We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Great hotel in a really good location. Only 2 blocks from the heart of surfers paradise. As soon as we walked into the hotel we got impeccable service….thanks to Michael. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and definitely come back. I don't think you would be treated as well as we have been at any of those 5 star hotels nearby. It has made our holiday staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbarooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,602)
There are newer reviews for Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four days prior to Christmas and our experience was great. We arrived early and on check in we were upgraded without even having to ask. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the views - magnificent. Waking up to ocean views was a treat. Didn't eat at the restaurants, so unable to comment. Great location. Service overall was great.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crushcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Im a local and have stayed here before all was well but the new king superior rooms are for sure a bonus. The place has a nice feel...everything you want and need...buffet restaurant is good quality and value. Beach a block away as is the main part of Surfers Paradise if you want to go out in evenings...Casino not to far away. Enjoyed my stay here and find it better than some of the more overpriced hotels.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TeamDayvBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked five days for our vacation in Gold Coast. When we got to the room, there is a very strong smell of Formaldehyde in the corridor and the room. We called reception and asked for room changing. The manager on duty, James, showed up and said they were fully booked in the coming two days, but he'll change it for us on the third day.

Fine, it's peak season. We understood. We then approached the front desk on the third day morning, the guy there said he never heard anything about that from James, and asked us to come back in the afternoon, saying room will assign after 3pm. We did it after 3 pm, and was told by James that it was full again.

Liars! Won't recommend anyone to stay in this hotel, for the extremely poor service and the attitude, and most importantly, for your health.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Shanheng Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

A great hotel in a goof location and certainly not lacking in amenities. Staff were courteous and friendly and our room was very nice. The bathroom was a bit small for my liking and the shower head was one of those terrible "Water saver" types that you have to run about in to get wet. The room was obviously recently renovated so carpets and fittings were new and modern. The king size bed was comfortable and the pillow selection abundant. My only gripes are having to pay for parking - the facilities are there already & have been since the hotel was built - charging $15 per night is just plain gouging the customer, as id expecting guests to pay for wifi. We have traveled extensively, all over the world, and even the nastiest flea pit in the USA or Europe offers free wifi. Hotels in Australia need to get with thew program. There was some "Upgrade package" offered where parking, wifi and a buffet breakfast was available but this wasnt presented to us as an option on check-in and we only saw it on an add panel in one of the lifts the morning of our check out. The breakfast specials were also frustrating - why have a full buffet at a cheaper price than the continental - very poor marketing. Would stay here again but only if we can't source a hotel with both free parking and wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Upgrade" package to get free wifi and parking, with a very cheap breakfast as...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigpetesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have visited this hotel many times over the years and had another stay recently.

The rooms are always clean, the hotel has good facilities and the staff are always wonderfully friendly which creates a warm atmosphere. It is also located in a good position within easy walking distance to all the action in Surfers but far enough away that you don't here all the noise.

We love it here and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bree_La_Marca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your terrific feedback. We are so pleased to see loyal guests like yourselves returning year after year and thrilled to see you appreciate our rooms, facilities and staff. And yes, a lot of guests comment that we are in a good spot away from the hustle & bustle, but just a short walk from all the action in Surfers Paradise. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

stayed for 1 night. Average room, very clean, comfortable king size bed. But it is about what you would expect to get for the money I paid. No Balcony detracts from overall comfort. Short walk to main entertainment area.I think that the car park cost should be included in tariff if required. The check in Lass was very professional, but did not point out that if the car park is full it can be parked by the valet in reserved spaces. which would have avoided the cursing i done ( not to any staff ), after i had paid the parking tariff and couldnt find a parking spot. But overall very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to see you appreciated the cleanliness of the room and comfort of the bed. We apologise that you were not made aware of our valet services. It is certainly worthwhile at an extra $20 per day. However, please be aware that our car parking charges are comparable with other hotels in the area (as parking is very limited in Surfers Paradise). We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,407 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $101 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing