We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From Bill & Pam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“From Bill & Pam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hi Erin, Gracie & Phoenix,
Our holiday at the Moorings was just beautiful & we enjoyed every minute of it - the
apartment was perfect & we hope to be back again in 2014 (staying in the same apartment)
- I hope those schoolies are taking good care of it!
You all keep well & happy & see you again in 2014,
love Pam & Bill Galea

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hi Bill & Pam,

Thanks for putting reviews for us and staying with us in November at Moorings on Cavill, we are all really happy to know you guys who are fantastic and lovely. We will get the apartment ready for you when you are ready to go : ) can't wait to see you in 2014.

Thanks for asking about the schoolies, we just finished the 1st week with them, the kids were wonderful out of our expectation, so our apartments are still good as when you were here. : ) Hope the 2nd week is smooth too.

All the best wishes to you from Phoenix, Gracie and Erin, and we all wish to see you soon in 2014.

Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    168
    37
    8
    8
See reviews for
401
187
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We just stayed 9 nights at the Moorings with my Wife and 2 kids (4 & 10). We were on the 8 floor and it was fantastic. The rooms were large and clean and everything you need was with in walking distances.
Erin at the front desk was fantastic. Helped us out with everything we wanted. So friendly every day we walked by. Thanks for all that you done for us Erin.
We can't wait to stay here again. We will make our stay longer next year.

Room Tip: If your looking for a place to stay, don't go past this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HazMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hi HazMil,

Thanks for putting review for Moorings on Cavill, we are very happy to have you and your family staying with us and having a fantastic holiday here. I will bring your lovely special thanks to Erin, she must be very happy. Erin is our treasure at front desk, and all our kind staff are very friendly and helpful with guests' questions and needs. We would try our best to help guests with travel advice and arrangements. Can't wait to see you and your family next year.

Once again, thanks for staying with us and being supportive. See you soon at Surfers again.

Phoenix & Gracie-Managers
Erin-Front Desk
Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with the kids (3 and 6) a week ago, and would recommended anyone to stay at Moorings, with or without kids! Friendly and helpful staff they have, especially Erin who went through much trouble to help us find out the rates of various means of transports for the theme parks and airport transfers before we go to gold coast. Clean apartment and you feel like you are right at home. Great location as it's close to Cavill Ave and with a supermarket just across the road, you are never out of drinks, food and titbits! We'll definitely be staying again at the Moorings On Cavill when we come back to Gold Coast.

Thanks to Erin and team for making our holiday a great memory!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slammerslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for your kind reviews, we are happy to have you and your family staying with us, and glad to hear you enjoyed a lot at Moorings on Cavill. Our kind staff will always be here to help guests with needs including shopping, transportation, travel and activities advice, we would like to hear guests' needs and discuss bookings and arrangements to save $$$$$$.

Once again, thank you very much and all the best wishes to you and your family. See you next time at Moorings on Cavill at Surfers.

Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff, clean apartments, facilities and great position. We could walk everywhere as The Moorings is close to Cavil Ave and the bus stops are right outside if needed. I highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday that is close to everything the Gold Coast has to offer without being right in the middle of the chaotic frenzy that the Gold Coast has to offer!. Being located on the river is a beautiful outlook and the pool area is amazing. Could not fault The Moorings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Todd,

Thanks for your reviews for Moorings on Cavill, we are very happy to have you staying with us, it is great you enjoyed your holiday here. With the central heart location to shops, bus stations, beaches at Surfers and without the noise and chaos at the beach side (exactly like you said), there is no reason for us to waste the advantage, so we always bring our best customer services, our clean and nice rooms, our fantastic views on the river, our heated pool, spa and BBQ area to each guest staying with us.

Thank you again and wish you all well, see you next time at the coast.

Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed for a week with the kids (2 & 5) 2 weeks ago and we had the absolute best time. The Moorings on Cavill is in a perfect location and the staff are so friendly and very helpful. We stayed on the 13th floor in an amazing room. We have already decided that when we come back to the Gold Coast when the kids are older we'll definitely be staying again at the Moorings On Cavill. Thank you for helping our family holiday be absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Hannah,

Thank you very much for putting reviews of us, and we are very glad to have you and your family staying with us for a week's holiday. It is great you enjoyed a lot with our convenient locations to everywhere. our customer services, of course our nice rooms and views. Can't wait to see the little two growing up : ) They are really cute and lovely. Wish you and your family all well and see you next time at the Coast.

Thank you again and all the best wishes.

Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

First of all, all the positive review here are true, the people fronting the desk especially emma, has help us alot going in and around town. We had a amazing view of the nerang river from our apartment, they get to know that we love to sit out on the balcony, so the next day they send in a new furniture for the balcony and we love it so much. Such a lovely gesture. We stayed at the moorings from 10nov2013 to 13nov2013. Our only regret was not staying longer. We love our stay and will not think twice to stay here again if we ever in gold coast. Keep up the good work guys!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of nerang river. Worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farhana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Farhana,

Thank you very much for your reviews, we are very happy to have you staying with us, and it is great to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Moorings on Cavill very much. Our team will always try our best to make each guest satisfied and enjoying staying here. Definitely we will keep up our high standard customer services, clean and nice rooms, and nice pools, spa, and BBQ.

Thank you again and wish you all well. See you next time : )

Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

First, let me say that we didn't even spend one night here, so the review is limited, and it ONLY relates to apartment 63.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon, to find the reception desk unattended, and only after hours buzzer service (a disembodied voice on the speaker). I actually thought after hours for accommodation was evenings, not weekend daytime.

After buzzing the after hours, and obtaining the key and directions from the safe, we parked the car in the basement - having to all get out the car and direct my husband in, as the carpark was very small. It wasn't a huge car either!

We were given Apartment 63, which has to be the worst apartment in the building. It must have been renovated in the 60's with the black and white shiny 'art-deco' style bed head and drawers.

The brown-tinged mirrors that went the length and breadth of EVERY wall in the living room, and the hallway too, were a sight that had to be seen.
Our autistic son had great issues with the number of mirrors around the place - he counted 60 but I'm sure there were more!!!

The combination of all these mirrors, plus the mirrors on the bedroom cupboard sliders, were enough to ensure the heat of the Gold Coast sun reached every corner of the apartment. The ceiling fans in the bedrooms did nothing to fix this, and the cooling of the aircon unit, didn't reach as far as the bedrooms.
The beds were hard too!!!
Both bedrooms had vertical blinds for curtains, and the second bedrooms blinds were broken and had to be manually moved individually!!! Both sets had also been obviously glued to repair them.

The bathroom was grotty, and so was the kitchen, with a dirty oven circa 1970's, and mismatched crockery that looked like it had been fished out from a local op-shop.

There was a large balcony accessible by sliding door, but the sliding door was VERY hard to open.

The one good thing was the staff, who were more than willing to refund our accom costs, due to the apartment state. On reflection, we probably shouldn't have agreed to them keeping one nights accom costs, but then, we were just happy to get out of there!

The pool downstairs looked very small too, and the 'games room' was in the underground car park area!!

I would suggest that the managers refuse to book this apartment out until the owner of the apartment does some serious renovating!!!!

Luckily, we were able to move the same day to another hotel, without too much additional cost.

Room Tip: All apartments are NOT created equal - each apartment is owned by someone else, so get a picture of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank AlisonRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi Alison,

Thanks for your reviews about U63. that is helpful for us to improve and ask owner to do renovation.

For the opening hour of reception, we have sent it to you in the confirmation email after you placed the booking, stating reception opens from 8:30-12:00 on Sat. and Sun. Probably we need to highlight or bold it to make the trading hour more clearer, so you won't miss it.

The car space for U63 is not huge, but compared to some other unit's, it is not so bad, as the owner of U63 come back in certain time and they have a Lexus 4 wheel drive, which is pretty big and still can park well in the bay, I guess that is because of the shape of the parking bay, not so rectangular shape. We should have reminded you for that to avoid the trouble.

For the decoration and room style and furniture, I agree with you that is old fashioned, while we did not count it before there are 60 mirror in the unit!!! We already talked to the owner either renovating or making it as budget room, so we gave you a rate of even less than the budget room rate for a two bedroom apartments.

Our pool has always been loved by everyone, and no one said it is small, or maybe you mean our kids pool? As we have a big heated pool, a small kids pool, SPA and sauna too. Or maybe as you are on 12 level which is quite high, which makes distant thing smaller?

Our staff and customer service is really nice and friendly, hope you had given us a chance to move you into another room, well so sad you had to leave on that day, and we missed the opportunity, and the only thing we can do is to refund to you to make you happy.

Once again, thank you for your reviews and we are sorry for your unpleasant experience, and we already made U63 a budget room till the owner makes renovations.

Moorings on Cavill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Property: Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing