We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Fab location.....great views...very relaxing place in amongst the chaos of Surfers Paradise. Down to earth people fronting the desk...always smiling...we enjoyed the BBQ area. The pool is clean and warm...love the security ie: swipe card access to get in at night and to get to your floor as well once in the lift. We stayed in a 1 bdrm apartment which was just perfect for our needs. Woolworths across the road. Our criticisms include: tired furnishings. A few bathrm fittings fell off...bit of dust around in wardrobe areas, I believe the bathrooms need to bit of updating...though I would most certainly stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Andrea,

Thanks for your review for us, we are very happy to have you staying with us. Hope you enjoyed the Foxtel sports channel that night : ). Your feedback is really important for us to communicate with owners for refurbishment and improvement, next time when you are here, the room will be different! Or you should try other nice rooms for different styles and experience, as our apartments belong to different owners who designed their rooms and chose the furniture. Security is one of the most important things for all guests, that is why we have the swipe fob for entry and only to the room level, so guest can relax and enjoy staying.

Once again, thanks for staying with us and putting reviews, we wish to see you and Rex and more friends and families in the future. Wish all well.

Phoenix & Gracie (Managers)
Erin (Front Desk)
Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    170
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
413
197
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Moorings on Cavill Avenue. It is located in such a busy yet convenient location at Surfers. There are literally dozens of choices for dining out, going for a walk at the river bank or walking to the beach which is only a couple of blocks away. We really loved the accessibility to even buy last-minute needed groceries, as Woolworths is just across the road! Staff is really helpful and always greet you with a smile. Thank you for a lovely couple of days, we are starting to plan next year' s trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi Viviana,

Thanks for putting reviews for us and we are happy to have you staying with us. As a "hidden pearl" laying at Surfers Paradise, we are proud to have the best and convenient location to everywhere including supermarket-Woolworth, Irish Club, Helm Bar, Domino Pizza, Hungry Jacks, Subway, lots of fine restaurants and nice coffee shops, and definitely the walking distance to famous Gold Coast beach. The reason I am saying "hidden pearl" is even our building is not so tall and modern like some surrounding ones, we have the fantastic views, heart locations and far from the crowded and noisy beach, so that means you can enjoy everything at Surfers and have a nice and quiet staying at the same time.

Our friendly team will be here to help you with all needs, and we wish to see you next time at Moorings on Cavill too. Thank you again and wish all well.

Phoenix, Gracie and Erin
Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

What a fantastic find Moorings on Cavill was. Top location, right in the heart of things but just enough away to offer a quiet haven after a busy day out. The apartment overlooking the river was so relaxing and quiet. The pool was lovely. The apartment itself was light, bright and the security at night to enter the apartments was great. Staff were always friendly & super helpful and make our stay that much more enjoyable - nothing was a bother to them. The only criticism was that our apartment was looking a bit tired with the bathroom fittings falling off the wall and the couches not that great - ready for a refurbishment.
I would highly recommend Moorings on Cavill and will be back myself.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view apartment - it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi Lynne,

Thank you very much for your reviews for Moorings on Cavill, we are very happy to have you staying with us and glad that you enjoyed a lot. Good suggestions, river view apartments are very popular and worthy, guests will enjoy much for the fantastic views of rivers, island, cruises, sunset, our gardens and pools etc. Even doing nothing, just sitting at balcony, reading a book and relax will be very enjoyable. It is good you point out something needs to be done in the room, we will communicate with owners for refurbishment. Thank you. : )

Once a gain, we thank you for choosing and staying with us and wish to see you and more friends and families in the future at Surfers.

Phoenix, Gracie and Erin
Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I spent ages researching different apartments to find the best option for our first family holiday to the Gold Coast. The only one that consistently received great reviews and seemed to tick all our boxes was Moorings on Cavill. Trust me, everything you read about Moorings is true.
I made early enquiries via email and phone and the response was always friendly and helpful. We stayed in early October for 8 nights on the second level, in unit 9. It was modern, very spacious and had absolutely everything we needed.
Our boys loved the pool and the spa was a great way to unwind after a day at the theme parks. The bbq area is spotlessly clean and the gardens lovely. We used the bbq to cook dinner on a couple of nights and its a great alternative when you dont feel like venturing out to a restaurant for dinner.
The location is perfect and central to everything. Across the road to the supermarket, restaurants, shopping and a 10 minute walk to the beach. Being on level 2 we did experience a bit of noise from the traffic and over the weekend it did get noisy from the bar located across the park. It didnt really bother us but I would think if you're a light sleeper you'd be better off on a higher level or an apartment closer to the river than the road.
The apartments were very secure. You can only get into the building/apartment after hours if you have a key and access in the lifts is restricted to the floor you are on, so we felt very safe and secure.
All the staff we met were genuinely friendly and helpful and really want their guests to have an enjoyable stay. Erin is an absolute gem, so lovely to deal with.
We couldn't have asked for nicer accommodation for our holiday. Hopefully we will be able to return to Surfers in the not so distant future and I'd have no hesitation in booking the Moorings again. Thanks to all the team for helping to make our holiday perfect!

Room Tip: For the best rate book directly with the Moorings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavvyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your reviews, we are very glad to have you staying with us and all families enjoyed a lot. Your happiness and safety are very important to us, that is why we always keep our high quality customer services and keep our building very secured with access key to entrance and lift.

Your room tip is very helpful too, as it is true that guests will get the best rate by booking directly through us. All the best wishes and wish to see you soon at Surfers in the near future.

Phoenix, Gracie and Erin
Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived at Moorings on Cavill straight off the midnight flight on Saturday October 5. After a few hiccups finding the place and then having to wait until the doors opened we were beginning to worry if we had made the right choice. Boy did we ever!!! From the moment Erin and Gracie greeted us they did everything in their power to get our room ready as quick as possible. Once in our room we were surprised to find it was exactly like the pictures we had seen on their website. Everything was clean, tidy and the rooms were spacious and airy. We were disappointed when we couldn't fit our pillows in our suitcases because we have had some horror stays with uncomfortable cushions but two of moorings pillows was equal to one of our best and it helped us to enjoy long and restful sleeps in the comfy beds. I won't deny that being in the heart of Surfers Paradise meant that some nights it was extremely noisy and we found ourselves singing along to the Happy Birthday celebrations at the Helm Bistro next door but that is what we loved about Moorings being so central. We enjoyed a short walk to the beach for evening walks, plenty of cafes and restaurants for eating out and for those nights we dined in, I would have to say Moorings had the best equipped kitchen I have ever found in an apartment.
We paid extra for daily services and it was money well spent. Our room was tidied, beds made, and towels changed and the cleaners left our rooms immaculate every day.
We honestly could not fault a thing at the Moorings and although we can't comment on the other rooms, all the feedback we got while lounging around the pool or enjoying their lovely BBQ area tells us that the other people staying there seemed to feel the same way. My family were sad to say goodbye to Erin, Gracie and Phoenix and if we ever return to Surfers we would not bother to look anywhere else because Moorings service is second to none.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Lumina25 (don't mention your real name thinking maybe you prefer not putting publicly), thank you so much for your lovely reviews and comments, we really had a wonderful time with you and your family too, very happy to hear you like everything of Moorings and our services. On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for choosing us and staying with us, and thanks for those nice food and kitchen stuff left for us and chocolate for our cleaner.

This morning I responded to another review mentioning it is a bit hard to find us. It is true that our white building is shorter than the other surrounding ones, and from the outside it looks not really ourstanding enough, while I guess same like you, other guests will be surprised when they come into the room and experience the facilities, views and services etc. And I just put a bit more info. about our location here too, so if people read this review can have a better idea, and since you have been staying with us, you can give me some suggestions too about whether the tips is helpful or not. Moorings on Cavill locates at the crossing of Gold Coast Highway and Cavill Ave (river side), there is a big metal arch way with red words "Surfers Paradise" at our entrance from the main road.

For the noise, yeah, I have to admit too that is what I hate sometimes on weekend especially, while like you said, thinking of the central location and convenience in the heart of Surfers Paradise, walking distance to everywhere, well every coin has too sides, and compared to beach side, we are much more quiet and peaceful, hahaha :) try to convince and comfort myself too.

Today we just received email from our loyal guest Jo and Kim who have been supporting us for 20 years, they sent us some photos of old Moorings back to 1984 when they were here, so we have the chance to see Moorings development, which is really amazing. Even I had not gone through those period, I am still impressed a lot.

Well, seems I was quite moved and became emotional by your lovely review and I definitely need to conclude my "long-essay" response (hope people are not so bored reading it), thank you again and wish to see you next time. And thanks again for all our guests in the past, present and future, your support keeps Moorings developing and keeps our team alive and hard working. All the best wishes.

Phoenix, Gracie and Erin
The Mooring on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment with our 2 year old on the porta cot. We arrived out of hours but the instructions were very clear. Unfortunately our car didnt fit in the allocated space but that was sorted for us very quickly which we appreciate. The room was nice and tidy and spacious with everything in there we needed. Erin at reception was absolutely amazing and very kind and helpful. I spoke to her in regards to my concern of not having a dead lock out to the balcony where my toddler could open the door and she got someone to install one right away which we didnt expect and was so very greatful.
Always lovely at reception having a chat and giving us tips.
The pool and bbq area is great and the views of the river is lovely.
So central and close walk to restaurants, beach, and pretty much anything you can think of.
We want to thank Erin and the others for a lovely stay and we will be back

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holidaylover230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for your reviews and that is really helpful for us to value our work and improve accordingly. As a manager, we like to hear any feedback and suggestions, the dead lock is a very good one, as it is more safe for guests with kids, so we acted in the first time. And we are thinking to talk to each unit owner from level one to the top level to install a dead lock on balcony for safety reason. Yeah, Erin is fabulous, we are very lucky and grateful to have Erin in front helping customers with abundant experience and kind heart, everyone loves her and satisfied very much with her helpful tips and explanations. As a team, Moorings managers, receptionist and cleaners will always stand by your side and provide our best services to our guests. Thank you again and wish to see you next time.

Phoenix, Gracie and Erin
The Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

As mature travellers, my husband & I enjoyed the short walking distance into the heart of this busy entertainment area. In less than a 10 minute stroll, we had unlimited choices to dine, shop, visit doctors, pharmacies or sunbathe/swim on the beach. Our balcony view of the river with early morning rowing crews or whale/cruise boats departing/returning, was always entertaining & it was a great incentive for us to go on each of these on consecutive days.The standard of our one bedroom accomodation was extremely luxurious & roomy. Our late night arrival from Brisbane airport was not a problem with clear written instructions on parking our hire car & gaining entry to the unit.We loved our 4 days with Moorings & would not hesitate to mention our great experience in staying with this hard working professional team! They helped with local knowledge,any bookings & were always cheerful & friendly.No wonder locals choose the lovely pool & garden area for wedding receptions!

Room Tip: A view of the river was wonderful at night or day.A lovely place with outdoor furniture to relax wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks very much for your detailed reviews, giving other guests a good idea of how convenient our location is. We are really happy to having you staying with us and enjoying a lot for the rooms, views and services at Mooring on Cavill. Our team will do our best to help each guest and keep this high standard continuously. Wish to have you staying with us next time too.

The Moorings on Cavill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,531 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Property: Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing