We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$118
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$548
$154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chateau Beachside(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$78
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$254
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Mantra on View Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$151
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Sun City(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$147
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Q1 Resort and Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$215
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
QT Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$167
$131
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
$397
$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,084)
Filter reviews
2,086 results
Traveler rating
739
858
316
100
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
858
316
100
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaves restauranttram stopbuffet restaurantgold coastdeluxe roomper daylight railcentral locationwould stay againcar parkacross the roadcavill avesurfer's paradiseocean viewwalruspoolssurfers
Filter
Updating list...
1,558 - 1,563 of 2,086 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my family. The view from my room was amazing and it's very close to the beach, The only downside is that the room could have been bigger and more spacious. Otherwise, everything was great and I'd stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We agree that the hotel is very well located and it’s great being just a short stroll to the heart of Surfers Paradise and a block from the beach. We are sorry that our rooms were not as spacious as you had hoped but would like to let you know that we do have larger suites available if you’d like to consider one of them for your next stay. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I booked a Spa suite but upgraded into the Chairmans Suite which was excellent. It has a great full size spa with an out door entertaining area, and lounge area, with wet bar.
IF you are going to have some friends up and a few drinks, or entertain the wife/girlfriend, this room is a winner!

The Club Lounge, or W Lounge is not worth it for the food. Unlike other lounges in hotels where you get canapé's and evening drinks, this lounge only catered on small plate of hot food per person. You did not have access to the food and you only had one plate per person. When I got my plate it was cold and tasted like yesterdays food, so it wasn't the best at all !
The beers were cold and refreshing and a good start to the night, but that's about all.

Breakfast in the W Lounge is just cereal and toast, nothing special. I wouldn't upgrade or pay extra for the lounge, as im sure you can get better food for less of a price on the street somewhere at a nice café.

Overall the hotel was nice, front staff were friendly and concierge were helpful. There is a lot of road works happening at the moment so it can be a little noisy at times.

Room Tip: Choose a suite room for a spacious and comfortable room that you will enjoy!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzTravels80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We obviously hit the mark on most things during your stay including the luxurious Chairman’s Suite, but are sorry to see that you were disappointed with the W Lounge. We usually receive fantastic comments about how great it is with a continental breakfast for 2, car parking, late checkout, all day refreshments and evening canapés and drinks for just $55. We will, of course, pass your feedback on and look into the canapés for you. We are, however very pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful as customer service is of the highest priority at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at Watermark for 2 nights while on Gold Coast for business. First thing is that the hotel has undergone a partial renovation and you have to make sure you are getting a renovated room. A colleague was originally put in a unrenovated room and it was dirty, mouldy and generally unpleasant. After getting moved to a renovated room all was good however.

I was in a twin due to it being busy period and booked hotel late. This made room a bit small due to 2 beds in room but still comfortable. The renovation has been done very well and once all rooms are complete it will definately help the hotel. Only significant negative for rooms is that while there is no noise transfer from adjacent rooms you hear a lot of noise from corridor outside room. If you are a light sleeper this could be a problem given the large number of kids and teenagers staying in hotel at various times.

Gym in hotel is basic but good enough if you're looking to get in a bit of a light workout.

My room rate came with breakfast included. Fairly typical hotel buffet breakfast really. If you get it included fine but I wouldn't pay extra for it, save your money and go to a local cafe or coffee shop and buy a decent breakfast for less money.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for renovated room - Unrenovated are dirty and not value for money
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. The hotel has undergone a partial renovation and we are very excited to see that you were happy with our renovated rooms. By next month, all of our Superior rooms (which make up two thirds of the hotel) will be complete. Great to see you had the chance to experience the gym and buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Watermark for three nights and on one of those nights had a babysitter from Rockmybaby Nanny and Babysitting Agency come and stay with the kids. It was great as it meant we could explore the city. Its great that the hotel could recommend them to us and it made our stay complete. The family room was comfortable with great views and close to everything. Only downside when we were there was all the road works for the motor race at the end of the month! Bad timing with school holidays. Kids loved the pool and the spa and want to come back again.

Room Tip: Ocean view is always a bonus and its the one to go for
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. We are delighted to read that you and your children enjoyed the room, pools and spas and hopefully they had the chance to check out our games room too! Our concierge are always happy to recommend outside services and activities on the Gold Coast and we’re thrilled to see you were more than satisfied with our babysitting agency. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and was given an ocean view deluxe room. Room was spacious, view was magnificent but small issues were the bathroom not very clean (couple of hairs found in the bathtub) and also there was old water inside the kettle which is not very pleasant. The things that impressed me the most is the quality of the buffet breakfast and seafood dinner. The foods were yummy, fresh, worth money spent. Staffs were okay. Nothing special can be said as some of the staffs we encountered have this expression that "they don't want to be there working." However, we did enjoyed our stay at the hotel and should we decided to come back, we will definitely be considering to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Miss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed the rooms and our Waves seafood buffet. Your comments about housekeeping and our staff have been passed on to the relevant departments to follow up and we would like to assure you they are certainly not to our usual standard. We apologise and hope to outshine this stay next time you return to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews