidays ! We had an awesome time and found everything wonderful ! Room was perfect, reception and maintenance staff were great and View was amazing !!!! Would stay here again for sure :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for your great review.

We are pleased we met all your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chateau on your next Gold Coast visit.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Chateau Beachside is the best hotel along the Surfers Strip. Have stayed in others but always come back to Chateau. Beach views from Studio Suites, most popular buffet breakfast, (all taxi drivers agree), easy walking distance to shops and easy access to beach for morning or evening walks. Staff extremely welcoming and always helpful (even if you lock your key in your room!) Always sad to leave but can't wait to come back
Anne Maree

Room Tip: Studio Suites are always the best
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoy your stays with us and keep returning.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chateau on your next visit.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Beachside

Address: Corner The Esplanade And Elkhorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $71 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Beachside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Beachside Resort is the ideal location for your next relaxing getaway. Only one block North of Cavill Mall, The Chateau Beachside is located in the heart of the shopping, dining and entertainment precinct. Featuring 3.5 Star rated facilities and the world famous sandy shores of Surfers Paradise just metres away, you're sure to find what you are looking for right here!Situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise, all units have spectacular ocean views of the famous Surfers Paradise beach below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Beachside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Beachside Hotel Surfers Paradise
Chateau Beachside Surfers Paradise
Chateau Beachside Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing