We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location Wonderfull view - Quite Suprised after reading Reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree Imperial Surf
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Very pleased after reading the reviews I was not quite sure what to expect. We stayed in 2 bedroom apartment level 7 during the October school holidays. It was very clean and we had no problems with our apartment. Staff were always friendly (when you seen them - in and out at theme parks). View from balcony was beautifull and the hightlight. Short stroll into Cavill Ave, and close to resturants. A must for dinner was the Thai resturant in the Crown Towers Resort behind Imperial surf - Lovely resturant and great food. There was plenty of room for family of 4. We had a great time and will stay again! Thank you imperial surf.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thanks for your feedback it is always good to be reassured by receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards
Margaret Merrilees, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 556 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

We got a 2 bedroom apartment during the school holidays for $120 a night which was just fantastic value! It was clean and a little bit dated but perfectly adequate for us. Nice leather lounges and a huge tv with the kids channel so we were happy! The best thing was the location! Across the road for a patrolled section of beautiful beach with wonderful views out of all our windows which were all floor to ceiling so there was beautiful ocean everywhere you looked! A very leisurely 10 minutes flat walk to all the shops, restaurants and fast food and a fantastic Woolworths supermarket on Cavil Avenue and 5 minutes walk in the other direction to King Tutt Putt Putt Golf which is my kids favourite thing to do down here - they have a dinosaur course!! On Wednesday and Friday evenings they have lovely craft markets on the esplanade across the road and I just found everything to be really convenient. The renovations seems to be finished - we had no trouble with anything. The pool chlorine was fine and as it was a bit cold, we used the indoor pool every day. The apartment itself was generous in size and easily accommodated the 4 of us with 2 bathrooms and a big kitchen too. We always went up for gelati on Cavil Ave after dinner which was a lovely way to end each day and it was just the right distance for the kids to walk to completely tire they out for the day! We had a great time and will no doubt be back in the future!

Room Tip: The higher up the room the quieter it would be but the road out the front does not generate a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJtravels71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Thank you very much for the feedback you provided regarding your stay with us at BrakFree Imperial Surf. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the close proximity we are to the beach, shopping, resturants, and activites in Surfers Paradise.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family to BreakFree Imperial Surf whe next holidaying on the Gold Coast.

Kind Regards
Margaret Merrilees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

A great family friendly resort, even though in the middle of paining renovations it did not interfere with us at all. View was magnificent from our 2 brm apartment and very nicely furnished, Only thing to be aware of is the over chlorination of the indoor pool. Very strong and affected our eyes. Staff were friendly and helpful. Close to Cavill Mall and surrounds,

Room Tip: Large 2brm apartments great for families with older kids (8-15)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KC_SC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at BreakFree Imperial Surf. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our apartments and the views. Our Staff do look forward to welcoming you back on your next holiday on the Gold Coast.

Kind Regards
Margaret Merrilees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Facilities not available as advertised due to renovations.....still not reflected in advertising for bookings today.Straight deceit in advertising.
Two families separated by 10 floors with no way to go up and down to them due to limitations of security system.Not what we asked for.On the two occasions we asked for help we received a lecture instead of helpfull advice.
Room very outdated and poor maintenace levels.....leaking shower , backed up hand basins, toilet flushes till you press button several times to stop it , the security to balcony sliding dooor consisted of a steel bolt that you drop in at floor level.....dangerous to young children and unnecessary.
If as i understand the apartments we stayed in are owned by private investors then now is the time to STOP putting the money in your pocket and put some of it back into attaining the standards as advertised.
If the apartment we stayed in is perfectly acceptable to your organisation then i challenge you to show it in your facility pics and see how many takers you get.
We loved Surfers and the surrounding Gold Coast but would not come within a bulls roar of the Imperial again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. As we do not manage every apartment in the Resort it is not always possible for us to put parties travelling together on the same floor. I'm sorry that you thought, that when you asked for advice, you were given a lecture, when our Staff were only trying to help. The resort is working with the Owners in an ongoing program of updating many of our apartments, my apologies that we did not meet your expectations in this regard.
Regards
Margaret Merrilees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great location but plenty of others to pick from. Not told that pool, tennis, BBQ closed for painting in peak season. Foldout bed broken. Manager said it was against the rules to use it and all of them were broken anyway. Declined a portable bed for extra $35 x 7 nights. Co-booked with friends but security for owner occupiers stops access to other floors. Aussie staff friendliness? not even close.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Thank you for posting your feedback on-line following your stay with us. Unfortunately our outdoor pool and BBQ areas were only open after 4pm Monday to Friday and after 1pm Saturday and Sunday during the exterior of our Resort. Our Indoor pool and Spa pool were available for use all day. We do not advertise sofa beds and do not use any of these that may be in the apartments due to the condition of them. We do hire in beds from an outside company and there is a charge for these. Your booking was for 2 Adults in a 1 bedroom unit that is advertised with a Queen bed. In future should you require 2 beds I would advise you to book a share twin or a 2 bedroom unit.
Regards
Margaret Merrilees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Don't be fooled by the photos shown on the web, the hotel we stayed at looks a lot different...
I didn't mind the painting and renovating, because this hotel really needs it, but was dissapointed at having to stay off the balconies for some part of the stay....

First the good things, it is extremely spacious. There was 3 of us, but could have easily fit about 4 more people because there is heaps of couches...
And the views of the city and the ocean were amazing..and it was central to everything, so we didn't have to walk that far to catch the bus or to go out for dinner..

at first we couldnt stop talking about how spacious and amazing the place was..

BUT..... withing two days( we stayed 7 nights) of being there the handle on our bathroom door broke off, on both sides... so we had to use the other bathroom in case we got locked in... and we would have asked the staff to come and fix it, but we hardly spent the day at the hotel so we never bothered... and there were other things that were fallnig apart as well, including couches...
Then theres the staff who are extremely unhelpful... once i asked one of the receptionist how much it was for a ticket to movie world, thinking she would refer me to a brochure or give me any info on deals, her answer was "i dont know"... there were other incidences as well of the staff having no knowledge of where certain attractions or bus stops are located...

Anyway if you like great views and spacious apartments, and dont care about the little things, you prob would like this place...

Room Tip: mayhbe ask for a room where nothings falling apart:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadyas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding you recent stay with us.
We are regretful that the maintenance issues were not brought to our attention during your stay, but wish to advise that corrective action has since been taken. I'm disappointed to hear that you were not given the information that you required regarding Theme Parks and buses as our staff are only to willing to help you with purchasing your tickets for these.
We hope to welcome you back to BreakFree Imperial Surf on your next visit to the Gold Coast.
Regards
Margaret Merrilees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed for 10 days with my family. The first thing we noticed upon arrival was the temporary fencing around the hotel and paint flecks all over the ground. (They are currently repainting the outside of the building). We were then advised that the outdoor pool and BBQ area was closed Mon-Fri until 4pm and Saturdays until 1. On top of that the tennis court was closed and we were asked not to go on our balcony because of the painting. We were only advised of the current maintenance the day before arrival when we called to advise there would be one extra staying. We were unaware of the extent of the works and lack of facilities. No attempt had been made to communicate this to us. No real consolation or discount was offered to us which was very disappointing. The room itself was okay, relatively clean with what appeared to be new tiling, new kitchen and one of the two bathrooms had been renovated. The view of the ocean was great through the large window in the living room. We had one less for the last night, and attempted to return the additional fold out bed at 1pm for a refund and were advised we could not as the company that provide the beds had already been that day. Had the maintenance been finished and all facilities available my stay may have been more positive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictorKingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologise that in this instance we were unable to meet expectations. Due to the painting of the exterior of the Resort there were limited hours for the outdoor swimming pool and BBQ area, however the indoor pool and spa pool were available at all times. Unfortunately due to the fact that we have to hire in our fold out beds and these are delivered and picked up in the morning and you never informed us that you did not require yours until mid afternoon we were then unable to have these returned for a refund.
Once again thank you for your comments and we welcome you and your family to BreakFree Imperial Surf. on your next holiday on the Gold Coast.
Regards
Margaret Merrilees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Wings
Mantra Wings
#3 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
#22 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#13 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
1,716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#5 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
929 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#19 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Imperial Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Address: Imperial Surf 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $111 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laying claim to some of the best views on the Gold Coast, BreakFree Imperial Surf offers quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise overlooking the beach, all apartments have ocean views, some with sweeping panoramic vistas of the Gold Coast hinterland and surrounds. Perfect for a weekend getaway, mini-break or beachside family holiday, accommodation options include one and two bedroom apartments with large balconies, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, TV and security access. The resort offers a range of leisure facilities including a full-size tennis court, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, BBQ area and tour desk. Only a short walk will have you in Cavill Avenue where you can hit the shops or dine at one of the many cafes or restaurants. When the sun sets the Surfers Paradise nightlife takes over and all the nightclubs are only a short walk away. With the surf-patrolled beach directly opposite and the retail, dining and entertainment hub of the Gold Coast literally on the doorstop, the resort offers choice - whether you want to laze in the sun or party until the sun comes up. Maintenance Notice We are excited to announce BreakFree Imperial Surf will be undertaking an upgrade of the external balcony balustrades. This work is scheduled between from 20 April until 10 December 2015 and it will be carried out from 8am to 5pm Monday to Friday only. During this time there may be restricted access to the hotel entrance and limited access to some balconies. The tennis courts will be closed from 20 April until 15 October 2015. The outdoor pool will be closed from October 2015 until the end of the project, however the indoor pool will remain open from 7am until 9pm throughout this period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing