We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“So helpful and friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So helpful and friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had such a great stay at Moorings on Cavill that we have already booked again for next year. Margaret, Peter and Erin were so friendly to us and to our two teenagers, and you could tell that they genuinely wanted to make our stay fabulous. We loved the pool and barbecue area, which was spotlessly clean and spacious. Our apartment was really comfortable and spacious too, and it had everything we needed. Moorings is in such a good spot- a short walk to cafés, shops and the beach. Can't wait for January 2014!

Room Tip: We enjoyed looking out over the pool and the river, and it was a bit quieter than the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33Maddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    163
    36
    6
    8
See reviews for
394
184
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I booked a top story apartment for our honeymoon based on all the great reviews this place gets and it did not disappoint! The managers are fantastic and never to busy to make time to engage with guests. The views were stunning and the apartment lovely, and bang on the door step of all surfers has to offer. It was quite and relaxing and even though a peak holiday period, on most days we had the pool to ourselves for a few hours. This will be a regular holiday spot for us now.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabri, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Ok well my group wanted to get accommodation for New Years, which is a very busy time of year for most establishments on the Gold Coast. I was very late in organising this trip, with trying to get everyone organised, i ended up only calling 1 week before Christmas (2 weeks before new years). I spoke to Margaret the manager, (who is the most loveliest woman i have ever spoken to). I told her that we only wanted to stay 4 days/night's (31/12 - 3/1) so then Margaret told me i was very lucky as it's usually a 7 day/night stay minimum, but they had a cancellation only 1 hour before i called, so they had an opening for us. Could not ask for better service. The managers were the most friendly and pleasant i have had the pleasure of staying with. I definitely will be staying there again in the future!!

Room Tip: All rooms are immaculate and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Before we booked at the Moorings we read through other reviews. It was pleasing to see the fantastic feedback.
We had a great stay at the Moorings. It is clean, spacious, accomdated all of our needs, and the owners/staff are wonderful helpful caring people.
We travelled with our 5 year old and two teenages. The location is perfect being so close to the main street of Surfers Paradise, and having the pool, spa and bbq area was great, we spent alot of time swimming, and never had to wait to use one of the bbq's.
We would highly recommend the Moorings for anyone who is wanting to stay somewhere that is well positioned in Surfers, well priced and very clean.
We stayed in a corner room overlooking the pool and river and it was perfect.

Room Tip: We enjoyed looking over the pool and river on a corner room. Big balcony and awesome view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My daughter and I just spent a week at Moorings on Cavill and honestly say it was a fantastic experience. It's a short stroll to all the things you need to access without being in the middle of the sin part of 'sin city'. Buses at your door, supermarket across the street, river views and one of the cleanest places in this price range that you will find. Erin is a delight and Peter is a lovely man. We'll be going back for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have lovely views to the Hinterland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuzPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Room was luxurious, large and immaculate. Pool was perfect temp for swimming in the unfortunately crap weather. Very short walk to everything in Surfers, great view over the lake, no noise from the outside.

Staff were very friendly and strived to help and accomodate us when our flight was cancelled. Look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TC_Ink23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our first stay at the Moorings, we stayed for two weeks and enjoyed our stay immensley. We found the mornings to be centrally located for transport and food shoping just across the road, and close to all attractions. The appartment was well equiped & spacious, the views from the balcony were stunning. Peter, Margaret & Erin provide a wonderful service. The only issue we had was no towel rails in the en-suit bathroom,which took a bit of getting used to, appart from that everything else was perfect. Thanks to all for a wonderful stay and looking after us so well. We would not hesertate to stay at the Moorings again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 58 has great views from the 11th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Property: Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing