We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Fantastic Staff and Perfect Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Room, Fantastic Staff and Perfect Venue”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We recently ran a week long event in this hotel. I was incredibly impressed with all the staff, they were amazing...so helpful - going above and beyond so many times without being asked. The rooms were well serviced and the amenities were fantastic. The views for all our attendees were breathtaking...They were in refurbished rooms that were just stunning. Our event went smoothly and all my attendees loved it! Everything including our graduation party was perfect from beginning to end...food daily was amazing and the bar was great - we had so much fun at this venue. CAN NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL HIGHLY ENOUGH!

Room Tip: Get the refurbished rooms - they are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKayPinkLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for such fabulous feedback. We are really proud of our new rooms and it’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed the function, food and our sports bar. We hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    660
    247
    75
    55
See reviews for
360
600
83
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Goondiwindi
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay and friendly helpful staff. Nice bar and gaming area. Good food and the room was clean. Very comfortable bed. Had a fantastic full body massage at the day spa. Close to the beach and shops. Will stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestogo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and 5/5 for rating. We are really delighted to see you enjoyed L’Aqua Day Spa, our sports bar, the room and our location in the heart of Surfers Paradise. We will pass on the feedback around and look forward to seeing you at the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Problems are abundant, but believe it or not it isn't the worst place I have stayed. Check-in was fast and courteous without a single hassle. Parking is extra at $15 a night.

The hallways of the hotel are looking old and tired, but surprisingly the old ends there. The rooms are well kept, with only the choice of carpet lending to the idea a renovation was recent. The bed was extremely comfy and I enjoyed one of the best in room dining burgers of all time. Just don't order the bread and butter pudding. On the downside, there was hair in the bathroom sink, water leaking out of cracks in the tiles in the shower, TV and Wifi not working and wet carpet on one side of the room, but keep in mind these are all related to just one room. Still housekeeping could be more vigilant.

Breakfast..... Where to start with this oddity... The main thing that annoyed me was the hotel guide telling me breakfast ended at 9am. Early right? Get to the restaurant and the sign says 10.30... I don't need to be anywhere until 2pm, so a sleep in and lazy morning would have been nice. Breakfast itself can only be summed up as chaotic. Understaffed, the poor guy trying to run the show looked like a flustered Mr Humphries. There were no clean tables, but I was lucky enough to find one free of cups and plates. There were no cutlery or cups, but in their hectic routine they did manage to stop and find me some. Even a napkin, bless! The spread of food seems average. I don't see any scramble or eggs in the 'scrambled eggs' thought... Not sure what that was! I would have rated breakfast average overall, but they got another star for going out of their way just for me.

Overall an average place to stay, a super comfy bed and a perfect in-the-heart location.

I'll sign off with one last note: who ever was responsible for the select of staff uniforms... I have never seen a more unpractical uniform at any of the hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank munkie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Yes, we have had some major refurbishments happening on some floors in the hallways and rooms and are happy to say that in one week it will all be complete. We are very excited about showing it all off to our guests. Great to see that you enjoyed the bed and burger from in-room dining, but please rest assured your comments regarding the bathroom and TV have been passed on to housekeeping and engineering departments for investigation. We note that breakfast must have been very busy on the morning you dined, but are pleased our team were able to go above and beyond to look after you. Regarding team uniforms, we would like you to know this is being addressed and are excited to report that a new look will be introduced early next year. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Check in quick and trouble free. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location in close proximity to cavil ave. clean, well maintained Rooms. Great views of surfers paradise beach from sea view rooms. Delicious breakfast but way over priced. We paid $35 each when you can go to cavil ave and get the same quality breakfast for $10.00. Pay for parking. Other hotels included in price or at a much cheaper rate. Fantastic pool/games rooms. All in all, a wonderful stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Teniele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled to see you had a wonderful stay and have noted your comments about the friendly staff, rooms, views, facilities and buffet breakfast. Due to our location, there is a charge of $15 for secure, undercover car parking but please note this is competitive with other hotels in the area. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a great long weekend at the Watermark for the V8's. Close enough to walk but far enough away not to hear all the noise. We choose the Club W package which was great, with a delicious continental breakfast with a great assortment of food and if you needed something extra you could pay for cooked breakfast. The Free Canapes and drinks from 6 - 7.30pm was fantastic. The rooms were typical for this standard of hotel with a really comfy bed and pillows. The staff were very attentive and friendly especially the girls at the W Lounge. We had a couple of issues on check-in and out but everything was sorted very quickly and efficiently
We would definetly recommend the Watermark for value and comfort

Room Tip: If you pay the extra for Club W you get a room on the 19 & 20th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomCat073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. The W Lounge upgrade is very popular and it’s fantastic to see you enjoyed the included breakfast and evening canapés and drinks. We also see that you were very satisfied with the comfort of the bed, location and service. We hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This Hotel is in the heart of everything.
It's not a "wow 5* hotel" but it doesn't charge wow 5* Hotel prices, so if you want a reasonable value, very clean and smart hotel in a central location, this hotel should be on your list.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are proud to be in the 4.5 star hotel bracket and provide a hotel with a great location and value for money. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Right in the center of Sufers Paradise and all the shopping, you can't complain. This hotel also has pokies and a bar on the ground floor which is very convenient. Buffet breakfast was included in the price and good for what it was. The new rooms are very modern, quite small, but you don't spend much time in them anyway as we were out wondering around all day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyHaeIrwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for wonderful kind review and for highly recommending us. It’s great to see you had the opportunity to try out our Waves Buffet Restaurant and sports bar and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,641 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Property: Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing