We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, would definitely recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, would definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Room - The room was great; very clean, spacious, well funished/equipped and amazing views.

Location - Perfectly located two minutes walking from the supermarket, cafes and restaurants and about five minutes from the pubs and clubs.

Amenities - Large pool that was always the perfect temperature, never the slightest bit chilly; was also immaculately clean at all times. Same applies to the spa and sauna.

Staff - Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, always happy to assist wherever they can; couldn't ask for an easier group of people to deal with.

The next time I'm in Surfers Paradise I'll definitely be looking to stay at The Moorings, overall a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camlorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    169
    39
    9
    8
See reviews for
404
189
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Amazing place to stay! Great location and fantastic views! I stayed at the Moorings for a week with two friends and we had the most amazing time, the apartment we stayed in was clean, modern and had plenty of room for three teenage girls :)
Definitely would stay here again in the future!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Attractive modern clean apartment. Very close to main shops, supermarkets, beach etc. Picturesque view over the canals. Friendly hosts and easy to check in after hours. Nice pool area although would be even better if the children's pool was heated. Lots of extra TV channels for relaxing at night. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Apartment 12 was lovely. Faced the canals and nice afternoon sun. A little street/people noise lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roaming_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

nice clean hotel and it had the friendliest owners. my stay was really nice and the location of the hotel is right on Cavil Ave the central street in Surfers Paradise. the owners margaret and peter really made an effort to make it a pleasant stay. the hotel also has amazing views of the river and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Guest Relations Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad we could make your Schoolies Week full of great memories! All the best with your future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Moorings during school holidays. It is walking distance to woolworth, the beautiful beach and all the yummy restaurant. Also inside of the apartment is clean and modern decorate. All the kitchen facilities are provided. Sky TV have kids channel to keep our two little monkeys engaged while me and my husband having a rest after a long day walking in the theme parks.
So, just love it, would come back again:)

Room Tip: We had the top floor so it is less noisy as the building is next to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Excellent location, great views, 10 minute walk to the beach, right in the heart of Surfers. Heaps of room and well appointed apartment in the one we booked. The staff are really friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I would recomend booking an appartment high up as you need to remember you are in the middle of a busy city and I would guess the lower rooms could be noisy. The appartment had everything you could possibly want.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a penthouse to get away from the city noise and get amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne999_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Guest Relations Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you had a relaxing and well entertained family time away together! We look forward to seeing you back here again in the near future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I'm not going to beat around the bush. It just feel like home, I mean a fairly luxurious home.

Best care because:
1. Help is never more than one phone call away and answers are always there.
2. Look around the apartment, it is obvious that it is well taken care of.
3. Security features of the apartment are well thought of from parking to lift
to keys, one just feel safe and cared.
4. Kitchen is truly equipped. I mean there is even a casserole cooker. Full set of
culinary crafts. Seriously, if I'd knew before hand I'd plan for some leisurely
cooking time. One can really take good care of your own diet just like at home.

Best spot.
1. Location: at first I was a little worried that it is not right at the SF beach. Now
that I'd been to Gold Coast. I have to say it really is a good location. Note that
SF beach is now much more than a beach. There are heaps of restaurants,
pubs, shops, cars so right at the beach will mean noise and buzz all through
the night. So Moorings being 2 streets away from the beach means short
walk to the beach yet peace at night.
2. View: really nice view overlooking Nerang river. It is not the beach ocean type
of view with waves. So it means no strong cold wind which forbids a cozy
balcony relaxation. It is a peaceful view with tall buildings on one side and
scenic suburb on the other side of river.
3. Shops: cross the road and you are into the busy shopping areas with pubs,
fashion shops, Woolsworth, restaurants. Yet when one feels tired after the
buzz, just cross the road and retreat back into the haven.

Geez! It's like home.

PS. There is no need for me to put up any photos because the management photos are totally faithful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samson_Tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Property: Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing