We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly good stay”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fairly good stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week after driving up from sydney. Firstly rooms were large enough for the two of us and having a kitchen and laundry in the room was great for a stay of a week. The balcony meant we could let in some fresh air if it got a little stuffy. The bed was comfy (even if it was only 2 singles pushed together) although the lounge was not! Walk in wardrobe meant plenty of room for your stuff. Had breakfast buffet the first morning there and they had all your basics there, nothing fancy and wouldnt recommend it if its not included in your rate there are heaps of other options in the heart of surfers. Never ate there for dinner so cant really comment on that. The pool is large and completely lovely, not a single fault with the outside pool itself. First day we went down however we wanted to use the slides which were open but not a lifeguard in sight (saw him there all the time after this first encounter). Firstly there are 2 slides, one shorter one longer. The shorter one I went on first and had no problem. The longer one I somehow managed to smash my head on the end of it and ended up with a sore head a bump a bruise and a few sore ribs. Later on found out u actually need to sign a form and get a wrist band to actually use the slides. No issues with this at all but would be nice to have been told at check in BEFORE we were in the pool and told by the lifeguard we couldnt go down the slide (even tho we'd been down it the day before when there were no lifeguards around). Underground secure parking is good no complaints there. Tennis courts were good, although there was a mix up with the court hire (didnt see a single sole down there for the entire week, and yet we had to book in advance and we were told we couldnt book for 3 hours even when no one was there the whole 3 hours). Spas were great! Indoor pool was out of order for the first 3 days, great at night when open tho. Staff were all great. No issues at all there. Other than a few points above had a great stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckylozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear LazyLozy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City resort.

We appreciate the dcetail you have provided regarding your stay and I am pleased that you found it comfortable and would stay again.

I am sorry to hear that you were not warned of the waterslides prior to going down them; this is most unfortuantel.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    600
    317
    153
    149
See reviews for
854
546
42
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Mantra Sun City is great value so we keep coming back. If you book in advance and hit upon a special, you can get a 1 bedroom apartment for the same price as a hotel elsewhere. I stayed for 3 days in February and found the location great. It's a few blocks back from the centre of Surfers but for me, that meant the daily exercise was taken care of. Parking is secure and undercover, so that's a big plus and the apartment that I had looked south-east to Surfers Beach. In the day you got the water views then at night, you have the lights of the city skyline to admire from the balcony. The kitchen was an economical bonus for the family, as you can bring your own brekkie and save a few $$$. One night when tired, we ordered takeaway that was delivered to our door. Otherwise restaurants aren't far. A little tip is to look out for the vouchers in the Gold Coast tourist brochures. You can save money by having the main meal at lunch or by eating early. Some restaurants even have buy 1 get 1 free deals. Surfers is very tourist friendly and the Sun City is great family accommodation.

Room Tip: Book in advance and look out for Internet specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Suzy2000,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review rollowing your recent return visit to Mantra Sun City resort.

I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sure readers will appreciate the details you have provided ensuring a great experience on the Gold Coast.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is awesome . Has everything you need. Our room was very nice and I'm having good time here for our honeymoon . The staff very nice and polite . We enjoyed using both pools and spas . We stayed on 13th floor.
Hotel has good view of beach from 13th floor facing éast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Vince M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your honeymoon on the Gold Coast.

We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your apartment met your expectations.

I also thank you for the feedback on the staff; I'll be sure to pass this onto the team.

We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We chose this location as the kids had seen the pool with slides on a previous trip. We usually love a serviced apartment.

The good parts - the outdoor areas and the ground floor common areas are all good (a recent renovation and refurb). They are all well maintained. The kids were initially excited by the slides which are quite fast but found them a bit rough especially right at the end - I had a go and came away with bruised elbows, so they are probably more for teens than young kids or adults. There is a hidden outdoor warm spa and outdoor pool down the side of the main slide area (there's also an indoor pool and spa). Kids loved that. The view over the beaches was amazing. Plenty of parking downstairs - although some of the reservation signs are hard to see and the signed consequences are dire if you park in one. It was a 20 min walk into the restaurant areas - be quicker once the tram line is operational.

The bad parts (the ones that ruin the holiday) - room 2006 (level 20)
- the initial sensory experience of the apartment was not good. It smelt of mould. We aired out the apartment and it was "sort of ok" after that (or we probably got mostly used to it). The smell is obviously a common problem to the complex as the reception was selling $25 scented candles. The smell probably comes from the fact that rooms are not regularly cleaned and serviced (Mantra do not service apartments daily - I think this is a risky move on Mantra's part as it generates difficult to remove smells), the laundry area is not vented (the vents didn't seem to do anything) so the dryer pumps out lint laden steamy air into the apartment. The apartments are not aired out between stays or down times.
- The furniture in the room was worn out - ie the sofas looked like they were taken from the side of the road after being thrown out from a beach house veranda (I've attached photos).
- the kitchen was worn out and the bench area chipped and scuffed.
- The shower head in one bathroom was held up with a piece of string to stop it falling down. However, to add injury to insult the string meant that when the shower was turned out, the force of the water pressure showered you in cold water.
- The TV, DVD player and inroom movie systems required three power outlets - however there was only two outlets so you had to swap them around.

From reading other reviews and responses from Mantra manger, I see the failings in room furnishings are referred to the apartment owner (ie they are owned privately and Mantra "manage" the bookings and the common areas). However, in reality the failings are 100% on the Mantra management - if they have rooms which are not fit to be rented out, don't rent them out! The owners will soon get the picture. Obviously Mantra head office is not keeping an eye on their local operations to allow such poor quality.

Basically you are playing Russian roulette with this place as Mantra cannot guarantee you will get an apartment which is of acceptable quality. I'm giving it 2 stars as the pool area and the view bumped it up.

Room Tip: Don't choose a beach view or pool view room from level 5 or below. The new tram line is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear tm007,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent experience with Mantra Sun City resort.

I appreciate your constructive overview of the entire property and thank you for both your positive comments and also bringing us to the attention of your areas of improvement.

I understand that you have read through other reviews and you have provided your feedback first hand; I have to apologise firstly about the couch in this particular unit; this owner joined our letting pool in February and unfortuantley this couch deterioriated rapidly in that time. The fabrics that are used on some furniture now are not able to withstand the chemicals that are found in sun screens and chlorine etc. all of which are unfortuatnely bought in by guests when returning from the pool and beach. This owner has agreed to purchase commerical standard furniture and we are just awaiting it's delivery.

I also apologise about the issues of smell; unfortuatnely we cannot leave apartments open prior to a guests arrival as this would be deemend an hazard due to the high winds etc. that could cause damage if the unit was unoccupied; the hand made scented candles are locally made and burnt in reception to welcome guests to the hotels; not to mask any odours.

Once again I do thank you for both your positive and constructive feedback; I do hpoe we get the chance to welcome you back.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The suite we eventually ended up in was very spacious and quite comfortable for our needs (six adults--all family). But the first suite (on Level 32) was not good at all. Outstanding view, but very rundown with very bad drain smell. Sam on reception responded very quickly and offered two other options.

We eventually ended up on Level 21, Room 1, and it was ideal for our needs. The hot water service did cause a few problems for the first two days, but management dealt with it very quickly. The suite also could have done with being dusted (layer of dust on TV unit was indicative of the dust in the air in the suite, and it was setting off my sinus--particularly when the suite warmed up each day, but I could live with that).

Overall, the staff was excellent, responding quickly to our concerns (the initial unsuitability of the first suite and the hot water heater problems over the first two days). Also responded very fast when we reported a large brawl outside our door one night. Security were there within minutes and escorted the two brawlers off site. Having said that, we were a little disconcerted when the Security man opened our door a little later and wanted to know if the yelling had been coming from our suite (pointing to the bedroom next to the front door, where my husband was sleeping). We assured him that it wasn't us, and he was fine, but hey, wouldn't hurt to knock and wait for an answer, particularly when we were one of the rooms that rang to report the fight in the hall. The security guard was quite friendly (which was just as well, all things considered).

Pros: Good location; spacious suites; good view; excellent staff; very comfortable beds.

Cons: Over-priced wi-fi; expensive breakfasts (but there are plenty of options outside the Mantra); no housekeeping (which we were aware of before booking, but it wouldn't hurt to make it every three or four days, rather than every eight); pot-luck with the room you get (rooms apparently have different owners, and upkeep of that room depends on each owner, so you kind of get what you get, from what we can tell); lifts were a pain (but they were being serviced while we were there. Probably would have been better to hold off doing major work non-urgent work until after the school holidays).

All in all, we still had a good time. We were comfortable, in a fairly good location, had a great view and the staff was very obliging. Enough to say that if we needed a suite for three couples again in the future, we would quite willingly stay at Mantra Sun City. However, we also won't hesitate to ask for a change of room if the same situation happens.

(Added clarification: Although I've marked this as a "Family" Vacation, which it was, it did not include children. All adult family members.)

Room Tip: Impossible to know what you're going to get before you go. Higher floors does not necessarily me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreathFreshAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear BreathFreshAir,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City resort.

I am very pleased to read that after consultation with the reception team you were allocated a room with which you were happy with and you were able to enjoy your stay.

I am sorry to hear about the issue with an argument outside your room however pleased that it was dealt with relatively quickly. I will however follow up with the security contractor in relation to entering without knocking; this is most inapproprirate.

Each of the rooms are independantly owned within our resort and we maintain constant communication with them with regards to the furnitures, fixtures and fittings within the rooms. In 2015 we are aiming to have at least 50 of our owners comit to a refuribishment to ensure that Mantra Sun City resort remains a comfortable choice for consumers.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, we do look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2014

After tossing up between the positive and negative reviews, myself and a group of friends decided to stay at Sun City for a week in June. We booked a 3 bedroom apartment and requested a high floor as well as a refurbished/renovated room. Upon check in, we were given a room on level 22 and as soon as we walked into the room we knew something was wrong. You could barely breathe, the room was so stuffy and dusty, the room was dated, it was extremely dirty (considering we arrived at 12pm and were told the room was still being cleaned it was NOT clean) the curtain in the master bedroom was mouldy, the oven was rusty.. the list goes on.
We went to reception and requested a change. One of the lovely receptionists Natasha was able to assist us to the best of her ability and gave us an option from 2 other rooms. We had a look at both of them but they were still not up to standards. After this, I personally requested a room that a friend referred me to on level 28, and after half an hour or so Natasha and Daniel came back to our room and advised us that we could stay in this room. The room was on level 28 and it was much better than the other 3, but still needed some care. Nevertheless, I appreciate the service and assistance from Natasha to ensure our stay was as comfortable as can be.

The facilities at mantra are okay. Pools and spa's are average but nothing special. Gym is tiny and only has a few pieces of equipment. The cleanliness of the apartments is not up to mantra standards. We had yellow pee/vomit stains on our linen, socks left in our dryer, wet towels in the master bedroom wardrobe, dirty utensils.. Considering our room was stunning compared to the other ones we could have had, this was still very disappointing for such a nice room.

The walk to cavill ave is 10 minutes or so, be prepared. Sun city is quite far away from the action in cavill ave but the walk along the beach is nice if you don't mind it.
There is a tram stop outside Sun city so this will be handy when they come into operation. They are still testing them though. There is also roadworks out the front of the apartment and even on level 28 they are extremely noisy and you can hear everything.

All in all however, there are much better apartments in Surfers Paradise that are better value for money. My advice would be to choose somewhere other than Sun city as there are too many problems and disappointments with Sun City. One of the only good things about our room was the views to the beach. The photos on the website are misleading and the rooms are far from being comfortable (unless you know which rooms are nice, as in our case, and request to stay in the nice rooms). Read all of the negative reviews and consider your options wisely. Would not recommend staying here and will not be visiting sun city again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Choose somewhere different. It is not worth taking the risk and being disappoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemGem394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
GemGem394,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback rearding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I'm very pleased to read that the reception team were able to facilitate a room move to something that suited your style; whilst still not meeting your expectation it is pleased to read that you enjoyed the beach views.

At no time do we mention on our website or collateral that we are in the heart of surfers, all of our communication advises that we are a short stroll into Cavill Mall; the road work has completely come to an end and the commencement date for the light rail is the 20th July; this is promising news for the residents and guests of the Gold Coast who can take a positive away from the extreme times this development has taken.

Our pools, spas and gymnasiums have all been refuribhsed over the past twelve months with an investment of over $1.6 million dollars; I am however unhappy to read that these did not meet with your expectations. The gymnasium itself has 8 brand new pieces of equipment offering a great work out for anyone wishing to do so on there holiday.

I am sure the potential guests looking over Trip Advisor reviews will make a very well educated choice based on their future stays and I wish you will with yours.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We have just had a family trip staying at Sun City. To say disappointing is an understatement. The rooms need a major update and maintenance, power points hanging off walls, appliances that don't turn off and the list goes on. The noise is constant all night with the tram station at the door, lifts have been out of order more than working. Staff need urgent training in customer relations and can be rude and aggressive at times. We have not been to qld in a long time and we are saddened that we have had such a negative experience with a place that on paper looks fabulous. Pay a little extra and stay elsewhere!!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shazzandjod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear ShazandJodd,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay.

As your issues were dealt with on a daily basis along with various offerings we feel that the team went well above expectation in meeting your demands.

We wish you well with your future stays in the future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing