We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but not sure on location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel very clean friendly helpful staff, fitness centre a bit to small, 2 nice pools, laundry facilities. Short stroll from the beach and bars, restaurants.
Surfers paradise is great if you want to party but if not I would go further afield.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weeksey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,602)
There are newer reviews for Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

The watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise is in a good location. Central to shops, cafes and just a short walk to the RSL and shopping centres. It is quiet at night. It has two pools, and spa's. The staff are very friendly. The rooms were nice, only thing beds were un comfortable. Over all i would stay there again. Its a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelS_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and would like to let you know that we had a fresh round of new beds delivered this week. We hope you will have the chance to try one of them out on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is in a good location, only a five minute walk to the main street. It is well kept and has 2 swimming pools. We did not eat in the hotel so we cannot comment on its restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galway-Mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stay there for two nights and the watermark hotel can't possibility be a four stars hotel. The room looks clean but I can see hair inside the closet. The table and the tv stand look very old and worn out. The worst is the urine smell by the hallway on my floor near the elevators. I can also see some body's shoes in the hallway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Guest feedback is very important to us and we are disappointed to read about the cleaning issues you experienced. If we had been informed we would have asked housekeeping to address them immediately. We apologise for the inconvenience and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last week. We booked the double room since it was cheaper. The beds were huge anyway and can fit two people each. Our room was spacious and had a huge window overlooking the Surfers Paradise. The room was always clean and we even had the chance to meet the nice cleaning lady. The staff are nice though some are trainees. The location was an advantage as it was right next to the bus stops to Nerang Station and to the theme parks. It was quite a walk to Cavill but it was still ok as the hotel was far from the noise. My husband loved the fact that it was right next to Pancakes in Paradise. Overall, it was a comfortable stay and would gladly recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bebeocho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate your comments about the room, staff and our location and are thrilled to read your enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and what a disappointment!! Everything from the room to the receptionist had been a let down!! Sure the room was cleaned everyday but really it was half-cleaned. The rubbish bins wasn't emptied for 2 days even though it was so full, the desk is dirty and sticky from coffee stains. We were staying on the 8th floor with these group of young Japanese tourists who occupied about 4-5 rooms on the same floor and that's when the nightmare began. They kept going in and out of one room to another and slammed the doors very hard. I had to go out of my room twice at 12.30 at night asked them to stop, it stopped for the night but soon it started again early in the morning!! To top this all of, when we went to reception to check-out, the receptionist (a young guy) just said "yep, there's no charge to the room"- that's the exact words he said, not even a thank you!! My partner and I were horrified, he said he's wondered what the staff selection process at this big hotel? It really is a BIG disappointment!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced on your recent visit and would like you to know that these have been addressed internally. We will always do what we can to assist our guests if something is not to their satisfaction. However, unfortunately if we are advised after the stay, there is not much we can do except work to improve the experience for future guests. We hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves and provide you with a Watermark experience reflective of our true service and standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at Watermark 2 weeks ago just for 1 night on a business trip. If you are driving from the Airports It's easy to find in Surfers and my overnite car parking requirement was not a problem. I asked for a high level room as i sleep lightly. Got that at level 17 and slept without any noise intrusion. As I was here on business I wanted an early start and the breakfast restaurant was ready and going at 6.30am with many Japanese Guests. I had a comfortable one night stay and i can recommend Watermark as a holiday or business hotel . It is well run and has a big choice of rooms. Also has the Bar and Pokies, if that is what you enjoy.

Room Tip: High room for views or sleep quality
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Many thanks for the lovely comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,410 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $101 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing