We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here with my wife. It was our first time to this hotel and the Gold Coast. Friendly and helpful staff made our stay very pleasant. The view from our room on 23rd floor was amazing. Although we are not exactly spring chickens, we had no problems walking to the beach and to the restaurants in Broadbeach. For good cheap eats, we discovered the Broadbeach Bowling Club about 5 mins walk from the hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel but did try the cocktails at the Relish Bar and they were pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snurglefarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear surglefarb,
Many thanks for taking time to post your review on your recent stay with us. I note it was your first visit to the hotel so thank you for choosing us this time and I do hope we see you again soon.
David Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Perfectly reasonable, well appointed and clean rooms for a reasonable price. The place doesn't overflow with personality or character, but I suppose one shouldn't expect that from a large hotel chain. The location isn't ideal, quite a walk to the nearest excitement, the beack is a ten / fifteen minute walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear DavidMaggie,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review.
Our location is midway between the heart of Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach - but we are proud to be one of the few remaining hotels on the Gold Coast which offers complimentary parking for our guests.
Thanks again and I do hope we have the opportunity to look after you once more in the not too distant future.
David Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here for business during August 2012. I stayed in a lovely room with 300 degree views and plenty of natural light.
As I also attended a conference here I can vouch for the skill of the staff in the functions area, who demonstrated a high level of professionalism when attending to conference goers needs.
Catering was good, both in the hotel function areas and main dining room.
The listing of this hotel is somewhat misleading though as it is much closer to Broadbeach than surfers paradise. However the light rail is being installed at the front door of this hotel and in the near future access to this gold coasts main attracts will be easy.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have the most spectacular view and are well worth the premium.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear PetaT,
Thank you for your very kind comments on your recent stay with us and I am pleased to hear the conference which you attended went so well.
Regarding our location - we are on the corner of First Avenue and the Gold Coast Highway. First Avenue is in fact the most southern street in the Surfers Paradise precinct, so technically we are in Surfers Paradise albeit geographically we are slightly closer to Broadbeach - so we get the best of both precincts nearby!
Thank you once again.
David Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our third visit to the Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise in the last 18 months and yet again they proved that they are the place to stay on the Gold Coast. Check-in was efficient and thanks for the free drinks vouchers- had drinks in the attached tavern next door. The relish bar wand restaurant was great (again) and four winds seems to have improved even more than last time. The buffet was sensational. Well worth spending the money for breakfast as it was sensational as well.

Room was located on the 22 floor with views of the ocean- could not have asked for better. Room was clean, comfortable and well laid out. Service, as always at this hotel was faultless.

Look forward to staying there again when visiting the Gold Coast (hopefully in the coming Summer!!) The only downside to this hotel is it is located a bit away from Surfers (about a 15 minute walk), however is close to Broadbeach (about 5-10min walk), but that can be a positive as well as you don't get all the noise at night which I like to avoid.

Room Tip: Try to get a high room with Ocean views!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltenSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear traveltenSydney,
Thank you for posting your review and I am very pleased to hear this was your third stay with us. I was pleased to see you continue to enjoy staying with us and I very much appreciate your regular patronage.
Thanks again.
David Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Its been a while since I stayed in the Gold tower, have not had the 1 bed apartment before which is very roomy. Overall another great stay, however road works continue in the area due to the light rail being put in, this means heavy delays heading to the hotel from Surfers for cars and public transport, so try via Pacific Fair or via the beach road from Surfers.

Room Tip: Gold tower worth the upgrade, the one bedroom spa apt is great value.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear markis 100,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us again - this time in one of our one bedroom apartments or studios. I am sorry to hear you encountered traffic delays during your stay. Roadworks immediately adjacent to the hotel were completed in August (so nothing is being 'dug up' outside the hotel). However we have no control over lane closures which occur from time to time up and down the highway.
Please don't hesitate to contact me next time you visit the Gold Coast and I can give you an accurate update if there are likely to be any traffic issues.
Thanks again for choosing Crowne Plaza Gold Tower as your preferred lodging on the Gold Coast.
David Brown
General Manager
david.brown@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Initially I found the hotel nice. Great greeting, nice foyer and lovely room. I loved the bed and the shower.
Towards the end of my stay I found the staff a bit standoffish. One of the receptionist has no clue of the Internet packages and was clearly just going around in circles waiting for me to be the conversation.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Pixrun,
Thank you for taking time to post your review on your recent stay with us.
I was very sorry to hear of the issues which you experienced with the front office team and please rest assured I will share your comments with them accordingly.
Thank you for bringing your comments to my attention - and of course for choosing to stay with us.
David Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night as we were heading off the next day. Hotel;s relatively closer to the airport than those in Surfer's Paradise itself so it's good if you booked the tourist shuttle as u'll be the last ones picked up and will not have to go round the district picking people up. However, it also means it is further away from food and shops as the main area of Surfer's paradise is a few bus stops away. There are however, a few eateries around the area. The room is clean and bed comfortable. From the sea view room, you can actually see the sun rise (if u ignore the buildings in front of you)!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icyparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Icyparadise,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review. You are right - we are not in the heart of Surfers Paradise, just a couple of kilometers south, towards Broadbeach.
I hope we see you again in the future.
David Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,602 reviews
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,807 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 16 in Broadbeach
8,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $107 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing