We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chateau beachside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau Beachside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Beachside
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Chateau beachside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at your hotel, the facilities were great, fab pool and spa area, BBQ adjacent the pool area, which was great, kids kept entertained in the pool., whilst we organised dinner, also we were able to utilise the laundry , washing , drying etc, and a simply fab location, downstairs from the hotel is a great bar/restaurant , offering $10 meals, $10.. Breakfast, or a $14.50 full all you can eat buffet breakfast , which was very busy but super value , opposite on the esplanade is a great street market , this location has everything going for it definitely 10 out of 10 !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I'm extremely pleased that we were able to play a part in making your holiday an enjoyable one. Its great that our location and facilities suited you and your family. Our aim to is to cater for a variety of travellers and its good to hear both yourself and your children had a great time. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    718
    253
    85
    79
See reviews for
410
729
120
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a great time here. The pool was heated and it was saltwater, which I have never seen at a hotel and it was fabulous. They had just got 2 more spas, so that made a total of 3...heaven!! It was close to everything and we had the best view overlooking the beach.
We arrived early and the staff were very accommodating offering us pool towels and a place to put our luggage until the room was ready.
They had markets along the beach on Saturday night which was just a skip across the road. We could literally go for a swim at the beach and then 2 minutes later be in the hot tub.
The rooms were a bit old on the furnishing side with a few stains on the upholstery and had a crack in the walls here and there but the bed had clean fresh white sheets on it and everything else was clean and quiet modern. They were just doing some upgrades to the building including changing over all the windows. Although we never heard any noise except for the occasional idiot trying to prove something with a vamped up car or the garbage truck.
We noticed that the sun would warm the room up quiet quick on the beach side which was fine because it wasn't summer but I would maybe rethink the position when it gets warmer since there is no air con in any of the rooms. Hopefully this will change with the upgrading??
Had a great stay but would rethink my options in summer due to the lack of air conditioning. If that doesn't bother you it is a great value hotel with excellent staff and a beautiful pool.

Room Tip: The rooms ending in "01" eg 1301 have the best view but also get the hot sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves_2_travel_2_day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your excellent and honest review.

We definitely have one of the best locations in town and the views from the hotel beachfront units are pretty special. I am also pleased to hear that the renovations did not upset your rest and relaxation.

I am also pleased to see you gave us high marks for cleanliness. Our housekeeping staff work hard to keep the rooms in top condition and I've passed on your feedback to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels.

Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel was good value for money. Location was excellent and the room was comfortable and spacious. A couple of minor things to improve would be to replace the carpet mats in the lifts and although our room was really nice, the door to the bathroom wouldn't slide across and the water pressure in the basin was very weak - not major things and are easy to fix up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I'm glad to hear you had a comfortable stay. Our economy rooms are compact but are definitely a good option for budget conscious travellers.

The mats in the lifts are just protection mats due to the painting and renovations being carried out in the resort and we did not want to damage our new vinyl tiles which were only laid recently. I have asked our reception staff to put a notice in the lift to this effect and thank you for pointing this out to us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The staff at check in were fabulous, names were both Renee, very friendly, it was almost like you knew them forever . Room was nice and clean, ( although the windows could do with a clean), the view was great, but the lack of a balcony was disappointing !! The buffet breakfast was awesome!

Room Tip: Higher up the better, more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your positive comments and your feedback. We have the windows cleaned every 4 months but unfortunately being so close to the beach the salt spray accumulates very quickly, which I agree does detract from the fabulous views.
Hope you can once again come and stay at the Chateau and enjoy the fabulous facilities within the resort and the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Second time we have stayed at the chateau. It's a great hotel in the perfect location. Beautiful ocean and city views. Great pool. We will stay here again with our 2 kids in the future. The room is clean and comfortable. We stayed for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenden-Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding the Chateau Beachside resort. We too think our location is one of PERFECTION and we are focused on being the lowest price on the coast for the location and views. We thank you for taking the time to advise other guests of our wonderful resort!
We look forward to seeing you for your next stay!

Kind regards

Chateau Beachside Team
07 55381022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked the Chateau last minute for our honeymoon after our original destination fell through. They were extremely helpful and friendly- organising a top floor beach front room for us. Clean, comfortable, and has everything you could need, couldn't ask for a better location and great facilities. Perfect views over the ocean and we could have spent the whole week in between the spas and pool. Our only complaint was the lack of hot water for showering- barely 4 minutes- A little frustrating if you don't want to hurry through your shower.
We had an excellent stay and would definitely recommend the Chateau for anyone looking for quality affordable accommodation and we are looking forward to our next holiday with them.

Room Tip: The view made any lack of luxury completely worth it- book an upper floor with ocean views if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
So very glad that you chose the Chateau Beachside Resort for your Honeymoon and it gives us great pleasure knowing that your stay with us was memorable one!
Many apologies for the hot water shortage! We are not aware of any issues in regards to this so Thank You for bringing this to our attention we will look into fixing it!

Once again Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Surfers Paradise!

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location is perfect. Although we chose the cheapest room with the city view, it's still good!! And the facilities are great as well. I love the swimming pool which is big and clean. You'll feel extremely relax when you're doing the spa, steam,etc. The room is big and comfortable. But there is still some disadvantages in the room. The windows are not clean. And the paint on the wall outside the windows is broken. Except these disadvantages, everithing is fine.
地點絕佳,飯店設施也相當棒,雖然我們選的是最便宜的city view的房間但整體上還是很棒! 雖然整間房都是透明的落地窗,但窗戶的清潔有待加強! 加上窗戶外的牆壁有掉漆,讓整體感覺不那麼完美。除了這兩點缺點其他都算不錯。

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce80915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau2012, Front Office Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for you lovely feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We couldn't agree more regarding the location. Below is a reference to how great the location is.....

These popular attractions are nearby:

Opposite Surfers paradise Beach (patrolled section)

Newsagent & Licensed Bottle Shop: opposite

Coles Supermarket: 300 metres

Doctor & Chemist: 250 metres

Cavill Avenue, KFC, McDonalds, Hungry Jacks, Post Office: 1 Block

Surfers Paradise Nightclubs: 5 – 10 minutes walk

Jupiters Casino: 10 Minutes by car/taxi; 20 minutes Public Transport

SeaWorld: 8 minutes by car; 15 minutes by Public Transport

Wet n Wild + MovieWorld + Outback Spectacular: 20 minutes by car/taxi, 30 minutes by Shuttle
or 40 minutes by Public Transport

Australia Fair and Pacific Fair: 10 minutes by car/taxi, 15 mins. by Public Transport

HarbourTown (Biggera waters): 20 minutes by car/taxi, 30 mins. by Public Transport

Gold Coast Airport (Coolangatta): 35 minutes by car, 60 mins Shuttle/Public Transport
Brisbane Airport (Brisbane): 60 minutes by car, 75 mins Shuttle


We hope to see your lovely family back in the near future.

Kind regards

Chateau Beachside Team
07 55381022
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Beachside

Property: Chateau Beachside
Address: Corner The Esplanade And Elkhorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Beachside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Beachside Resort is the ideal location for your next relaxing getaway. Only one block North of Cavill Mall, The Chateau Beachside is located in the heart of the shopping, dining and entertainment precinct. Featuring 3.5 Star rated facilities and the world famous sandy shores of Surfers Paradise just metres away, you're sure to find what you are looking for right here!Situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise, all units have spectacular ocean views of the famous Surfers Paradise beach below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Beachside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Beachside Hotel Surfers Paradise
Chateau Beachside Surfers Paradise
Chateau Beachside Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing