We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked 3 nights for $105 each through Wotif. After seeing lots of bad reviews after booking and not paying much for it we weren't expecting too much, however we thought it was great :) we had a one bedroom apartment which looked straight over the beach/ ocean, although the light rail was being built and the Gold Coast 600 being prepared for, it was still a nice view! It had a full kitchen, lounge room (with a big tv), laundry. Bedroom, walk in wardrobe and a big bathroom (a big shower, bath and 2 basins). Although it wasn't particularly 'flashy', it was still nice. The main pool was closed while we were there but we liked the outdoor plunge pool and spa, and always had the option of the beach, the other mantra or the indoor pool and spa to use if we wanted. The front staff were helpful with bus information and always friendly, and we were able to leave our bags there after check out on the last day while we went shopping. It was around a 10-15 mine walk to the shops- but it was a pleasant walk along the beach. We would stay there again :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee-b224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Dee-Bee24,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I'm pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of a good special and enjoy the hotels facilities along with the guest rooms.

Thank you for your feedback on the friendly staff, this is greatly aprpeciated.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City Resort in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    523
    276
    135
    133
See reviews for
743
484
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had recently booked 10 nights here. The place is beautiful, short walk to the shops on Cavil ave. We had buffet breakfast and it was AMAZING!!!! Best i have had and im picky, there was so much choice and my 3 kids loved it, a great start to the day. The room was HUGE we had a 2 bedroom ocean view, it was neat and clean.
Sadly when we arrived the pool and slides were under construction and were closed :(
Completely without fuss the wonderful manager Todd transferred us to another Mantra hotel but we still got to have our buffet breakfast.
Cant thank them enough for looking after us so well. :) Will definitely be back to try out the revamped slides!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Bec H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We offer our apologies regarding the closure of the main pool and waterslides, I am very grateful that you were understanding with the matter and Todd was able to relocate you to another property without fuss.

Thank you very much for the feedback regarding breakfast, it's great to hear and I'll be sure to pass this information to our food and beverage team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City Resort in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was pretty disappointed. I didn't like our room, it was tiny and looked and felt old. I still would have rated it a three if it was not for the water issue. Basically, we had hot water for 2 minutes only and then it was freezing and you had to wait another few hours for it to warm up again I had just been to wet and wild and was freezing when I checked in, really looking forward to a hot shower but as my husband got in first there was no hot water, This was quite disappointing. Everything else was Ok. The lobby was nice. Also the slides at the pool (why we booked it in the first place) were closed when we stayed there and road works out the front made it really hard to find it. But the bar was great - great service, great cocktails. If it wasn't for the water............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Nicole C,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I am terribly sorry you faced a water problem in your hotel room, I will certainly investigate this issue and see what remedies we can make to change this.

Thank you for your feedback on the lobbies, we are working to refurbish the common areas prior to Christmas and the work so far is looking great.

We appreciate your feedback on the restaurant and bar, I'm glad you were able to enjoy a nice food and beverage experience during your stay.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We got an excellent deal and enjoyed our stay.

Had a beautiful dinner in the restaurant on our first night and appreciated we could walk everywhere we wanted to go.

Only downside is the current light rail works (early morning noise) and that the main pool is presently being refurbed, although there are plenty of other options still available, including a nice hot outdoor spa.

However, we did have a wonderful trip and thought it was great value for money. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ocean view on high level had full kitchen for self-catering. Our suite didn't have an inroom spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slsheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear slsheather,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the accommodation and leisure facilities were suitable.

I thank you for the feedback on the restaurant, that's pleasing to read.

I do offer my apologies about the light rail works, they should be coming to an iend in the imminent future, I also apologise about the main pool being closed, again this will be all comoplete within the next four weeks which will give us a great new look and feel.

slsheather, thank you again for your feedback, we do look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City Resort.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here w/ our 2 little boys & it was the BEST hotel for our family. The pool area was perfect fun, our room was so spacious and very clean..oh and the views were beautiful! Its a bit of a walk to the town centre but we don't mind walking while on holiday and there was a fun miniature golf next to the hotel. It was fun and very relaxing. But if you want to be in the middle of the action then this isn't your hotel. But for some r&r and fun for young kids this is a great place

Room Tip: go as high up..it gets very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahKoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear SarahKoch,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent family' short break.

We're very pleased that the rooms and leisure facilities met your families needs. I'm also happy to read that the resort's location met your individual needs.

Thank you once again, we do hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend decided to take me away for a destress and booked Mantra Sun City. Besides being a block back from the beach it is also in the middle of nowhere! It is a good 15 minute walk to the heart of Surfers. To make matters worse, it is smack bang in the middle of the tram line construction, and you almost need a degree to work out how to get in and out of the hotel! The hotel itself is very tired and needs a good spruce up. Our room was pretty bad as well...old furniture, paintwork needing attention, etc. the redeeming feature of the place was the restaurant. The food was beautiful although a little on the expensive side. My seafood risotto was really lovely. There are so many good places to stay on the coast and this is not one of them. I will not be back

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Rebecca G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We' offer our full apologies that the location did not prove suitable for your needs, we find that most of our guests enjoy the fact that the property is extremely close to the beach and a short stroll into the heart of Surfers providing excellent access however not too noisy during the busy weekend periods. A good suggestion for a more modern property offering excellent access to the heart of Surfers Paradise would be Mantra Circle on Cavill located in the central business district.

I can provide positive feedback that the Aztec rectification project is well under way and all themed areas of the hotel including the entrance, port cochere, tennis courts, indoor pool, outdoor lagoon pool, restaurant and columns willl be refurbished prior to the Christmas period providing a great new look and feel for the resort.

The Body Corporate also have plans to refubish the lobby in the very near future which will compliment the Aztec refurbishment.

I thank you for your feedback regarding the restaurant, I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the Chef.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very friendly staff, good amenities for a young family and close to the beach and surfers paradise CBD. The rooms are huge and very spacious, overall a great place to stay. Breakfast was ok with plenty of options for all dietary requirements.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greggers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Greggers68,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay.

I'm pleased you and the family enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to get the chance to welcome you back.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing