We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stay refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I unexpectedly stayed here for 4 nights after my usual Gold Coast venue booking was messed up and they then wanted to charge me close to 3 times the usual rate (shame Mr Meriton) . I stayed on 11th floor with great hinterland views. Only issue was a charge for parking in a too small car park which was overbooked. I needed 24 emergency access to my car so the staff were very solution focused and came up with a satisfactory solution and didn't charge me. Central location for Surfers attractions

Stayed: September 2012
1  Thank annieofnfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,613)
There are newer reviews for Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,262 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good afternoon, I was wondering around at the watermark this week, and I was trying to find out all the activities. I was lost but Thomas from Food and Beverage kindly offered his services and explained what was on offer and showed me to the day spa. Thank you so much my expectation for this hotel has been proven right. great hotel and great staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your lovely feedback and taking the time to post a review. We always aim to provide exceptional service and are delighted to read that you would highly recommend our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Me and my companion (Flea) were so impressed by your hotel on our recent stay (18th Sept +)
From check in to check out not one problem (a 5 star feeling)
Absolute value for money
We liked the hotel so much, that we extended our stay for an additional 4 days.

The hotel was well appointed with everything we could ask for.
We made good use of the 2 pools which took benefit of the sun from both sides...+ amazing spa baths. The gym got a good work out too.

Our room was very comfortable with all required conveniences, and had a great beach view as I had requested.

Room service and housekeeping were very prompt and professional.

Inhouse food was great and all the staff were so friendly and helpful...

We spent a bit of time in the bar/gaming room on the first few nights and the staff were great!

Special mention to 'Michael' (Waves Restaurant Manager) who made Flea's Birthday Very Special in brekky service with a Happy Birthday she'll never forget.
Thankyou Michael, you made our stay at Watermark so much fun and even more enjoyable.

Cannot recommend this hotel too highly.
Thankyou to all :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randolph22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for your lovely comments and taking time to post your review. Guest feedback is very important to us and we are really pleased that you had such a fantastic time. We will also pass your comments on to Michael. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was my 2nd stay at the Watermark. We loved the rooms, service and food. The Waves restaurant puts on a great buffet, so much selection to chose from and a nice atmosphere. We will definitely be staying at the Watermark very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meggz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the Waves seafood buffet restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to Watermark Hotel & Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here before but was years ago. Stayed here with my girlfriend great hotel very poor restraunt. Overpriced and very poor selection of food. I would definitely stay here again just save your cash and go out for dinner

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanwilson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, but are disappointed to read your comments about the restaurant. We are not sure whether you visited our Waves International Buffet Restaurant or Amalfi Bistro & Bar, but we are always looking to improve our overall guest experience through great quality, value and service, and will pass on your comments on to our food and beverage department. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was OK. Have stayed in better, have stayed in worse. First time I have ever had to pay $12 per night for parking though. Bed was comfy. Staff were friendly. They probably should have thrown away the bottom sheet on my bed, which had someone else's dried, laundered blood stain on it, and replaced it with a new sheet. Also someone else's hairs in the bed, yuk. Although every 4 1/2 star place I've stayed at on the Gold coast is of similar standard. And for the record, it doesn't take much for a hotel to get a 4 1/2 star rating. Star ratings are not only based on cleanliness and style of the room. As long as they do simple things like have a pool, lift, air con, pay tv, provide a mirror, clock radio, blanket for each bed, coathangers, luggage rack, and shampoo & conditioner, that entitles them to 4 1/2 star, regardless of how old or dated the room looks. I manage an apartment complex on the Sunshine Coast, that's how I know.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We continually strive for excellence across all areas of our hotel and appreciate your comments about our comfy beds and friendly staff. Please note, our parking charges are comparable with similar hotels in the area. However, your points about the sheets are unacceptable and this issue has been addressed internally. Please be aware that we work hard to maintain our 4 ½ star rating which AAA determinesby assessing facilities & services, cleanliness and quality & condition. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times. It is centrally located between Surfers and Broadbeach. The rooms are quite large and well appointed. We were on the 17th floor and had glimpses of the ocean between other high rises. The beds were very comfy and the shower was perfect - strong with excellent temperature control. Our room was very quiet. All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room - these are not affected by the Western sun.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We regularly receive great comments about the comfort of our beds and see that on this occasion you stayed in a Deluxe room. They are on higher floors in the hotel which often means they are quieter and yes, many do have ocean glimpses. We also appreciate the kind feedback about our staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,419 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $102 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing