We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Check in - we're a family of 2 Adults travelling with 2 young kids from Singapore. As we arrived very early in the morning, I requested upon booking for early check-in which I was told was not guaranteed. Clearing customs took a while and also time to sort out the formalities for car rental, we arrived at the hotel about 10-ish only to be told that our room was not ready. Slightly disappointed but since the kids are sleeping well in the car (tired out from their first ever overnight flight), I was able to use the time to do some grocery shopping at the supermarket. Requested for a room with a view of the ocean but again disappointed when I was told that none was available.

Rooms - we had a deluxe room on the 17th floor facing Chevron Island. The view was OK and it would be awesome if we could wake up with a view of the ocean. Room size was rather tight but manageable. There was hardly any space for me to work since the TV took most of the space which also acts as a computer and dressing table. A small round table became my workstation cum snack area cum utility table. The double beds are OK since we're of smaller frame and sharing each with a young kid. Amenities are sufficient and we can easily get any shortfall from the supermarket. The bathroom is a bit outdated but acceptable. Brightly lighted is a plus to me as compared to the dark dull poor lit bathrooms in some 5-star hotels. The bathroom had glass doors (presumably to replace shower curtains which is flumsy) but it really restricts movement going in and out of the bathtub. Towels were replaced daily and clean.

Parking - daily rates @ $15/- seemed high in my opinion based on my understanding of local conditions but hey, it is cheaper than where I came from. However, it is rather cumbersome having to have to buzz in everytime I enter the carpark, explaining that I'm a guest in the hotel, my room number and that I've paid for parking. An automated entry card would make more sense. Car lots are rather small and in some parts, almost pitch dark. So, strongly recommend more lightling. I like the fact that we were able to access our room direct from the one lift rather than having to change lift at Ground level.

Location - amenities and food are plentiful nearby. The light rail construction just outside the hotel did cause some inconvenience, both as a driver and as a pedestrian, since some roads have been blocked off. And being schoolies week, the roads nearer to Cavill Ave was closed to traffic after 6pm which made accessing the supermarkets there by car impossible. Will avoid this period at all costs in future.

Blackout - there was a blackout when we returned in the evening of 17 Nov. I was told that this was very rare but it certainly wasn't pleasant with very little light in the room, no aircon nor TV. Cannot shower as the bathroom was pitch dark. And there was no torchlight in the room. I strongly suggest one after this. The staff could not help much. Thankfully, power was restored I think after 10pm. We saw 2 fire engines at the front lobby, so I believe that there might be a fire in the generator floor. A letter from the hotel to all guests to explain what really happened would be appreciated but was never done, as if no inconveniences was caused.

Breakfast - only meal we had in the hotel was one breakfast buffet. Choices are limited at the Wave Restaurant but not much issue since we're not big nor fussy eaters. Plenty of better choices nearby hotel within walking distance.

Overall, it was a pleasant 6-night stay. We're generally easy-going people and being on vacation, we did not want to allow these small hiccups to spoil our moods. Staff was generally friendly and helpful which is a plus. The hotel could have done more to make themselves more family friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomtec70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,357 - 1,363 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Purchased off Wotif.com as a 5 star mystery deal (Luxury High Room). Defiantly not 5 star quality. There was mold and broken fixtures. There was also a massive puddle of water outside our room on the 19th floor. Windows and bathroom was filthy. Parking was horrifically tight and expensive. The only real good thing about this hotel was the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrades because even luxury high rooms are not that great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ammonpearce11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the guest service, but your comments have been discussed internally as the room issues are not acceptable. Please be aware that our parking spaces and charges are comparable with other hotels in the area. We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were there during the V8 car racing. And monorail construction.
So the hotel was crowded. We had a good deal by paying the superior rate but get the deluxe room. The package came with Wave restaurant voucher and Spa voucher. The receptionist forgot to give it to us. So we has to ask for it twice for each of them. Wave restaurant is a buffet. So let s say you have a got $50 towards the night, the buffet is $55 per person. So if it s 2 of you, then you will end up paying for $60 at least for the dinner. The food was good enough. Nothing to complain. We paid for breakfast, nice and fresh food, good selection, quite pricey though.
The hotel is in central location. Easy to walk to any where you need. Near bus stop. The shuttle bus will pick you up in front of the hotel as it has its own bay. Very convenience.

The bed room is in a good condition. The bathroom has a bath tub over shower. It was quite old.
They give quite a few condiments in the bathroom, which was good.
Room was clean enough.
Has 2 swimming pools, on east and west.

The overall experience was good.

Room Tip: Deluxe is probably the most reccomend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherAdmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and happy to see you appreciated the upgrade. The Deluxe rooms do add a little luxury with comfort plus beds, pillow menus, bathrobes and slippers. We apologise that you had to ask reception for the vouchers, but are glad to see you were happy with Waves Buffet breakfast and dinner. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

It has a good location which is only 5mins to the beach, and in the central of the busy area, full aound with foods. The room was not as good as the photos, the one we got was quite old.
The seafood buffet was good downstairs, pricey, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cqaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments on our location, room and seafood buffet. We are pleased you enjoyed the location and hope you were able to take advantage of being so close to the beach and centre of Surfers Paradise. Two thirds of the hotel rooms have been refurbished so it sounds like you stayed in one of the other rooms. We recommend that you request a new one on your next stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel has a central location, it's only a short walk to the beach and main shops.
On the downside a tram line is being installed nearby which effects the demeanour of the area.
There is car parking available at the hotel at $15 dollars a night which I find cheeky.

The rooms are genouroisly sized with a comfy king sized bed and your choice of pillows.
The rooms are well equipped and we had a nice view of the water, however I feel the hotel could do with some modernisation specifically in the bathrooms.

Overall we did enjoy our stay and the hotel proved good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonesyAndCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed the location, the rooms and our comfy beds! Yes, there has been a bit of pain with the tram line installation. However, work has stopped for the next couple of months and we are very excited about having it in the near future as a convenient future transportation option for all our guests. Please be aware that parking charges are comparable with other hotels in the areas (unfortunately parking space is very limited in Surfers Paradise). It’s great to read that you found us to be good value and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I spent my last Christmas in Surfers Paradise and had an incredibly wonderful time there.
We were put to this hotel by travel agency,and had very little info about this hotel before we set foot there.
The hotel seems nice and quiet,very comfy as well.
Strategically located near the oh-so-famous Surfers Paradise with merely walking distance,which makes it a plus point.
Breakfast was delightful.
We had an early check out to catch our flight on our last day.They even made us take-away breakfast that packed in a box.Lovely!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunset_Limited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

What a fantastic review! We are so glad you were able to spend Christmas with us last year and that you found the hotel comfortable, well located and enjoyed the buffet breakfast! We’d love to show you our latest refurbished rooms and look forward to showing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I wouldn't stay at this hotel again for the following reasons:

The rooms are very small
There are no balconies. If you ask me, a balcony is a must when vacationing on the Gold Coast.
The so-called "renovated" rooms only come with 2 twin-sized beds.
Only the rooms are renovated, the bathrooms only got a quick fix and a paint job, and still reek of the 1990s.
The hotel caters to tour groups that arrive by bus loads.
Parking is $15/day.
Our "renovated"' room had the most ancient rusted safe I have ever seen!

The location is ok, the lobby is nice, and the hallways and car park are clean.

While this hotel may be ok for a quick one night stay, there are better spots on the Gold Coast for spending a vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tor2008_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please note, that our recently refurbished rooms are actually available in Twin or King configurations and most of these rooms have had their bathrooms renovated. New safes have also been ordered for the rooms – we are just waiting for them to arrive. We’re glad you enjoyed our lobby and cleanliness of the hotel and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,718 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $104 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing