We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what I expected”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Not sure what I expected”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Whilst not terrible or the worst stay I've ever had, I found this hotel a little bit of a miss in some areas. The room was incredibly spacious, I'll give it that, and there was a beautiful ocean view. I also slept incredibly soundly and the bed was very comfortable. The location was quite nice, despite ongoing roadworks and a few difficulties in accessing the hotel. What wasn't so great was the room cleanliness. The kitchen had red wine stains in multiple places and the ceiling in the kitchen had other stains (possibly mould?). The carpeting was such that walking around barefoot gave us all blackened feet in a short amount of time. The couch had a large rip in one of the cushions and the main shower smelled awful.
Also, when we went to the poolside bar for some family pre-dinner drinks, we sat just underneath the edge of the building- and were spat/vomited on. We did not see who did it, but some sort of foul smelling liquid came out of one of the upper windows and landed on us, ruining a brand new suit and a dress. When staff were informed they were quite helpful, however, I don't think the issue was followed up at all and no apologies were offered. The drinks were not able to be finished because they caught some of the liquid but no replacements were offered. Whilst not the hotel's fault, I still feel more could have been done. The hotel is a decent stay, however, there were just too many little things that all added up to make it such that I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view, it is quite spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Lauren S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed reveiw following your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

Firstly I would like to offer my apologies that there was an issue with one of the unit's above drainage units spilling onto you whilst enjoying a beverage, this is most unfortuante and again I do apologise. Owners within the building are well aware that these drains are only there as rainfall run off and not to be used to clean or to disgard other liquids.

I'm very pleased to read that you foudn the hotel acceptable and the rooms spacious, it is concerning to read however that there were cleanliness issues within the room, this is unacceptabl eand something we do take very seriously.

We have just undertaken a full audit of rooms to ensure that all owners carry out a planned refurbishment of rooms if furniture is in an unacceptable condition, we hope to have this rectified in the very near future.

Lauren, once again we thank you for your feedback and do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City Resort again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    599
    316
    150
    149
See reviews for
851
543
41
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Have stayed here before a few years ago but had forgotten how much I love this place. The rooms are massive. Balcony view of the ocean was lovely. The pools are superb. The room furniture is a little dated but everything was clean and since the room rate is so cheap I don't mind this at all. The full size kitchen was great to prepare my own meals. Bed was comfy and had a great sleep. Every room in this apartment is huge. The bathroom was huge and the shower is the biggest I have ever been in.
I have stayed in a few different places on the Gold Coast over the years and this place is definitely my favourite. It can't be beaten for room size, location, balcony views and value for money. The pools alone are worth the price of the room rate. I thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with views of the ocean. Make use of the fantastic pools. The outdoor spa and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagellanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear MagellanMelbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort, we're very pleased that you love this resort.

It's great to read that the room sizes, balconies, pools and hotel facilties have met your needs and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I work for a day respite centre in the Gold Coast. I took a small group of ladies on a 1 night getaway to Mantra Sun City. From the inital contact of booking to checkout then ENTIRE experience was better than i could have asked for. Big rooms, Big open bathrooms, nil trip hazards, all level perfect for my clients whose mobility is a little issue. Cannot speak highly enough. We WILL be back!!

Room Tip: Stayed on level 6, excellent level, perfect views of the sunset and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Laura M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're very pleased that you and the laides enjoyed your stay with us and the property and accommodation were suitable for your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near fruture.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here 2 weekends ago and was pleasantly surprised how spacious the 2 bedroom apartment was. Represented very good value for money. Location is great and easy walking distance from shops, cafes and restaurants.
Our stay however was marred by incompetent, rude and unhelpful check in staff. Fed us lies all day about when our room would be cleaned and available. When one of our guests became very ill they were told to just wait on the couch and offered no advice as to when the room could be accessed.
Also there appeared to be several functions going on like hens night and 21sts. Hotel was very noisy over night and when reception was contacted regarding the noise nothing changed with the noise levels.
Rooms were great but staff were simply young and incompetent. They should not be working reception at a 4.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear mmij,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review based on your experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room and it was suitable for your short break.

I do however offer my apologies that there was confusion regarding the check in times for the room, we offer a 2pm check in and a 10am check out, anything outside of these parameters if managed on a case by case basis.

Surfers Paradise does attract many diverse groups of guests to the coast for all different types of social occassions, we offer a security service overnight and from early on the weekend to aleviate any noise complaints, these can be directed through to our reception team who will liaise with the security contractor's to ensure guests comfort levels are not disturbed.

Once again we do thank you for your feedback and do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City Resort in the future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed midweek in July in a two bedroom apartment which was huge and well-appointed. The inside was spotless but the balcony floor and outdoor setting could have done with a wipe down. Two electric fan heaters were not sufficient to heat the space and while opening the dishwasher I got a slight electric shock while the heaters were going. Although we were on the 14th floor the water pressure was good and lifts were readily available and fast.

Service was friendly and efficient. Toiletries smell divine. The beds were very comfortable but the resort is on a busy corner so we got traffic noise early in the morning and the surf could be heard at night. Although the decor could do with an update, it wasn't as horrendous as some reviewers have made it out to be. We intend to return one day and take full advantage of facilities as we only stayed one night.

The ocean view was great and resort facilities included 3 pools, a gym, 2 saunas and a spa. However the steam sauna was not working at the time. Also when turning on the air conditioner a grating from the ceiling swung open and hit my husband on the head. More maintenance needs to be done around the place by the looks of things.

Sayas restaurant had a great buffet breakfast for $20 a head if booked the previous night. Although Asian guests are catered for, we had a German visitor with us and it would have been good if some ham and cheese was provided to cater for northern European guests also.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the extra outlay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosaposer165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear rosaposer165 ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and take on board the maintenance issues you have raised, we will certainly attend to those.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We took this 2 night deal from the internet, choosing it on price only. Having said that, we only expected to get what we paid for but we were more than surprised. It was clean, the staff more than pleasant and helpful, the parking was very secure and easy to access, the unit was far bigger than expected and the view fabulous (from the 29th floor). As well as the price being right, the '2 for 1' meal deal just topped off our stay. The staff and meals at Sayas restaurant were up there with the top restaurants in GC. The apartment could do with a bit more lighting (difficult to read) and the batteries in the aircon remotes were flat. We'll be back.

Room Tip: There is a lot of development work (light rail system) going on around the area, so choose a room up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maiva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Maiva B,

Thank you for your recent review of Mantra Sun City Resort, we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We're pleased you enjoyed the service and food at Sayas, the restaurant is now closed for four weeks for a refurbishment, we hope you enjoy the changes when you return.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our apartment was a 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom, lots of room for the 4 of us.
Huge family room with plenty of chairs/couch. Great view from the balcony, kitchen had all the appliances needed.

Things to do at the hotel, 3 pools, 2 spas and 2 waterslides with a gym and sauna, there is also a games room for the kids

The convenience store across the road has most necessities but is expensive

The food was delicious from the restaurant

About 7 minute walk to Caville Ave and 1 block from the beach

Make sure you bring your own toiletries because only a small amount is supplied in the room ie 20ml shampoo and conditioner and 1 soap for each bathroom

I don't have anything negative to say about this hotel, we had a wonderful time and have already talked about staying there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Elizabeth R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of the accommodation and faciltiies available at Mantra Sun City Resort, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing