We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, really huge, Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Imperial Surf
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW, really huge, Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Imperial Surf during April this year. Our room was huge. We had everything the Gold Coast has to offer at your finger tips. From seaworld,to the King Tutts Putt Putt to the Vomitron and the steels Jet boat this place is close to everything you need. Yes sometimes the weather was good and sometimes very bad but that's the weather man for you. Imperial.Surf was a very impressive place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneazle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Sneazle79,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    178
    78
    23
    28
See reviews for
296
94
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked through a deal on Groupon.

Wow, we sure got a bargain.

The location is perfect, short walk to Cavil Ave and right on the beach.
We were in apartment 9E, our apartment was extremely dated but functional, 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, full laundry and kitchen. Superb wrap around verandah, views from the ocean to the mountains.... The only down side to this apartment is the lounges are very uncomfortable, the mattresses are old (still ok but should be better), and the showers need a really good scrubbing, also need more draws in the master bedroom, the kids room has the most storage space I've ever seen in an apartment room.

The hotel has 2 pools and a spa, one pool and the spa are indoor and heated. There is also a steam room and sauna.. The spa was heaven, except the second day my husband and children went down and just about went blind from the spa, we are guessing they just loaded it up with chloriene, it bleached everyones swimming clothes and made their eyes all red (they were even wearing goggles in there).

I can't remember her name (Lea?), but the lady at reception is an asset to the company. Very welcoming and easy to talk to.

Over all we would happily book and stay again at this property.

Room Tip: Loved our wrap around verandah in apartment 9E.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam3lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear sam3lil,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you found the location perfect and our Receptionist - Leanne welcoming. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.We have taken onboard your comments and we will address these issues.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Breakfree Imperial Surf again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked this accommodation through flight centre in NZ. On arriving at the hotel we found the reception staff absolutely helpful in very way and continued to be throughout our 7 day stay. The hotel provided plenty of information as to what was available to tourists - just fabulous! The twin share unit was spacious and catered for all our needs. The views from our unit which was on the 26th floor were amazing and we spend many an hour watching surfing, beach combers, sunrises and also Whale watching. I'm sure we had a better view of the whales than even the people that paid to go whale watching! Enjoyed the early morning walks, shopping that we required was in close proximity. I would highly recommend Breakfree Imperial Surf for it's customer service, proximity to everything and the wonderful views.

Room Tip: Best view our room 26th floor C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Cal M,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I am happy to hear that our Reception staff were helpful throughout your stay with us and you enjoyed the fabulous views. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through a deal website so wasn't expecting to much. We got what we paid for.
The apartments are in a great location being directly opposite beach access and a few minute walk to multiple restaurants and shops.
The bathrooms were extremely dated, however it's functional. A few draws needed cleaning and our cups weren't very clean.
We were only on the 3rd floor, which had slight views however if you are lucky enough to be above this expect amazing views!
Our main issue was the fact the on a Friday night a party of some sort was held directly below us, which after signing a contract against this, we were not happy as it was very loud and went late into the night. When this was brought up with hotel staff it was swept away and we got the impression that they thought we were lying. So service there was not the greatest.
Depending on when you are travelling I would also suggest you look into the road works as this was extremely disruptive to us as we were so close to the ground and they work through the night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jods06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Jods06,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the great location and views.
I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of our service during your stay. This has been addressed with the team member concerned. In regards to the noise from the road works, unfortunately this is out of our control. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service and look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked this hotel/apartment on line and were certainly not disappointed with our 5 days stay at the hotel. The Views were absolutely sensational and the staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful. The apartment on a higher floor was huge for a family of four. The facilities were adequate and the rooms were very clean. Though the bathroom needs a bit of renovation but otherwise all was GREAT. The Imperial Surf team is doing an absolute great job. Would definitely recommend it for families and would definitely be back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors specially the C series rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Raj2260,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the sensational views and found our team was courteous and helpful.
We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through a timeshare agent from one of relatives so we didn't have a lot of choice in where to stay in Surfers Paradise.
Pros -

Sensational view of the Ocean
Very friendly staff
Great location within walking distance of Cavill Ave and beach on front doorstep.
Nice pool, spa, sauna
Allocated parking bay
Cons -
Apartment showing it's age.
Beds not very comfortable.
It appears that a lot depends on whether the unit you are staying in is privately owned and if so who by. For instance our microwave was broken and the staff had to check with the owner to see if they could replace it. 3 days later and it's still not fixed. Some apartments in the building have foxtel, but ours did not.

Overall it was a nice enough place to stay, and reasonable value however if you expect 5 star facilities be careful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bells5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Bells5544,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. I have taken on board your comments regarding the bed and the Microwave and these will be rectified.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Breakfree Imperial Surf again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Was so impressed with the location first. Going into the unit couldn't believe how big it was, great when travelling with the whole family.

We couldn't fault anything about the apartment with its facilities and the view was second to none!

Staff really helpful, very pleasant stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Julie B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. The size of our apartments is certainly a drawcard for families. I am also happy to hear that our team was helpful.
We are delighted that we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#12 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Imperial Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Property: BreakFree Imperial Surf
Address: Imperial Surf 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laying claim to some of the best views on the Gold Coast, BreakFree Imperial Surf offers quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise overlooking the beach, all apartments have ocean views, some with sweeping panoramic vistas of the Gold Coast hinterland and surrounds. Perfect for a weekend getaway, mini-break or beachside family holiday, accommodation options include one and two bedroom apartments with large balconies, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, TV and security access. The resort offers a range of leisure facilities including a full-size tennis court, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, BBQ area and tour desk. Only a short walk will have you in Cavill Avenue where you can hit the shops or dine at one of the many cafes or restaurants. When the sun sets the Surfers Paradise nightlife takes over and all the nightclubs are only a short walk away. With the surf-patrolled beach directly opposite and the retail, dining and entertainment hub of the Gold Coast literally on the doorstop, the resort offers choice - whether you want to laze in the sun or party until the sun comes up. Maintenance Notice We are excited to announce BreakFree Imperial Surf will be undertaking an upgrade of the external balcony balustrades. This work is scheduled between from 20 April until 10 December 2015 and it will be carried out from 8am to 5pm Monday to Friday only. During this time there may be restricted access to the hotel entrance and limited access to some balconies. The tennis courts will be closed from 20 April until 15 October 2015. The outdoor pool will be closed from October 2015 until the end of the project, however the indoor pool will remain open from 7am until 9pm throughout this period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing