We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The room had a fantastic view of nerang river with a spacious balcony where we had our breakfast. You can also see this view from the kitchen! Great value for $110+ per night! Surprising enough, we slept very soundly. The apartment is well-insulated from any outside noise.

Little things we grumbled about are; there's only 1 toilet roll provided to the unit, and 1 set of bath towels (we're staying for 4 nights!), they charge for any spares. Also, most of the apartment units/hotels we stayed in the past have salt, pepper and oil in the kitchen, and they didn't have it; had to run to woolys in the morning to buy it. The pool/spa closes at 9pm, which was a bummer as we always came back at around that time. Bedroom and lounge was a little dusty, and we kinda blamed that for my continuous sneezing, and his skin rashes but it was tolerable.

Over all,it was an amazing stay at the Moorings! Recommended if you're looking for a great-value accommodation with most of the boxes ticked!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    169
    39
    9
    8
See reviews for
407
193
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights leading up to Xmas and were not disappointed. This was out first time at the Moorings. On previous trips we have stayed in the in the heart of Surfers as is the Moorings but at other accommodation. The consistent number 1 rating on TripAdvisor drew us in to want to try the Moorings and I'm pleased to say we would choose to stay there again.
The location is excellent if you don't have a car as Woolworths (supermarket) is right across the road, a Liquorland just a short walk away in the Chevron Renaissance complex and the bus stops are just a very short walk away out front on Ferny Avenue. Despite it's location, it is very quiet to outside noise.
Our unit looked over the river and we enjoyed waking up to and watching the river activity such as paddle boarders, the cruise boats coming and going, jet skiers and the like. The gardens and pool area are kept scrupulously clean, tidy and maintained to a very high level.
All of the girls at the reception desk were extremely friendly and only too happy to help if help was needed.
We will happily recommend the Moorings to friends and family.
Thanks again to everyone at the Moorings.
The Lynch family from Adelaide :):)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Kindly pardon me as this is my first time posting a review. I've been a regular traveler and NEVER bothered to post any review as most of the places I've stayed are either as expected or below expectations. However, many thanks to the various reviews posted on TripAdvisor; I decided to go against my friends' advice as they say some of the reviews can't be trusted. To whoever is reading my post, this is purely a personal experience that I've had so your level of expectations may differ from me so do remeber this critical point. Prior to this trip, it was almost a good 15 years ago since I last visited Gold Coast and so no memories of whatsoever. I didn't mention a single thing about how the apartment looks like or what to expect to my spouse or my kids.
When we arrived at about 9.30am, Phoenix welcomed us to their property and offered to look after our bags as our apartment was not ready. She even took the time to go through with us where to have good breakfast and the most impressive thing was that she took the time to make all the necessary reservations for our bus shuttle to pick us up to the various theme parks and also our airport transfer which was not an obligation on her part. Absolutely GREAT service, especially for us who were not familiar with how to go about making all the necessary arrangements for the shuttle pickups. She certainly took a load off my shoulders.
When we returned from Sea World and opened the door of our apartment, trust me....we were really blown away by the magnificient view. It was exactly what you see in some of the pictures posted. BEAUTIFUL, my family was like going WOW!!!!! Coming from a hot country like Singapore, I was a little worried about how cool can the apartment be as it was a hot period when we were there but trust me come night, we had to cut off the aircon as the breeze was cool enough to keep the whole place wonderfully ventilated.
We really took the effort to ensure that the all the utensils and cooking area were cleaned and kept tidy when we checked out. I hope the rest who are going to use this place do take that extra effort to help out on this as every single effort will go a long way in ensuring that this place stays attractive to future guests. A big thank you to the team at The Moorings. Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oscarsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Being in the city center yet not one of the high-rises, the Moorings is not labeled as a landmark in the Gold Coast. However, the experience of my few nights stay in the Moorings was definitely much more than what I expected.
The 2-bedroom apartment with river view I had for my family got absolute fabulous view of Nerang river. The room was spacious, tidy and clean, and perfect for a small family or just a couple.Locating close to all remarkable restaurants and supermarkets made the Moorings being so handy with everything we need for holiday.
Although staying in the city center, it was not noisy at all during my stay in the Moorings. We enjoyed our peaceful nights after some quite busy holiday schedules and my son had very good sleep.
On our last day we decide to just stay in the resort and have a relax. BBQ area was beautiful and clean, pools were fantastic in the late dusk time. My boy especially loved the table tennis in their game room.
By the way, the reception team was also outstanding. Erin gave us a very warm welcome when we was checking in, Phoenix helped us a lot with her kindness and patience, Gracie was friendly and nice as well. Looking forward to see you all next year!

BeatriceZ

Room Tip: Rooms with Nerang river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeatriceMMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel was really really good, service and staff were excellent, helpful and friendly and the room was very practical. King size bed, separate room for the toilet and full kitchen which was a life saver. Beautiful apartment in good location for the price of a hotel, easy parking, all amenities to stay longer or even have a dinner party in house! Husband loves balcony where he can smoke.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pisces F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a very comfortable & value worthy apartment. Very good view and good location. The reception is friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay @ the Moorings if we travel to Gold Coast again. Thanks so much to the team especially to Erin, she is friendly and kind to us.

Room Tip: Higher floors have very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal-Lv2Apt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

It has great scenery and very good location. Also, the overall apartment is excellent, very hygienic, and clean. The staffs is so friendly and very helpful! They will help us in directory and very helpful. Gd job moorings!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spidee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and putting reviews. As No.1 on TripAdvisor, we are loved by many overseas customers, especially guests from Singapore, who always pick the most valuable accommodation with every box ticked. So we are very proud to provide the most worthiest apartments, facilities and services to everyone from the world at Moorings on Cavill.

Thank you again and wish to see you and your family/friends next time.

Merry Xmas and Happy New Year!

Phoenix & Gracie-Managers
Erin-Front Office
The Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,440 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Property: Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing