We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree Imperial Surf
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My mum and I stayed in a two bedroom apartment with ocean view on the 14th floor and it was beautiful, very friendly staff and would love to stay there again. Close to shops, bus stop and across the road from beach, the only down fall was the road works which started early in the morning and got pretty loud.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Veronica B,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the great location and found our staff to be friendly. However, I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by the noise from the road works. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over the public road works. Hopefully on your next visit the light rail works would be completed and ready. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 556 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and our three teenage kids stayed in a Sub Penthouse apartment on the 38th floor. We absolutely loved it. We loved the huge apartment, the breathtaking views, it was close to shops etc and the price was excellent. Our only regret was we only stayed there 3 nights. That view would have to be one of the best on the Gold Coast. If we are ever up that way again, we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Sub Penthouse apartments have amazing views, nearly all the way round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear LisaD,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the great views and location. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great location, but bad experience for us. Loud music the 1st night kept us awake, we let reception know the next day, could actually hear it from the street then. "Ok thanks for letting us know" Next night kept awake all through the night again, 3 calls to reception/after hours, nothing done, eventually we deal with it directly. No offers of help or to be moved from the office. When we check out, were told "at least you'll sleep tonight" & after all that when we asked to leave our car in the car park to have a quick swim before we left, we were refused!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Scarey60,
It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you. My email address is
rajesh.shetty@breakfree.com.au
Regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Ideal spot for a family to stay in. Amazing location right across the road from the beach and really close to the centre of surfers.

We found Leanne on reception to be friendly and incredibly helpful. She is a real credit to the breakfree imperial.

Would absolutely stay there again will recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazikatikua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear bazikatikua,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the great views and found Leanne friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in 22E and thought it was absolutely Perfect especially for the Money. Easy walk to Cavil Mall for eating and entertainment and also enjoyed the markets. Great spot for access to the Race track aswell. We had no problems at all the apartment was clean, spacious and we all loved it, Beautiful views Ideal Location and luvly helpful staff.
We cant wait for our next holiday at this luvly place!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_dougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear lisa_dougie,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the good views, great location and also found our staff to be helpful and friendly.We are happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed in 20A this October in the V8 race week. It was a big 2 bedrooms unit with fantastic seaview.

The floor is dusty and we decided to put on our shoes or sandals inside. The basin of one of the toilets was not drained. We also noticed one toilet bowl still had "skid mark" that need to be manually removed. I did not make any complaint because I didn't want to wait around for the housekeeping. So we decided to endure it.

The sofas in the living room were in terrible conditions. It's artificial leather coating was cracked and was peeling off as soon as is sat on it. It should have been replaced or removed at least 1 year ago in my opinion.

Overall, it is still value for money with some compromises.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonWcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear JasonWey,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the good views. Please accept my apologies regarding Housekeeping service during your stay. The issues you raised have been addressed with the respective department and additional training implemented accordingly.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Breakfree Imperial Surf again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in October 2013 for 5 nights. We had two apartments booked, a two bedroom one for my mum and kids and another for myself and partner. You'd think we would have been located on the same floor as we were travelling as a family however we were 16 floors apart! We asked to change rooms so that we could be closer, but were told that hotel was fully booked so nothing could be done. The security being very tight, which is a good thing, also made it so we couldn't access each other's rooms without having to meeting in the lobby first (you can only access your floor and lobby). The apartments themselves had fantastic views, we had side views of the beach and views of other hotels around us. My mum and kids had direct beach front views (very windy). Both apartments were very large with entry, lounge, dining, kitchen, sitting area and both apartments with two bathrooms. Plenty of room and fully equipped. The decor however is seriously outdated, and would benefit from a makeover, paint, carpets, tiles and appliances all looks very "80's" and a little grotty. Also I'm not sure if it's standard in Surfers Paradise, but there was no air conditioning, only ceiling fans. The pool area looked good and clean, with pool outside plus indoor heated pool and spa, which we didn't get a chance to use. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. One of the reasons we picked this hotel was because it advertised Foxtel which we enjoy in the evening. There seemed to be no such thing on the 12th floor or 29th floor which was very disappointing. We requested that we wanted this service and had to complain about it 2-3 times a day before it was finally working on floor 12 only on day 3. My mum and kids on floor 29 were told that it wouldn't be fixed until after we departed. Other guests we met in the elevator also complained about this. As I mentioned, security is very tight, as this hotel also accommodates permanent residents. Parking is undercover and free, also very secure. Walk to shopping centre and night spots takes around 10 minutes as a casual walk. There was a beachside night market on a few of the days. The receptionist was very helpful in this way and ready to share any information about getting around and upcoming events. All in all an adequate hotel for the money and a great size for a family, but could do with renovations.

Room Tip: Rooms with morning sun will be a lot cooler at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaylover086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Holidaylover086,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. In regards to being alloacted apartments in different levels, unfortunately this is a very difficult request for us to accomodate as we only have a limited number of apartments that are in our Holiday letting Pool and they are all in different levels.We have taken on board your comment on air condition and we are in the process of getting our owners install them in their unit.
Thanks for your feed back and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Wings
Mantra Wings
#3 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
#22 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#13 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
1,716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#5 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
929 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#19 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Imperial Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Address: Imperial Surf 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $111 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laying claim to some of the best views on the Gold Coast, BreakFree Imperial Surf offers quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise overlooking the beach, all apartments have ocean views, some with sweeping panoramic vistas of the Gold Coast hinterland and surrounds. Perfect for a weekend getaway, mini-break or beachside family holiday, accommodation options include one and two bedroom apartments with large balconies, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, TV and security access. The resort offers a range of leisure facilities including a full-size tennis court, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, BBQ area and tour desk. Only a short walk will have you in Cavill Avenue where you can hit the shops or dine at one of the many cafes or restaurants. When the sun sets the Surfers Paradise nightlife takes over and all the nightclubs are only a short walk away. With the surf-patrolled beach directly opposite and the retail, dining and entertainment hub of the Gold Coast literally on the doorstop, the resort offers choice - whether you want to laze in the sun or party until the sun comes up. Maintenance Notice We are excited to announce BreakFree Imperial Surf will be undertaking an upgrade of the external balcony balustrades. This work is scheduled between from 20 April until 10 December 2015 and it will be carried out from 8am to 5pm Monday to Friday only. During this time there may be restricted access to the hotel entrance and limited access to some balconies. The tennis courts will be closed from 20 April until 15 October 2015. The outdoor pool will be closed from October 2015 until the end of the project, however the indoor pool will remain open from 7am until 9pm throughout this period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing