We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Nearby Hotels
QT Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$146
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$255
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$135
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
$104
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
$306
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$195
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$135
$110
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on View Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$109
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Q1 Resort and Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$162
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Sun City(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$259
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,047)
Filter reviews
2,048 results
Traveler rating
722
843
310
100
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
843
310
100
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaves restauranttram stopbuffet restaurantgold coastdeluxe roomper daylight railcar parkcentral locationwould stay againacross the roadcavill avesurfer's paradiseocean viewwalruspoolssurfers
Filter
Updating list...
1,675 - 1,680 of 2,048 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here before but was years ago. Stayed here with my girlfriend great hotel very poor restraunt. Overpriced and very poor selection of food. I would definitely stay here again just save your cash and go out for dinner

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanwilson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, but are disappointed to read your comments about the restaurant. We are not sure whether you visited our Waves International Buffet Restaurant or Amalfi Bistro & Bar, but we are always looking to improve our overall guest experience through great quality, value and service, and will pass on your comments on to our food and beverage department. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was OK. Have stayed in better, have stayed in worse. First time I have ever had to pay $12 per night for parking though. Bed was comfy. Staff were friendly. They probably should have thrown away the bottom sheet on my bed, which had someone else's dried, laundered blood stain on it, and replaced it with a new sheet. Also someone else's hairs in the bed, yuk. Although every 4 1/2 star place I've stayed at on the Gold coast is of similar standard. And for the record, it doesn't take much for a hotel to get a 4 1/2 star rating. Star ratings are not only based on cleanliness and style of the room. As long as they do simple things like have a pool, lift, air con, pay tv, provide a mirror, clock radio, blanket for each bed, coathangers, luggage rack, and shampoo & conditioner, that entitles them to 4 1/2 star, regardless of how old or dated the room looks. I manage an apartment complex on the Sunshine Coast, that's how I know.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We continually strive for excellence across all areas of our hotel and appreciate your comments about our comfy beds and friendly staff. Please note, our parking charges are comparable with similar hotels in the area. However, your points about the sheets are unacceptable and this issue has been addressed internally. Please be aware that we work hard to maintain our 4 ½ star rating which AAA determinesby assessing facilities & services, cleanliness and quality & condition. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times. It is centrally located between Surfers and Broadbeach. The rooms are quite large and well appointed. We were on the 17th floor and had glimpses of the ocean between other high rises. The beds were very comfy and the shower was perfect - strong with excellent temperature control. Our room was very quiet. All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room - these are not affected by the Western sun.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We regularly receive great comments about the comfort of our beds and see that on this occasion you stayed in a Deluxe room. They are on higher floors in the hotel which often means they are quieter and yes, many do have ocean glimpses. We also appreciate the kind feedback about our staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having booked a club king watermark room with lastminute.com.au. After checking out what we get in the 'club' room on the watermark hotel website, we were excited and happy! On the hotel's website http://www.watermarkhotelgoldcoast.com.au/club-watermark-rooms it states all the benefits that we get staying in a 'club' room on the 19th floor, however when ringing up to check all the benefits included in our room they informed me that because we booked through lastminute.com.au we don't get these benefits and if we had of booked through the hotel's website we would have got all the benefits - which cost the same as what we paid! Their website is definitely misleading! In the elevator it even states that we were in the 'club' watermark section - hence one would think that they are entitled to what the website states!

Parking was $12 a night, far too expensive and there were certainly not enough parks for one car per every room! Cars were parked in non-designated parks because there simply was not enough room, making it dangerous and crowded in the car park!

The TV was a nightmare, we were entitled to the normal free to air channels and some foxtel channels. Half of the free to air chanenls were not working and required a 'password.' My fiance called reception but they said, 'No we don't have a password I will get an engineer to come and look at it.' I was half asleep, it was 11.30pm at night, we didn't want him coming up there, we just wanted the reaking TV working!

The hairdryer wasn't working either!

The restaurants although nice were expensive. We dined at the Amalfi Bistro Bar restaurant which was nice but a limited choice of food and expensive and they make you sit 'on top of each other'!

The bed was comfortable though! It was in a pretty good location - a 5 minute walk to the center of surfer's paradise and about a 2 minute walk to the beach. The rooms were clean but small.

Also many tour groups stayed there which clogged up the elevators and pool!

I don't think it should be rated 4.5 * and wouldn't stay their again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma-Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and kind comments about our comfortable beds and location. Guest feedback is very valuable to us and we are disappointed to hear about your experience. We have looked into your reservation and unfortunately, you had booked a Club room only so you were not entitled to the extra benefits which are actually part of the Club Premier Experience package. The Club Premier Experience package can be booked on the Lastminute website or direct on our website and, on behalf of the staff member that misinformed you, we apologise for the confusion.

Your comments about parking, the TV, our restaurant and facilities will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary. We have passed this information on internally and appreciate you taking the time to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is not up to scratch, it's self rated as a 5 star, more like 4. We paid extra for premier club experience & found the stingiest club lounge of any hotel I have stayed at. A very lame selection of chopped vegies & potato chips with serving tongs? & 4 teeny canapes on a plate. Our baby was with us, I was unaware we couldn't enter their club lounge with a baby (nothing on internet) but soon found out when we tried to have breakfast next morning. The power tripping host told us to 'sit down' whilst she waited for authourisation if we could stay. Finally she escorted us around a corner out of view from other guests & proceeded to argue with me until we decided to just leave. We felt like naughty school kids & we were not offered any other alternative to have breakfast elsewhere in the hotel since the sight of a baby was such a problem.
Rooms are dated & tired, the Q1 is directly in front of this hotel blocking the ocean views (you can see ocean around it). It only reminded me of how much better my stay was at the Q1 last visit.

Room Tip: Stay at the Q1 in front of hotel for better views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Katarena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Watermark Hotel & Spa is a AAA 4 ½ star rated hotel and our Club rooms are rated 5 star. We would like to sincerely apologise for your Club Lounge experience. Please be assured that these issues are being addressed internally and moving forwards our new policy is to allow children into Club Lounge, provided they do not misbehave and are supervised by their parents. Please be aware that we take guest feedback very seriously and agree that this situation should have been handled differently. It is very important to us that all guests are made to feel welcome in our hotel, including families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews