We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was OK. Have stayed in better, have stayed in worse. First time I have ever had to pay $12 per night for parking though. Bed was comfy. Staff were friendly. They probably should have thrown away the bottom sheet on my bed, which had someone else's dried, laundered blood stain on it, and replaced it with a new sheet. Also someone else's hairs in the bed, yuk. Although every 4 1/2 star place I've stayed at on the Gold coast is of similar standard. And for the record, it doesn't take much for a hotel to get a 4 1/2 star rating. Star ratings are not only based on cleanliness and style of the room. As long as they do simple things like have a pool, lift, air con, pay tv, provide a mirror, clock radio, blanket for each bed, coathangers, luggage rack, and shampoo & conditioner, that entitles them to 4 1/2 star, regardless of how old or dated the room looks. I manage an apartment complex on the Sunshine Coast, that's how I know.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We continually strive for excellence across all areas of our hotel and appreciate your comments about our comfy beds and friendly staff. Please note, our parking charges are comparable with similar hotels in the area. However, your points about the sheets are unacceptable and this issue has been addressed internally. Please be aware that we work hard to maintain our 4 ½ star rating which AAA determinesby assessing facilities & services, cleanliness and quality & condition. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,443 - 1,449 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times. It is centrally located between Surfers and Broadbeach. The rooms are quite large and well appointed. We were on the 17th floor and had glimpses of the ocean between other high rises. The beds were very comfy and the shower was perfect - strong with excellent temperature control. Our room was very quiet. All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room - these are not affected by the Western sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We regularly receive great comments about the comfort of our beds and see that on this occasion you stayed in a Deluxe room. They are on higher floors in the hotel which often means they are quieter and yes, many do have ocean glimpses. We also appreciate the kind feedback about our staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having booked a club king watermark room with lastminute.com.au. After checking out what we get in the 'club' room on the watermark hotel website, we were excited and happy! On the hotel's website http://www.watermarkhotelgoldcoast.com.au/club-watermark-rooms it states all the benefits that we get staying in a 'club' room on the 19th floor, however when ringing up to check all the benefits included in our room they informed me that because we booked through lastminute.com.au we don't get these benefits and if we had of booked through the hotel's website we would have got all the benefits - which cost the same as what we paid! Their website is definitely misleading! In the elevator it even states that we were in the 'club' watermark section - hence one would think that they are entitled to what the website states!

Parking was $12 a night, far too expensive and there were certainly not enough parks for one car per every room! Cars were parked in non-designated parks because there simply was not enough room, making it dangerous and crowded in the car park!

The TV was a nightmare, we were entitled to the normal free to air channels and some foxtel channels. Half of the free to air chanenls were not working and required a 'password.' My fiance called reception but they said, 'No we don't have a password I will get an engineer to come and look at it.' I was half asleep, it was 11.30pm at night, we didn't want him coming up there, we just wanted the reaking TV working!

The hairdryer wasn't working either!

The restaurants although nice were expensive. We dined at the Amalfi Bistro Bar restaurant which was nice but a limited choice of food and expensive and they make you sit 'on top of each other'!

The bed was comfortable though! It was in a pretty good location - a 5 minute walk to the center of surfer's paradise and about a 2 minute walk to the beach. The rooms were clean but small.

Also many tour groups stayed there which clogged up the elevators and pool!

I don't think it should be rated 4.5 * and wouldn't stay their again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma-Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and kind comments about our comfortable beds and location. Guest feedback is very valuable to us and we are disappointed to hear about your experience. We have looked into your reservation and unfortunately, you had booked a Club room only so you were not entitled to the extra benefits which are actually part of the Club Premier Experience package. The Club Premier Experience package can be booked on the Lastminute website or direct on our website and, on behalf of the staff member that misinformed you, we apologise for the confusion.

Your comments about parking, the TV, our restaurant and facilities will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary. We have passed this information on internally and appreciate you taking the time to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is not up to scratch, it's self rated as a 5 star, more like 4. We paid extra for premier club experience & found the stingiest club lounge of any hotel I have stayed at. A very lame selection of chopped vegies & potato chips with serving tongs? & 4 teeny canapes on a plate. Our baby was with us, I was unaware we couldn't enter their club lounge with a baby (nothing on internet) but soon found out when we tried to have breakfast next morning. The power tripping host told us to 'sit down' whilst she waited for authourisation if we could stay. Finally she escorted us around a corner out of view from other guests & proceeded to argue with me until we decided to just leave. We felt like naughty school kids & we were not offered any other alternative to have breakfast elsewhere in the hotel since the sight of a baby was such a problem.
Rooms are dated & tired, the Q1 is directly in front of this hotel blocking the ocean views (you can see ocean around it). It only reminded me of how much better my stay was at the Q1 last visit.

Room Tip: Stay at the Q1 in front of hotel for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Katarena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Watermark Hotel & Spa is a AAA 4 ½ star rated hotel and our Club rooms are rated 5 star. We would like to sincerely apologise for your Club Lounge experience. Please be assured that these issues are being addressed internally and moving forwards our new policy is to allow children into Club Lounge, provided they do not misbehave and are supervised by their parents. Please be aware that we take guest feedback very seriously and agree that this situation should have been handled differently. It is very important to us that all guests are made to feel welcome in our hotel, including families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here recently for 2 nights to attend a conference. The room was very clean and tidy, two queen beds in the room, room on the 7th floor facing the ocean. The room is very dimly lit, the bed was very comfortable. I had to pay $12 per night for parking which I think is not necessary when you are already paying $120 for the room. Breakfast was standard buffet and the food was fine. Could hear people from the corridor opening and closing their doors.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KampervanKapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your feedback about the room and comfortable bedding. Our guests often comment very positively about our beds and we will address the lighting issue internally. We are disappointed that you had an issue with our parking charges, however, we wanted to let you know they are comparable with similar hotels in the area. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Watermark Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my husband and two kids (6yo & 18 mo) and we were very pleased. All staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The rooms are a bit small, but were clean and ready when we arrived early. The buffet breakfast is okay, but a little bit pricey for what you get. We ate dinner at the Amalfi Restaurant with our kids, and that was probably the best experience at the hotel! There is an italian woman who works there (can't remember her name) and her customer service, attention to detail and exceptional interaction with our young kids was very commendable and refreshing!! It can be difficult to find great dining options with young kids that provide good quality food and a kid-friendly atmosphere. She went above and beyond what we expected, and we were very grateful for that..... Well Done!! Overall, this hotel was a great option for a short stay and at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtcrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted to read you and your family enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful dining experience in our Italian restaurant – Amalfi Bistro & Wine Bar. We strive for exceptional customer service and really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Thank you, once again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

i stayed there on my Honeymoon trip in august , i got a great deal on their website , it was worth the price , i had booked the standard room , the rooms are very poorly lit and bed's just about ok not too comfortable , but at the price of average 110 AUD worth it , beach is close by walking distance , would recommend for people on budget .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacardiboy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Yes, our standard rooms are great value and our budget room type. If you would like a more luxurious bed next time you stay we would like to recommend our Deluxe and Club room types which include comfort plus bedding, pillow menu, higher quality furnishings, bathrobes and slippers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,608 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $95 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing