We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Besides from the initial mistake of having our booking wrong the stay at the hotel was lovely. We stayed in a deluxe room (1709) which I recommend as it has a good view of surfers. The location was great. Just a 5 minute walk to Cavill mall and an even closer walk to Surfers beach.

We did not dine at the restaurant as there are many other cheaper choices within walking distance but from what I could see the food and the buffet always looked and smelt good. Our room was serviced daily. The choice of the two pools was also great (level 2 and level 3).

The wifi is perhaps a bit pricey with $25 for 3 days but you can pay an upgrade to the W lounge for $55 to include this as far as I am aware.

Overall throughly enjoyed the stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your review. We’re very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that we have a great location- just a block to the beach and a short stroll to the centre of Surfers Paradise. Our Deluxe Rooms often receive great feedback as they feature Comfort Plus bedding, pillow menu for the fussiest of sleepers and slippers and robes to use during your stay. The rooms are also on higher floors of the hotel which gives a great outlook. We apologise for the mistake with the booking but glad it didn’t hinder your overall experience. We’re pleased you enjoyed our facilities including our two pools on level 1 and 2. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
There are newer reviews for Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Overall a good location and Hotel. Don't really see what's so superior about the superior rooms. Felt the team at the hotel could be more helpful. However we enjoyed our stay and my partner loved the in house spa.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnaallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thanks for your review. Our location is one of the main reasons guests choose to stay with us, as we’re only a block away from the beach and a short stroll to the heart of Surfers Paradise. The Superior Rooms are our entry level rooms and we also have Deluxe Rooms and Suites available. Perhaps you’d like to upgrade on your next stay? We’re glad your partner loved the experience at L’Aqua Day Spa. We recommend the Signature Hot Stone Massage. It’s divine! Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again should you choose to stay with us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Please keep in mind that I was staying at the Wyndham across the road from the Watermark but I wanted to stay another night and the Wyndham was booked out. So I took the Watermark for one night. This is pretty much a direct comparison as they are both similar price. I was paying $189 per night including parking for the Wyndham and $165 + $15 parking for the Watermark. Please read my view of the Wyndham to see my thoughts there.

Firstly - $15 per night parking? Are you mad Watermark?

The room was clean. It was also small and cramped. The walls were paper thin. I could literally hear the people next door flush their toilets. Speaking of toilets, ours were constantly running and smelt in the morning. The shower is part of the bath, not it's own facility.

Reception was friendly. I was checked in and given my swipe card for parking. But it didn't work. So i'm sitting there trying to swipe in and looking like an idiot. I had to reverse out and speak to the valet person and he used his own key to swipe me in. This was a constant issue in my stay. While the parking didn't work at all, the room and elevator swipe took continuous tries to work. I noticed that other people were having the same problem.

There really isn't much else to say. It was "okay." I was just wasn't impressed compared to the hotel across the road I was staying at.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VippiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. Firstly, we’re glad we were able to accommodate you at such short notice and that you found our staff to be friendly- we often receive such positive feedback on our team. For any issues during your stay, we are here to help and if we were made aware of the toilet running we could have found a solution for you - we apologise for this occurrence. We note that you were surprised by the fee charged for car parking. We’d just like to point out that our rate is comparable with other hotels in the area, and we choose not to bundle this cost into the accommodation rate as a fairness to guests without cars. It’s disappointing that you described your experience with us as ‘OK’ as we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. The Watermark would love to host you again should you chose to stay on the Gold Coast, and try to improve that ‘OK’ to a ‘Great’ next time around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Watermark Hotel in a Club King room (with W lounge), and were quite happy with the service. The room felt a little old (especially the bathroom decor) and had a smell of bleach when we first went in, but it was very clean, tidy and well equipped.

The W lounge was well worth getting, the free wifi worked well (only through phones/tablets though, not through laptops, but you can use some apps to connect through your phone onto the wifi). The complimentary continental breakfast was quite good (the service we got from Ann was superb), and there was plenty of tea/coffee, toast, fruit, smoked salmon, ham and yoghurt. The complimentary evening canapes were also surprisingly good (oysters, chicken skewers, mini chicken salad, pumpkin pastries etc), with different food for each night we stayed. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

The only problem was that the construction of the Gold Coast Light Rail right next to the hotel meant that one of the roads was closed to traffic a couple of times during our stay, forcing us to take some long detours to get to where we wanted to go. Construction for that 'should' finish after June 2014, so transport will become a lot better after then.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us. You’re right; the W Lounge upgrade is great value for money and we’re glad you made use of the inclusions such as free WiFi and car parking, all-day refreshments, evening drinks and canapés, continental breakfast and lounge access for just $55 per room. It appears that your room may have just been cleaned before you entered which is why you noticed a smell of cleaning products – at the Watermark we pride ourselves on industry leading cleanliness. As you mentioned, the light rail construction is coming to completion and we’re very excited to have the Surfers Paradise station right on our doorstep. It’s going to make travel around the Gold Coast very convenient for our guests and locals alike. Thanks again for your review and we hope to host you at Watermark Hotel & Spa again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The room was $179 and even though that is a decent price, that's the only thing I can be positive about. When checking in, I was greeted by a somber-looking receptionist who seemed like he had better things to do than to be there, and was quite rude to us. When booking the room online I asked for a room away from the lift as my partner and I are light sleepers, yet we were given a room right in front of the lifts. And when we checked in we were given a room with two beds, and also a sofa bed?? We did not state anything of the sort on our booking and were disappointed with the fact that there was little attention paid to our requests on our booking. We both work in hotels and understand what is required, and are very disappointed with our experience. After a crappy sleep from busy partygoers being too loud outside the lifts (the main reason we wanted a room far away from it), we checked out and were charged extra for valet parking, which we didn't ask for. We were also told we weren't able to use any of the restaurants, so our dinner plans were basically ruined as well. All in all, a disappointing experience and we wont be coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take feedback such as yours seriously and use it as an opportunity to improve. It seems you found the hotel to be great value but we didn’t exceed your expectations during your stay. Your comments on our reception staff are definitely worth noting as we often receive terrific comments about them so will pass your feedback on. We strive to honour all requests and preferences but it appears this was not possible in your case, and for this, we sincerely apologise. We’re disappointed to hear that you would not visit us again but we’d appreciate the opportunity to redeem ourselves should you change your mind? Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

So I'm still sitting in the lobby as I write this first and foremost our room was more than I expected. running on a tight budget with 2kids being our first holiday I found the room new and bright good bedding and comfortable.
Pool was fantastic for my kids loved it (apart from some tourists coughing up phelm after each lap right in front of everyone I was horrified dirty buggers!!
The bathroom is a little old and gloomy and not matching the rest of the room with freshness. Water pressure was great and temperature was awesome.

The staff replenished our towels and extras daily this was great.

Close to cavil and bus stop

Cons: having being to a third world country that supply wifi free of charge. I refuse to pay for it I think that free wifi is a big thing me personally I have gone over my internet plan while staying here using the net searching for activities and making bookings.
We didn't eat at the restaurant downstairs as it is too expensive.


All in all Thanks so much

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. We’re glad to hear you found the hotel to be suitable for your family and enjoyed the comfort of the bed and freshness of the room. We have two pools on site so hopefully you were able to use both of these - the western pool is lovely at sunset! We offer WiFi at a cost of $10 for 24 hours which is very competitive with other hotels in the area. We’d like to let you know that our concierge team is here to help you make any bookings for activities, and you can purchase tickets within the hotel for theme parks, cruises and more. Thanks again for your review and we wish to welcome you back to Watermark one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The staff always go over and above for us every time we stay, except for the spa staff. Was really happy with the introduction of the W Lounge and believe it is a must whenever you stay. Love that there are 2 pools and a great place to hold a function or wedding. The only downside is that you have to pay for parking when you stay should be something that should be included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the W Lounge!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincents_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

It appears that you have stayed with us before so thank you for choosing the Watermark once again! The W Lounge upgrade is often regarded as great value and we couldn’t agree more. For just $55 per room, you can enjoy all day refreshments, evening drinks and canapés, WiFi and free car parking. We’re really pleased to see that our staff went above and beyond for you. However, we’re disappointed you found our day spa staff did not meet your expectations, and for this, we apologise. With regards to car parking, as a fairness to other guests without a vehicle, we choose to keep this fee separate from the room cost. But as you took advantage of the W Lounge upgrade, car parking would have been included free for you. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,653 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,402 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $100 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing