We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A gripe with check in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gripe with check in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I love this hotel and have stayed here many times.The beds are comfy and the views outstanding.My only gripe was at check in ,I felt the young lady not very friendly when I mentioned that I didn't have a credit card.I prepaid my accom and was happy to leave a cash deposit of $100 per day.She then didn't give me a receipt and was quite snooty when I asked for one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Georgina829,
Many thanks for staying with us recently - and for your regular patronage of the hotel. It is always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests and I am so sorry that you encountered difficulties upon check in. Please rest assured we always follow up on such feedback so thank you for bringing the issue to my attention.
Once again - many thanks for continuing to select us as your preferred hotel on the Gold Coast and do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you personally at any time in the future.
David Brown
General Manager
david.brown@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    434
    144
    36
    25
See reviews for
187
401
62
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night recently. We have stayed here before and have found it to be very good. It is not in the centre of Surfers Paradise but I think well situated between there and Broadbeach. It is an easy walk to both locations, we find that Broadbeach is little more quieter at night and there are plenty of restaurants and other activities there including the Casino. Also the First Avenue Tavern around the corner is good if you just want to have a drink and a steak sandwich. The spa room we had was very nice and I could not find any of the things wrong with the room that some people have complained about on these pages. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello RockyBubbles,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your encouraging and positive comments. We do find that a lot a our clientele enjoy the location, so I'm glad to hear that that pleased you also, as well as our Tavern style venue, First Avenue Tavern.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Corwne Plaza Surfers Paradise, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occassions in the past but have not reviewed it until now. The location is perfect being half way between Surfers and Broadbeach, yet an easy level stroll to either. Its location is such that it is quiet. We had a King Suite which sure, costs more but the corner position in the hotel means that you get the best of 270 - 360 degree views. The room was clean and spacious and overlooked the beach.
Staff were very courteous and eager to assist.
The hotel is beginning to age yet the room we stayed looked to have had a revamp in recent times. The massive bathroom windows are a real feaure. Carparking was easily accessable and we were assured that if there was no space available that our vehicle would be looked after on the fore-court. We will be back again!!

Room Tip: Pick a corner room beachside if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodFoodTaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

my partner and I stayed here for an overnight stay. the room was fine,double queen beds were really comfortable and the balcony provided us with a great view. its pretty much what we expected but the only problem i had was the $25 burger.that certainly changed our mind about dining in lol...but i would return again..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank churmybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear churmybro,
Many thanks for staying with us recently and thank you for your review.
I'd certainly appreciate further feedback on the burger - was it the price or quality or both?
Regarding our rooms - we do offer a choice of twin rooms (each with two double beds) or king rooms (with one king bed) and of course we have a number of suites as well.
Once again many thanks for choosing to stay with us and I look forward to receiving your further feedback.
David Brown
david.brown@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was my second time staying here, I enjoyed the second stay more than the first I had a twin room (two double beds) with Oceanviews! Clean large room, friendly helpful staff. Walking distance to the beach, as schoolies was on at the time this was a perfect location halfway between Surfers & Broadbeach so we went to dinner at Broadbeach. Complimentary parking, not sure about wifi couldn't find a connection. Great bar service around the pool.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eeliechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear eeliechick,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time with us on the Gold Coast.
We do provide WiFi in the lobby and are just about to introduce it in the rooms too. We anticipate this being in place prior to Christmas in all Main Tower rooms.
Thank you once again
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at the Cown Plaza and alli can say is the concierges customer service was excellent.Would stay there again anytime i was on the Gold Coast.Also the revolving restaraunt was a lovely experience .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleandpaul21212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Michelleandpaul2,
Many thanks for posting your review after your recent stay with us. I was very please to see the concierge team looked after you so well and that you enjoyed your dining experience in Queensland's only revolving restaurant - Four Winds 360 Revolving Restaurant.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our room was of a high standard, comfortable enough beds and really enjoyed the fact that we didn't need to step into a bath to have a shower - they were seperate. The room had a decent view and was spacious. The pool was pleasant and we also made use of the tennis courts. The staff were always helpful and always smiling - this is great to see and makes one feel much more welcome. The added bonus of free car parking is great.

The only gripes would be the fact the air conditioning stops when you open the balcony door and the location. .The AC resets to a default temperature everytime you open/close the door meaning you have to go back adjust it - not much fun when the unit falls off the wall everytime you touch it, with only the wires keeping it suspended. And the location, although known at booking maybe inconvenient for some. It is walking distance to broadbeach but isn't surrounded by much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank engineerJ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear engineerJ87,
Many thanks for posting your review and I am sorry you encountered issues with the air conditioning controls in your room. I would be most grateful if you could email me details of the room which you stayed in so that I can address this accordingly.
Otherwise, I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise when you visit the Gold Coast.
David Brown
General Manager
david.brown@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 2,340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 2,833 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing