We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at moorings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Huntly, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at moorings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

had a really great stay at Moorings the other week. The units are located in a great location with buses stopping virtually out the front door, these take you to all the major theme parks etc Shops are just across the road (supermarket and bottle shop) and the main drag of Surfers is also just across the road. A great location.
The front desk staff of Margaret and Erin were very friendly and helpful. the unit itself was clean and very compfortable, our family had agreat stay and would not hesitate to return there again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooringscavill, Owner at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We thank you for your kind words and are pleased that your stay with us met your expectations. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    168
    37
    8
    8
See reviews for
401
187
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was staying on the 13th floor overlooking the river view. The first morning when I woke up, I received a pleasant surprise... I could see a hot air balloon in the far distance near the mountains.

Each morning, I would sit at the balcony and just enjoy looking at the beautiful houses across the waters.

It's got the best bed for a good nights sleep as well as strong showers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river enjoy great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed here recently with some friends while on holiday in queensland. The rooms were nice and we enjoyed our stay. There were no nasty surprises just good service and nice rooms and I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Margaret, Erin and Peter were really friendly, helpful and accomodating. As apartment managers you will not be able to find anyone better to deal with! Fantastic location with a Woolies opposite and food all within 5mins walking distance. Look forward to coming back again!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinC11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband, 14 month old son and myself stayed at the Moorings on Cavill for 8 nights from 3rd - 11th Oct 2012. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 13th floor overlooking the river. The apartment was really nice. It was spacious, modern, clean and had everything you would need for a self catering holiday. The views out to the river were amazing. We opted to bring our own travel cot as we wanted our son to have his own bed which he is used to but I think you can rent one. The apartment had air conditioning, sky TV and every appliance you would need in the kitchen. We cooked alot of meals in the kitchen. One downside to the apartment is that it is only serviced once a week, so be prepared to have to shop for toilet rolls, washing up liquid, laundry powder (if you want to use the washing machine to wash your towels etc) . There is a woolworths supermarket across the road which we visited nearly every day for essentials and it is brilliant. The apartment is in an awesome location, just 5 minute walk to the beach and a 1 minute walk to the local park, which we took our son too every morning. It is noisey at night time, but after reading reviews that mentioned this we brought our ear plugs and eye masks and the noise and lights were not a problem.

The swimming pool area is a highlight of the apartments. It is really looked after and looks lovely. We spent most of the time in the baby pool which our son loved! The owners are really friendly and take an interest in you and your holiday. Moorings on Cavill is excellent value for money, in a superb location and excellent if you have kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here from Friday 5th - 10th October in Apt 58 on the 11th floor. The apartment itself was lovely and well appointed with great views over the river. The pool, sauna and bbq were fantastic and grounds well kept. We only had one unfortunate incident during our stay and that was getting stuck in the elevator after a long hot day for over an hour.

Kevin Gorton who picked us up from the airport was great and his service exemplary and I would thoroughly recommend him to anyone who didn't know their way around and were not hiring their own car.

Everything was very handy..... supermarkets, shopping and buses to theme parks. Make sure you get a Go Card as this saves you money in the long run and any leftover funds can be redeemed at the airport on your departure. In hindsight if we were to stay here again I would not stay over a weekend we found it just way too noisy being right in the middle of Surfers.

All in all a great stay and would be happy to recommend the Moorings to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmw_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently stayed at the Moorings and couldnt have asked for a better holiday. Firstly Margaret, Peter and Erin were so lovely and helpful. The apartment we stayed in (no. 9) was perfect. Very spacious and had everything we needed. The location was also perfect - a little noisy but we were right in the heart so was to be expected. The pool and spa was enjoyed by all. We loved it so much we even looked into purchasing an apartment in the building!! Will definintely and go back and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Property: Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing