We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting soon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Surfers Tradewinds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surfers Tradewinds
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Visiting soon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We haven't stayed at the hotel yet but we have booked in for January of 2012. We are hoping that things are not as bad as what some of the reviews are suggesting. It would be great if you could have more pictures of the bedrooms, lounge rooms, bathrooms, kitchens and laundry on your website. I am looking forward to my stay in Gold Coast and I will endeavour to right a review of how our stay went.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Geynelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    10
    9
    18
See reviews for
43
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had a five night stay here in march and found the place to be quiet and a great location with the beach just down the road and cavill ave not far away. the two bedroom unit was a nice size and had everything for cooking and a comfy stay, also had pay tv and a good selection when you just wanted to sit and relax or keep the kids busy with kids channels. the pool area with 2 gas bbqs is great the only down side we found was the spa was not heated.
We didnt find it noisey at all and enjoyed our stay and will be back great for a family getway. our room wasnt modern but well kept and with everything you could want and spacious, so over all great value for money.

Room Tip: we were over the pool and found our rooom quiet and no rd noise or any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetski1200r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, NZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here 8 years ago & then again last week, not much has changed, the grounds & pool are great, beautiful gardens & the pool is just perfect for our young kids with the spa spilling warm water into the lovely clean main pool. The apartment we stayed in (#2) was basic but functional, we booked & paid for 5 people in a 2 bedroom which worked fine with the rollaway bed tho it would have been nice to have had 5 plates cutlery etc but we managed with 4 of everything & if we were really bothered I'm sure the friendly manager would have sorted it out for us. Car parking in the basement is very convenient & easy. The location off the GC highway & only a 5 min walk along 2 quiet blocks to the beach is perfect. Apparently the units are slowly being upgraded which would be nice but the value for money here is excellent as it is, well recommended, we'll be back, Cheers!

Room Tip: Ground floor units are great for families with kids, upper floors would get a lovely view of the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a 5 night stay at trade winds and would stay again. Our apartment was spacious and was fully equipped with all the things a young family required. The pool and BBQ area was perfect for our little family! It's right in the middle of cavil ave and broad beach so it's only a short drive to either places!! The manager was very helpful and made our stay even the more pleasurable. This is by no means a 5 star facility but if your looking for somewhere comfy to stay and don't expect ultra modern features and facikities this is the place for you!! We would definatly stay again!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahpania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Had a weekend away with the family. Very pleased to have got a 3 bedroom unit for the 5 of us (2 adults and 3 boys) Great pool and BBQ area. Great access to the beach. Must come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Returned again to Tradewinds for a dose of Gold Coast winter sun. This resort has a great vibe with the heated pool and spa in the centre and one of the most relaxing pool areas I have stayed on the Coast. Close to everything being 2 mins to the worlds best beach and Oasis shopping and cafes are just down the road. 2 kids loved the spa everyday - will be back for sure. Great value for money and that is crucial for a family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oarsomedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Our visit/stay went really well. We booked had a 2 Bedroom apartment and asked if possible for high floor and side pool view and We got both, which was great!! Apartment was clean and very tidy, infact the whole property was clean and respectful, and there was plenty of room for us to spread out in. With 2 bathrooms and teenagers, we couldnt ask for anything more.!!!!
The manager and his wife were lovely had no problems at all. After seeing past reviews we had our doubts, but all were very true. We were all completely happy with the place. Yes sure the bathrooms and kitchen were a bit old and tired, but not that much of a big deal. They still allowed us to function without any issues. Yes, there was a backpackers behind us, and a bit of noise, but again we didnt find it a huge problem.
We coudlnt really fault the place, we enjoyed our selves immensly, loved the pool and spa was a great retreat at night to relax in.
Thanks to the management team, this place looks fantastic, really runs well and is obvious, by the presentation of the grounds and rooms. I am sure we will visit and recommend again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HPPteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
8.0 mi away
Palm Beach Holiday Resort
Palm Beach Holiday Resort
#12 of 14 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Parade Resort
Surf Parade Resort
#14 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfers Beach Resort II
Surfers Beach Resort II
#85 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Surfers Beach Holiday Apartments
Surfers Beach Holiday Apartments
#103 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakers North
Breakers North
#51 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wharf Boutique Apartments
Wharf Boutique Apartments
#46 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Tradewinds

Property: Surfers Tradewinds
Address: 42 Beach Parade and Wharf Road, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfers Tradewinds 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Surfers Tradewinds is situated approx 200 mtrs to the beach, has a great heated spa and pool. It has a mixture of 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Surfers Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Surfers Tradewinds Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Tradewinds Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing