We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Nearby Hotels
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$140
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
QT Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$136
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$171
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$133
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
$233
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on View Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$101
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Q1 Resort and Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Sun City(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$258
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,048)
Filter reviews
2,048 results
Traveler rating
722
843
310
100
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
843
310
100
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaves restauranttram stopbuffet restaurantgold coastdeluxe roomper daylight railcar parkcentral locationwould stay againacross the roadcavill avesurfer's paradiseocean viewwalruspoolssurfers
Filter
Updating list...
1,652 - 1,657 of 2,048 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stay there for two nights and the watermark hotel can't possibility be a four stars hotel. The room looks clean but I can see hair inside the closet. The table and the tv stand look very old and worn out. The worst is the urine smell by the hallway on my floor near the elevators. I can also see some body's shoes in the hallway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Guest feedback is very important to us and we are disappointed to read about the cleaning issues you experienced. If we had been informed we would have asked housekeeping to address them immediately. We apologise for the inconvenience and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last week. We booked the double room since it was cheaper. The beds were huge anyway and can fit two people each. Our room was spacious and had a huge window overlooking the Surfers Paradise. The room was always clean and we even had the chance to meet the nice cleaning lady. The staff are nice though some are trainees. The location was an advantage as it was right next to the bus stops to Nerang Station and to the theme parks. It was quite a walk to Cavill but it was still ok as the hotel was far from the noise. My husband loved the fact that it was right next to Pancakes in Paradise. Overall, it was a comfortable stay and would gladly recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bebeocho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate your comments about the room, staff and our location and are thrilled to read your enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and what a disappointment!! Everything from the room to the receptionist had been a let down!! Sure the room was cleaned everyday but really it was half-cleaned. The rubbish bins wasn't emptied for 2 days even though it was so full, the desk is dirty and sticky from coffee stains. We were staying on the 8th floor with these group of young Japanese tourists who occupied about 4-5 rooms on the same floor and that's when the nightmare began. They kept going in and out of one room to another and slammed the doors very hard. I had to go out of my room twice at 12.30 at night asked them to stop, it stopped for the night but soon it started again early in the morning!! To top this all of, when we went to reception to check-out, the receptionist (a young guy) just said "yep, there's no charge to the room"- that's the exact words he said, not even a thank you!! My partner and I were horrified, he said he's wondered what the staff selection process at this big hotel? It really is a BIG disappointment!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced on your recent visit and would like you to know that these have been addressed internally. We will always do what we can to assist our guests if something is not to their satisfaction. However, unfortunately if we are advised after the stay, there is not much we can do except work to improve the experience for future guests. We hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves and provide you with a Watermark experience reflective of our true service and standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at Watermark 2 weeks ago just for 1 night on a business trip. If you are driving from the Airports It's easy to find in Surfers and my overnite car parking requirement was not a problem. I asked for a high level room as i sleep lightly. Got that at level 17 and slept without any noise intrusion. As I was here on business I wanted an early start and the breakfast restaurant was ready and going at 6.30am with many Japanese Guests. I had a comfortable one night stay and i can recommend Watermark as a holiday or business hotel . It is well run and has a big choice of rooms. Also has the Bar and Pokies, if that is what you enjoy.

Room Tip: High room for views or sleep quality
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Many thanks for the lovely comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Watermark from the 28th November to the 5th December. It was a fantastic experience.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted and our suitcases taken care of. We arrived at 8:30am (much earlier than standard check in time) and were informed not only could we check in, but we were also gifted a free upgrade to a Deluxe room! This was fantastic, the perfect way to start the trip!

This great service continued throughout the stay with VERY helpful staff. For example, I had an overseas plug that needed an adapter, this was no problem at all and a adapter was provided. Bathrobes that weren't replaced during cleaning were immediately brought to our hotel room after a quick call to Guest Services.

The gym is well equip with a fantastic range of machines available. Far better than what I have seen at other 5 star hotels in Australia. There were also two pools (I think only one is really advertised) and they were great.

The location was great. It was a short 5 minute walk to the main strip of Cavill Ave. This is ideal as it gets very noisy around Cavill Ave at night. Also, the hotel is located right next to the main bus stops (which go to the theme parks and shopping centres). Fantastic.

Overall a fantastic experience and will definitely recommend the hotel to friends and colleges .

Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for sea views. We were on the 17th floor with nice views through a view buildings such as the big Q1.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for such wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to read you had a fantastic stay! We continually strive for excellence across all areas of our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews