We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great stay, highly recommend”
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of January, and found it to be completely pleasant with no problems at all.

General: Staff were friendly, hotel was spotless, both pools were great and very clean.

Room: Stayed in a 'deluxe' room which is supposed to be 5 star. Whilst room was fine, clean, housekeepers replenished everything daily, it was very small for a deluxe room (I'm assuming their superior & standard rooms must be the same size), so wasn't quite sure what exactly we were paying deluxe prices for. However we had an ocean-facing room which was fantastic and the deluxe rooms are higher up (floors 14 and above I think) so you do get a better view.

Food: average room service but fantastic buffet breakfast. Chefs were incredibly friendly and made the best omelettes! We had to leave early the final morning and the buffet wasn't open, so staff ensured we had a breakfast box at reception when we checked out. Very efficient.

Location: Was worried about this from other reviews, but we loved the location. Less than 5min walk to beach, take out & cafes everywhere, maybe 10mins to cavill ave which is a really easy walk.

Transport: highly recommend the Gold Coast shuttle freedom pass for airport returns & theme park transfers.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneyc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    636
    236
    70
    51
See reviews for
342
569
75
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The hotel looked abit out dated,had the ocean view room which was nice. The only thing negative about the duluxe room Room was its soooo tiny, it could only fit that big Kings Size bed and thats it. Its very very very clean and you get your own pool towel and slippers and pillow menues. we had housekeeping everyday they come and clean the room which was great.
service was fine staffs were average, didnt get an *Exciting welcoming* . walking distance is fine to Caville Mall its quite far to come and think of it, if your a lazy walker like me.
Overall the hotel is fine its more of a 4 star not a 5 star hotel.... Dont be fulled by the photo's you see on teh website... its an Ok hotel...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missY011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

A nice hotel with decent facilities. We were upgraded from a standard to a club room as we were on honeymoon which was nice of them. Nice room, huge bed, sea view restricted by the Q-Deck building though. Plasma tv, good location. The hotel is nice if you really want to stay in Surfer's Paradise although I would recommend passing surfers paradise and heading to Byron Bay instead.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icedaddyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I stayed for a night and had seafood buffet at Watermark hotel in gold coast. I got a food poisoning from the oyster. It was pretty severe and I had to go to the emergency. I didn't have much on the day and I know for sure it was the oyster. However, because there was no evidence that it was THEIR oyster, they didnt' reimburse any of the costs such as cab fare, accomodation, restaurant...etc. We hardly had any sleep over night, but they didn't care to give us any extra hours. We couldn't prove it, because we went to the hospital around 3am and didn't get to be treated till 4am. I started vomitting around 12am, of course everything was gone.

I couldn't believe how poor their hospitaliy was.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chikita78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Excellent service from arrival. We had an ocean view room on 18th floor. Room was spacious and clean. Only negative with the room was the safe provided in the wardrobe, it required an additional charge to be used. Odd, considering other hotels only require you to set your own PIN to use them. All staff, especially those in the Club Lounge were very engaging and helpful.
Hotel location is great, walking distance to most Surfers Paradise attractions, restaurants, bars etc.
Positive experience overall. Would stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TakeMeAway031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We got a great deal with flight centre and stayed on the 20th floor with a river view and breakfast included. We cant say enough about this hotel,it was great. The staff were helpful the food was great and its walking distance to most of your shopping and beach.
I would recommend this place to couples looking for a bit of down time it was very relaxing and the bed was very cosy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonfly002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Oz
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Nice welcome at front reception, smooth check in, when asked about parking the concierge said we could park under and take our bags up the lift to our room which was fine with us since we only had hand luggage. Parking is a very reasonable $5 per day. Our room was a "special" at reduced rate so didn't know what to expect but it was quite nice, with two double beds with reasonable comfort factor, very soft squishy pillows but if we had wanted there were about 10 other pillow options available. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean with a nice plasma tv and small minibar. The inroom safe was only useable if you paid at reception and obtained a swipe card - cost unknown as we didn't use this facility. There was no outside balcony which was the only drawback for us. The swimming pool area was also spotless and a bonus was two beach towels supplied in the room for use at the pool (nice not to have to take wet towels home). There was no shade whatsoever in the pool area, which also had a small (very busy) spa. We didn't eat at the hotel, breakfast is $29 AUD pp and there are so many other options locally for much cheaper. Cavill Mall and multiple shops and Surfers Paradise beachfront and all it's atmosphere are only about a 5 minute walk up the road.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztripperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
385 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Property: Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing