We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Disappointment”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stay there for two nights and the watermark hotel can't possibility be a four stars hotel. The room looks clean but I can see hair inside the closet. The table and the tv stand look very old and worn out. The worst is the urine smell by the hallway on my floor near the elevators. I can also see some body's shoes in the hallway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Guest feedback is very important to us and we are disappointed to read about the cleaning issues you experienced. If we had been informed we would have asked housekeeping to address them immediately. We apologise for the inconvenience and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    645
    240
    71
    53
See reviews for
353
577
78
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last week. We booked the double room since it was cheaper. The beds were huge anyway and can fit two people each. Our room was spacious and had a huge window overlooking the Surfers Paradise. The room was always clean and we even had the chance to meet the nice cleaning lady. The staff are nice though some are trainees. The location was an advantage as it was right next to the bus stops to Nerang Station and to the theme parks. It was quite a walk to Cavill but it was still ok as the hotel was far from the noise. My husband loved the fact that it was right next to Pancakes in Paradise. Overall, it was a comfortable stay and would gladly recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bebeocho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate your comments about the room, staff and our location and are thrilled to read your enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and what a disappointment!! Everything from the room to the receptionist had been a let down!! Sure the room was cleaned everyday but really it was half-cleaned. The rubbish bins wasn't emptied for 2 days even though it was so full, the desk is dirty and sticky from coffee stains. We were staying on the 8th floor with these group of young Japanese tourists who occupied about 4-5 rooms on the same floor and that's when the nightmare began. They kept going in and out of one room to another and slammed the doors very hard. I had to go out of my room twice at 12.30 at night asked them to stop, it stopped for the night but soon it started again early in the morning!! To top this all of, when we went to reception to check-out, the receptionist (a young guy) just said "yep, there's no charge to the room"- that's the exact words he said, not even a thank you!! My partner and I were horrified, he said he's wondered what the staff selection process at this big hotel? It really is a BIG disappointment!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced on your recent visit and would like you to know that these have been addressed internally. We will always do what we can to assist our guests if something is not to their satisfaction. However, unfortunately if we are advised after the stay, there is not much we can do except work to improve the experience for future guests. We hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves and provide you with a Watermark experience reflective of our true service and standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at Watermark 2 weeks ago just for 1 night on a business trip. If you are driving from the Airports It's easy to find in Surfers and my overnite car parking requirement was not a problem. I asked for a high level room as i sleep lightly. Got that at level 17 and slept without any noise intrusion. As I was here on business I wanted an early start and the breakfast restaurant was ready and going at 6.30am with many Japanese Guests. I had a comfortable one night stay and i can recommend Watermark as a holiday or business hotel . It is well run and has a big choice of rooms. Also has the Bar and Pokies, if that is what you enjoy.

Room Tip: High room for views or sleep quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for the lovely comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Watermark from the 28th November to the 5th December. It was a fantastic experience.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted and our suitcases taken care of. We arrived at 8:30am (much earlier than standard check in time) and were informed not only could we check in, but we were also gifted a free upgrade to a Deluxe room! This was fantastic, the perfect way to start the trip!

This great service continued throughout the stay with VERY helpful staff. For example, I had an overseas plug that needed an adapter, this was no problem at all and a adapter was provided. Bathrobes that weren't replaced during cleaning were immediately brought to our hotel room after a quick call to Guest Services.

The gym is well equip with a fantastic range of machines available. Far better than what I have seen at other 5 star hotels in Australia. There were also two pools (I think only one is really advertised) and they were great.

The location was great. It was a short 5 minute walk to the main strip of Cavill Ave. This is ideal as it gets very noisy around Cavill Ave at night. Also, the hotel is located right next to the main bus stops (which go to the theme parks and shopping centres). Fantastic.

Overall a fantastic experience and will definitely recommend the hotel to friends and colleges .

Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for sea views. We were on the 17th floor with nice views through a view buildings such as the bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for such wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to read you had a fantastic stay! We continually strive for excellence across all areas of our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Having booked a club king room, like others when we went up to the 19th floor, we rang through see what we were entitled to as nothing was mentioned at the time of check in, we were informed that we were on entitled to the room.
Considering it was one of their premier rooms we found them small, dated and the upgrades that they did to the tiny bathroom made it look like it did not fit right.
The shower head was shocking!
The water was erratic and flow left much to be desired.
The bar fridge was small and stocked with the basics.
At the time of checkin, the three staff behind the counter were too busy "chatting" to worry about the clients that were arriving.
The male checkin staff member was more worried about the registration of the hire car than making the experience memorable for the right reasons.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main Surfers Paradise shopping and eating area.
It is well worth the walk for something to each and drink as the variety at the restaurant was basic.
The buffet breakfast was expensive for the coast.
After a good night out, we travelled straight across the street to the BBQ for a nice and cheap alternative to the buffet.
There is a bottle shop is straight across the road so head across for some cheap drinks.
Overall, it was an average experience that was had at the Watermark, we were expecting much more and other hotels would be better value for money.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mork001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. Please note, Club rooms only include the room, however, our Club Premier Experience includes valet parking, Club lounge breakfast and evening canapés and drinks and Chandon on arrival. We apologise most profusely for the service issues. This is not acceptable and has been addressed with the relevant department. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our stay was Fabulous! My wife booked the "Premium Package" thorough Wotif as a surpise kid free getaway. We had vlate parking on express checkin, stayon on the top 20th floor with Executive Lounge. A bottle of Champaign delivered to our room. It included Canapes and drinks betwnne 6-pm and a lovely choice of cold and hot cooked breakfast the next morning. We had dinner in the tempanyaki resturant across the road which was fun.
The staff were super frinedly and helpfull, the hotel & room was immaculate and fresh, comfy King bed and the "Wotif Premium Package" was fanatastic, great value and exactly what we needed! I can totallly reccomend the Hotel, very quite and central. We will return again! Thank You Watermark for a great Experience!

Room Tip: Go with the "Wotif Premium Exec Floor Package"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_bright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the Watermark Hotel & Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Property: Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing