We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We only stayed 2 nights but everything was great. We had a family room (2 x double beds) which was nice, clean, and comfortable and the reception and concierge staff were all lovely, polite, and friendly.
We really like the pool and hot tub. The pool had different areas so even if kids were playing noisily in one area, it was possible to float off to a quiet spot under some palms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hello gillegan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review after your recent stay with us.
So glad to read that you were a big fan of our pool area - it is a hot with the guests, especially the lagoon-like area that is slightly away from it all.

We appreciate your feedback, I will pass along to reception and concierge staff.

Many thanks,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    701
    239
    53
    46
See reviews for
316
669
98
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed there for a conference that was being run in the hotel. Our room was like any other room in a high quality hotel. We did enjoy the shower (large) and the corner bath (even though we didn't use it, it was appreciated that the option was there). The room had two quite large beds; our two children shared one bed and were very comfortable (7 and 10 year old).
The pool is wonderful and the hotel provides large, fluffy, towels poolside. My sister visited one day and we enjoyed our cocktail by the pool while our children played in the pool.
I can't rave enough about the buffet breakfast. Yum and Yum. Until we had stayed here, the best hotel breakfast for us is provided at the Novotel Auckland Airport (Tainui Holdings). The Crowne Plaza offers what the Novotel has AND, you can make your own fresh juices (beetroot, carrot, ginger, fruit etc). That was an excellent addition.
It's only a block (two at the most) from the beach and though it is on the main road, we were not bothered by any street noise. The bonus to its location was how easy it was to get to the Theme Parks; we walked approx. one block to the bus stop and the bus took us directly to MovieWorld. Saved us keeping a rental car for the entire trip.
I would have given this a five star had the hotel kept a simple first aid kit for guests. Our daughter got 'swimmers' ear' from constant pool swimming and needed pain relief (panadol) and ear drops. We had not packed our own first aid kit (rare for us) so asked for panadol and ear drops at reception. Very surprised that the hotel does not have panadol (or ear drops) and sent us across the road to the petrol station. The Crowne Plaza is a quality hotel and not having something as simple as a panadol seemed at odds with a hotel of its type.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor. No noise from the street could be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hello Robyn M,

Thank you for your in-depth review after staying at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise for a conference that you recently attended. So glad to see that you had a great time with us and that you were a fan of the pool area and the breakfast. We do get some great feedback on our breakfast selection and options and the juicer is definitely a hit!

I am sorry to hear about your daughter and her 'swimmers ear', although we do have a First-Aid kit on site we do not offer oral medication of any kind including panadol/asprin as we are not in a position to prescribe such medication and in the unfortunate instance that someone might have been taking another medication or drug and there are adverse affects as a result. We are situated very close to a petrol station that does carry panadol and asprins so it is available in close proximity to the hotel if required.

Thank you for leaving readers with the great theme park tip as well, with the buses so nearby it does make it nice and easy.


Thank you for your feedback.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza SP during the Xmas week for 3 nights. It was a last minute get away organised 3 days before I got here.

I was able to get a deal worth staying a 20 minute walk from cavil avenue.

The hotel rooms are a little tired with dated decor although the rooms are quite large and have everything you would need to make the stay comfortable.

The hotel has bars and restaurants on site and a pool area that is serviced by the restaurant as well. Prices are very reasonable considering the restaurants around are fairly similar priced. Food quality was great as well.

Daily servicing of the rooms as well as replenishing toiletries and a well stocked mini bar. Prices of the mini bar are cheaper than some of the major bars and pubs in the area.

The pool area is very child friendly and there are pool toys available for kids as well as the kids at heart!

Will definitely consider staying here again in the future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AleksP1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hello hotwog4all,

Thank you for your review of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise after your recent stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to see that you were a fan of the pool and the pool toys for everyone's enjoyment - we've certainly had some warm weather of late!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Absolutely superb restaurant. We used shopper dockets and went out to dine at the revolving restaurant. The views were amazing, the food was exceptional, the service was perfect, the staff were very friendly and had lots of time for the customers. It was well worth every dollar we spent. It is a perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or just to go out and spoil yourselves. Hard to find such great food AND service nowadays. Definitely highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi frrrt,

So very pleased to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your Four Winds 360 Revolving Restaurant experience. The views are pretty spectacular - the lunchtime view is my favourite, being able to see up and down the entire coastline.

I will pass on your compliments to our staff.

Many thanks,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean and tiny, close to the beach, boasts a revolving restaurant with fantastic seafood buffet and is extremely convenient for most coast excursions, but is quite dated in furnishings and decorations and overpriced.
The room hadn't been redecorated for a long time and, while clean, felt more like a roadside motel than a luxury hotel. The cost of the room was twice what we paid the next night to stay in a five star luxury hotel in Brisbane CBD.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Jay C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review after your recent stay with us - your feedback is appreciated.

So glad to see that you enjoyed yourself at Four Winds 360 Revolving Restaurant.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed there for one night as a platinum member. No separate check in/out line for elite members, late checkout offered but no other priviledges. Hotel itself looks bit tired and is not in the best location. Nothing special.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglehaslanded72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hello eaglehaslanded72,

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't receive your newspaper on your recent stay with us. Would you like to send me details of your stay and I will look into this for you?
Glad to hear that you were a fan of our views. Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback.


Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booked through a mystery deal on Wotif.

We weren't disappointed at all.

We were in the Gold Tower, 20 floors up facing the water. The view was beautiful.

All of the staff we encountered during our stay were friendly and helpful. Checking in and out was quick and easy.

Our room was clean and very comfortable... took us a minute to figure out the taps in the bathroom (childproof... and possibly adult proof haha) but that would have to be the only "bad" thing.

We ordered room service for dinner both nights we were there and the food was delicious. Delivered quickly and exactly what we ordered.

Overall we really enjoyed our relaxing stay at the Crowne Plaza and we will be back.

Room Tip: - Gold Tower is away from the main pool so is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello J B,

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us that you enjoyed your time in our Gold Tower and the in-room dining food.

Thank you for taking the time to review Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
434 reviews
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,257 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,702 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing