We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated and not worthy of 5 star...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Noosaville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outdated and not worthy of 5 star...”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Needs a complete renovation. We got this off wotif, it was marked as Surfers paradise, when we figured where it was located we were dissapointed that it was not really close to the main part of surfers. I rang to ask if we could have our money back, the woman on the phone was so incredibly rude (I have no idea why she was raising her voice as I was being polite). We got to the hotel the next week and thought how could this place be a 5 star? It is not equivalent to any other 5 star I have stayed in. It would be ok if it was $80 a night and ranked as 4 star. Luckily we checked in at 10pm and left at 9am. Breaky was good- had a juicer which was awesome but other than that wont be staying again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hello Suzi L,

I'm sorry to hear that your recent stay with us wasn't what you were after, however, on the Wotif Mystery deals, they do recommend that if you want a particular location or area that it may not be best to choose the Mystery Wotif deal. The hotel is located in Surfers Paradise, however we are located on the outskirts, which to many of our clientele is a convenient and favourable location halfway between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. But I am sorry to hear that it wasn't what you had hoped for.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, it is something that is noted amongst many of our guests and in particular, the juicer for those fresh juices in the morning.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback and review after your recent stay with us.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    694
    237
    53
    45
See reviews for
313
663
98
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked this hotel via Lastminute under the secret hotel so I didn't know what I was going to get until I paid. This place was perfect for me. Huge room with King size bed, large bathroom with spa and a separate toilet. This room also had a 2 sweater couch and balcony with table and a couple of chairs. This hotel has heaps of parking and an option of two pool areas.

The one downside is the cost of Internet. For 24 hrs they want $19 or $9 for 2 hours.

I would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi NfaTraveler,

Thank you for leaving us with your review after staying with us, so happy to hear you enjoyed our large king bed and larger rooms.

I am happy to let you know that for all IHG Rewards Club members internet will be complimentary in our hotels from January 2014. It is currently already complimentary for our elite members.

Thank you for leaving us with your feedback.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here in the Gold Tower in a one bedroom, ocean view spa apartment. The room was huge compared to most other hotels I have stayed in, bedroom was comfortable and quite luxurious, it had everything you could need and the king bed was very comfortable. Having a smaller balcony looking over surfers off the bedroom was nice, and the bathroom was clean and very nice with a window above the spa bath with a view of surfers which was lovely at night having a spa and looking at all the lights!

The kitchen was great, looked like it had been re done recently, modern & clean and appliances were all good quality and working well. The lounge was big, with a dining table and tv and couch, plenty of room and huge windows with a great view, and another larger balcony that we could see all of surfers off and also the beach and parts of Broadbeach. The furniture in the lounge was slightly outdated, but overall still clean and comfortable.

The hotel is in a great location between surfers and Broadbeach, with no other big hotels blocking the views and not far from the beach. All the staff were very friendly and polite checking in and out. Walking to the carpark we had a staff member (I assume he was a maintenance guy or something along those lines) walk past us, he was very friendly and smiled at us saying hello and asked how we were which was nice, hard to find cheerful, happy staff like that when you go places so that stood out for me.

Pool looked great! Huge and really nice, unfortunately we had clouds and rain when we stayed so was gutted I didn't have the chance to go in it!

Overall good value for money, would be happy staying here again :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello lauraginders,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with such an extensive review after your stay with us - thank you.

So very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us recently and that you were a big fan of our kitchen in the room in the Gold Tower and our larger than normal rooms.
Glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with our staff - we do pride ourselves on our staff and service.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the Gold Coast.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I booked this on lastminute.com.au as a secret deal as it was good value for a one night quick break on the Gold Coast. The room was very nice, a little dated but spacious and cosy. I very much enjoyed the spa bath and the king bed was comfortable. I very much appreciated coffee mugs as I never like the tiny cups that hotels supply in the room. The staff were friendly and welcoming. My only grumble was that I couldn't keep my balcony door open as the guests in a nearby room were smoking on their balcony and my room quickly smelt like an old ashtray...yuk! If I had been there for more than one night it would have impacted on my enjoyment of the room itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello Louise M,

I'm sorry to hear about your neighbouring guest cigarette smoke bothering you, that would be most frustrating, please accept my apologies for having been inconvenienced by this.

However, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were a fan of the larger coffee mugs and our staff.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review after your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Beautiful room, magic views and indulgent king bed - could easily sleep the day away. Dinner buffet ( part of package) was in the amazing revolving restaurant. Food quality left a lot to be desired. Competitive specials on offer with other chains.

Room Tip: King room with ocean and mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missy2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello missy2035,

Thank you so much for leaving us with your review after your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you loved relaxing in one of our great king beds and thought the revolving restaurant was amazing. I am sorry, however, to hear that the food quality wasn't up to your standard. I will follow this up with our F&B department on your behalf.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The room was comfortable - typical of Crowne Plaza - with a pillow "menu", balcony, and nice views of the beach. Amenities were good quality in general. Pool looked very inviting.

But the FOOD in the ground floor restaurant! Admittedly, I ordered a slightly strange meal, wanting to have food that was fairly plain. So, grilled salmon steak, ratatouille and fries. Well. The "ratatouille" looked like half a jar of chunky Dolmio sauce that had had some eggplant stewed into it for a week or so. The salmon steak - hard to screw that up, really - was dry and not exactly generous in size. And the beer-battered fries (again, should be hard to screw those up) were barely warm and *limp*. I picked up one by the end with my fork, and it folded in half. The sauces on the side, again, seemed straight out of a jar. And all for the best part of $40. OK, hotel restaurants tend to be overpriced, but you get better-prepared food at a Sizzler.

The service was great and attentive, although having the bussing area in the middle of the main dining space and by the till seemed odd. Since I was tired, it was the last night of my stay, and I felt sorry for the wait staff, I didn't send the food back, although I would have done so ordinarily.

Next time, if I'm too tired to venture out for food, I'll brave the revolving buffet restaurant on the top floor. At least the Asian-style offerings there should be on the more-edible side.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trix M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello Trix M,

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable meal on your recent stay with us in the hotel, please accept my apologies for this. If you had mentioned this to us on the day we would have done everything we could to amend this and to have you leave the restaurant satisfied and not the other way around. If you choose to stay with us again and anything is not up to your standard, please let the staff know and we will rectify for you.

I am glad to hear that were a fan of the room and pillow menu as well as our staff. We certainly do have some amazing views and our two pools are at a great temperature currently with the great weather we've been having.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Struck very lucky using the 'wotif' mystery stay by getting a night at the Crowne Plaza. What really made it special was the staff, who were really helpful- allowing us an early check in, gave us great advice for a local place to eat (lolas- also excellent), providing phone chargers, and happy to let us stay by the pool after checkout.
Our room on the 5th floor had ocean views, was very clean and the beds were super comfortable. It isn't the largest hotel room but was perfectly fine. Large choice of in house movies.
The pool area is beautiful, lovely tropical landscaped gardens, and crystal clear water- not heated so a tad cool, but it is still only September.
Didn't use the eateries- the 26th floor revolving restaurant was very busy when we popped up to have a look.
Would be very happy to stay again, have used the Mystery night option through 'Wotif' several times, and Crowne Plaza is the best by far.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello GayleJP,

So happy to hear that you were a fan of your Wotif mystery deal hotel. Thank you for your kind complimentary words of our staff - we certainly do try make every guests stay a memorable one.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,637 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing