We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BreakFree Imperial Surf
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Just checked in and this is nothing like the brochure promotes.
The room is dirty, no hygiene seal on toilets, bottle tops in the couch, kitchen not stocked with complimentary items, hot plates rusted and kettle is black and dirty.
Absolutely disgusted!!!!
Reception unhelpful!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saints007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We do appreciate your comments and for bringing them to our attention. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Due to the high standards required of our contract cleaning company, issues such as these are very rate occurrences. We have forwarded your comments onto our housekeeping department to ensure that our required standards of cleanliness are being met at al times. Regards, Margaret Merrilees. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 569 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in a 2 Bedroom apartment. The views are great. Also, It is close to everything surfers have to offer, however for the price it is not good value. The interior is dated. It really needs a makeover. I've heard that some rooms are refurbished, but ours wasnt. The washing machine and dryer were really helpful, but that washing room had foul odour. The dishes in the kitchen were dirty and so were the quilts.
Overall, if you are going for the views, its a good place..otherwise its average.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Musafir r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you for your time in addressing your concerns on trip advisor. We are disappointed that the apartment you were allocated was not one of our refurbished apartments. It is ongoing that we work with the Owners of units that have not been refurbished to do so, my apologies that we did not meet your expectations in this regard. We regret that the housekeeping was not to our required standard and we have brought this matter to the attention of our Housekeeping staff. We look forward to welcoming you to Imperial Surf on your next holiday to the Gold Coast. Kind Regards Margaret Merrilees. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights on the 10th Nov 2011. I was very concerned after booking and paying for the accommodation before reading the reviews. This was a special trip with my unwell elderly mum. All my concerns with this hotel quickly disappeared the minute we arrived. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They even provided me with a hairdryer at no cost for the duration of our stay. We were in a 2 bedroom deluxe with ocean views. We were on the 23rd floor in an end apartment which was fantastic!! We had 180 degree views in 3 directions...beach, side and behind the hotel. Mum needs a walking frame to get around and she was able to do this easily as the apartment was so spacious. We were really surprised. You could happily live there. It was very clean and updated with loads of storage. Although we did not use the pool etc facilities, I had a quick wander down there and could see nothing wrong with them. In fact there were lots of people enjoying themselves there. I was at ease knowing my rental car had secure parking. We felt very safe in our apartment because only the people staying on the same floor (about 4 apartments) as you have access to that level. Great location!! Wish we could have stayed longer. I will definately return in the future. Thank you so much Imperial Surf :)

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for the Deluxe apartments are on a higher floor and have been recently u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juzpudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you very much for the feedback you provided regarding your stay at Imperial Surf. We do appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay on the Gold Coast. Kind Regards, Margaret Merrilees. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Just came back from Surfers Paradise yesterday. Stayed in the Imperial Surf for five nights. Very happy with it. We had a two-bedroom with oceanview. Great location, easy walk to the shops and cafes but far enough to keep away from the noise. Beautiful and stunning view, clean rooms, and friendly staffs and services. We were actually a bit worried before we went reading some of the reviews here, but once arrived there very relieved and very satisfied with it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at BreakFree Imperial Surf. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Resort and the views. Yes it is great to be so close to shops, cafes and bus stops etc. Our Staff do look forward to welcoming you back on your next holiday on the Gold Coast.Kind Regards, Margaret Merrilees. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Very pleased after reading the reviews I was not quite sure what to expect. We stayed in 2 bedroom apartment level 7 during the October school holidays. It was very clean and we had no problems with our apartment. Staff were always friendly (when you seen them - in and out at theme parks). View from balcony was beautifull and the hightlight. Short stroll into Cavill Ave, and close to resturants. A must for dinner was the Thai resturant in the Crown Towers Resort behind Imperial surf - Lovely resturant and great food. There was plenty of room for family of 4. We had a great time and will stay again! Thank you imperial surf.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thanks for your feedback it is always good to be reassured by receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards
Margaret Merrilees, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We got a 2 bedroom apartment during the school holidays for $120 a night which was just fantastic value! It was clean and a little bit dated but perfectly adequate for us. Nice leather lounges and a huge tv with the kids channel so we were happy! The best thing was the location! Across the road for a patrolled section of beautiful beach with wonderful views out of all our windows which were all floor to ceiling so there was beautiful ocean everywhere you looked! A very leisurely 10 minutes flat walk to all the shops, restaurants and fast food and a fantastic Woolworths supermarket on Cavil Avenue and 5 minutes walk in the other direction to King Tutt Putt Putt Golf which is my kids favourite thing to do down here - they have a dinosaur course!! On Wednesday and Friday evenings they have lovely craft markets on the esplanade across the road and I just found everything to be really convenient. The renovations seems to be finished - we had no trouble with anything. The pool chlorine was fine and as it was a bit cold, we used the indoor pool every day. The apartment itself was generous in size and easily accommodated the 4 of us with 2 bathrooms and a big kitchen too. We always went up for gelati on Cavil Ave after dinner which was a lovely way to end each day and it was just the right distance for the kids to walk to completely tire they out for the day! We had a great time and will no doubt be back in the future!

Room Tip: The higher up the room the quieter it would be but the road out the front does not generate a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJtravels71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Thank you very much for the feedback you provided regarding your stay with us at BrakFree Imperial Surf. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the close proximity we are to the beach, shopping, resturants, and activites in Surfers Paradise.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family to BreakFree Imperial Surf whe next holidaying on the Gold Coast.

Kind Regards
Margaret Merrilees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

A great family friendly resort, even though in the middle of paining renovations it did not interfere with us at all. View was magnificent from our 2 brm apartment and very nicely furnished, Only thing to be aware of is the over chlorination of the indoor pool. Very strong and affected our eyes. Staff were friendly and helpful. Close to Cavill Mall and surrounds,

Room Tip: Large 2brm apartments great for families with older kids (8-15)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KC_SC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at BreakFree Imperial Surf. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our apartments and the views. Our Staff do look forward to welcoming you back on your next holiday on the Gold Coast.

Kind Regards
Margaret Merrilees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,183 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mantra Wings
Mantra Wings
#2 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#16 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
1,739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#5 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Imperial Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Address: Imperial Surf 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $112 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laying claim to some of the best views on the Gold Coast, BreakFree Imperial Surf offers quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise overlooking the beach, all apartments have ocean views, some with sweeping panoramic vistas of the Gold Coast hinterland and surrounds. Perfect for a weekend getaway, mini-break or beachside family holiday, accommodation options include one and two bedroom apartments with large balconies, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, TV and security access. The resort offers a range of leisure facilities including a full-size tennis court, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, BBQ area and tour desk. Only a short walk will have you in Cavill Avenue where you can hit the shops or dine at one of the many cafes or restaurants. When the sun sets the Surfers Paradise nightlife takes over and all the nightclubs are only a short walk away. With the surf-patrolled beach directly opposite and the retail, dining and entertainment hub of the Gold Coast literally on the doorstop, the resort offers choice - whether you want to laze in the sun or party until the sun comes up. Maintenance Notice We are excited to announce BreakFree Imperial Surf will be undertaking an upgrade of the external balcony balustrades. This work is scheduled between from 20 April until 10 December 2015 and it will be carried out from 8am to 5pm Monday to Friday only. During this time there may be restricted access to the hotel entrance and limited access to some balconies. The tennis courts will be closed from 20 April until 15 October 2015. The outdoor pool will be closed from October 2015 until the end of the project, however the indoor pool will remain open from 7am until 9pm throughout this period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing