We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”
Review of Focus Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Focus Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We purchased Travelfactory's deal early last year (2012) - 5 Night Family Holiday Only $499 for a 2 Bedroom ,2 Bathroom Fully Self Contained Apartment (Focus Apartment). The apartment is huge, it's like a home away from home. The place is near shopping centres, restaurants and it's so close to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crezyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FocusAp, Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! We loved having you and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon! Our Apartments are very big - one of the perks of being an older building. The patrolled surf beach straight accross the road is another great perk! When you want to re-boook, please don't forget to tell us you are a return guest!
Thank you again for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 194 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We paid top price for 3B std apartment $255 a night, booking 2 months in advance and it's more expensive if u book early as when I check the room price before we go it's $210.We requested sea views and higher floors, management did not respond, so we assume we got what we asked for, on arrival we are given street views and rooms on 10 floor, when asked lady in reception told me sea view not available, I told her i am willing to pay extra for upgrade but she say all booked out and she said 10 floor is very high floor, considering they have 32 floors. At last we had to stay in this lousy place as all money is pre paid, beds are squeaky, door knobs fall off, blinds fall off, third bed room is make shift bed room with no doors but blinds to close, sofas are broken. Next door apartment looks much better Break Free Beach Point. I would not recommend this place to any one and do not book from their website and do not pay in advance, very dodgy place.

Room Tip: Do not book from their website, all pics from website are misleading, do not pay in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Upho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great location - restaurant, shopping, night clubs, beaches & theme parks.
Leah - The receptionist was very friendly, accommodating and was very helpful especially during the extreme weather conditions and was quick to organise another night's accommodation for our group of 7 people.
We would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Website is very misleading. Apartment was suppose to have a hairdryer - it did not... No locks on bathroom door, lucky there was a large gap under the door so you knew if someone wS in there with the light on. One of the bedrooms had 2 roller beds on a tiled floor, therefore the beds rolled around every night and the room was VERY small to have the 2 beds in there anyway. We stayed for 10 nights and the apartment was not serviced AT ALL... While this was close to the beach and the shops at Surfers Paradise, we would not stay there again considering we booked 12 months in advance we paid nearly full rate, although the same room rate was highly discounted on wotif.com. The apartment building also had 2 power outages in the first 4 days we were there, so staying on the 29th floor, you had to make sure you left for the day. There was one air con in the lounge/dining area, bedrooms got hot and muggy and therefore the air con needed to be left on to get some form of relief from the heat. Many of the windows whistled with the winds and the doors were hard to close.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the WORST place I've ever stayed at away from home. We hired out 3 apartments and all were absolutely filthy! We killed 15 large cockroaches in just one apartment in 5 days! We complained to management and they sent a guy to spray to place, twice, but still more and more cockroaches! When i opened the cabinet to get a plate to hace dinner, a 5cm cockroach was hiding in between the plates and got away through one of the many cracks in the room. Also we ordered a room with air con but instead were given 2 antique rusted fans that wouldn't work! People seriously do NOT stay at this place. All management would say is "There's nothing we can do about it and we have no spare rooms left." Ansolute disgrace!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khaled E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Spent time there over the peak season. Management was really helpful as were the staff. Our stay was fantastic with great views and a really great apartment for our family. Highly recommend it. Location right on the beach was excellent and it was an easy walk into the centre of Surfers. Perfect location for teenage children.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

There is incredible views from where i stayed at spanning across the beach, it was beautiful, the rooms were quite nice but not what i expected at all, the spa area is very tiny and the gym was tiny as well. Overall though the people there are very nice and will help you out when you need it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deej123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#36 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartm...
#1 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olympus Apartments
Olympus Apartments
#60 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#8 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
#63 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
#23 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focus Apartments

Address: Focus Apartments 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $152 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Focus Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focus Apartments is situated at 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise - we're the round, 32 storey, white building that's right opposite the beach. We are within easy walking distance of Cavill Avenue - the hub of Surfers Paradise. With convenient underground parking and intercom security access, Focus welcomes you to the Gold Coast, 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Focus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focus Apartments Surfers Paradise
Focus Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing