We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't return”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We found the place and our room in particular dirty. The shower in the ensuite bathroom was covered in mould and the room itself very dated. Not enough blankets or doona's despite staying in the middle of winter. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment however hardly anything was supplied for it to be self sufficient, there was only 1 small saucepan, 3 plates (there were 4 of us) no knifes, no cutting boards etc.

It was very disappointing as the website makes it seem very appealing however it is more like a backpackers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Kylie M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're very sorry that the standard of the room did not meet your needs, the inventory in the room should certainly have been checked prior to your arrival and I will certainly investigate this so that we can ensure the correct inventory is put back into this room.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,776 - 1,782 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here at the end of June and were booked into a 2 bedroom self contained apartment. The room was 1407 and it had a fantastic view of the surfers paradise ocean from all the bedrooms and the lounge room. The bedrooms were large with a king bed in the master, a huge walk in robe leading into a massive ensuite with dual wash basins, a bath and shower. The kids bathroom was a good size as well. The tv was a Samsung flat screen and a great size, the kitchen was well equipped and the lounge area was massive. It rained a lot but the indoor pool and spa were used by the kids and the water was like a bath, it was wonderful. The restaurant was lovely and the breakfast Buffett was really good value with a huge selection and the kids loved making their own pancakes. When ever we ran out of washing liquid etc reception would give us new ones without a hassle. The laundry was handy and the dryer was great as well. The only disappointment was the room did not have any form of heating except for 2 small electric fan heaters. We ended up asking reception for another one as it was pretty cold.
You can get beach or pool towels from reception at a cost of $3.00 which was good. We then moved from here down the road to Mantra Crown Towers and were a bit disappointed with the size and quality of the room. We wished we could have stayed at the Sun City, in fact we walked back there everyday to eat at Sayers restaurant.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank 2406tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Daer 2406tommy,

Thank you very much for providing such a detailed review of Mantra Sun City Resort along with the service and facilities, we're very pleased that you and the family enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sayas is currently closed for renovation and will be reopened in four weeks with a whole new look and feel which is exciting, we hope you enjoy the change when you return.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our room cost approx $400 for one night. on check in we were advised we would be receiving free breakfast, when we went to get it we were denied. I was sent back up to our room three times for various paperwork etc to find out they had made a mistake and we would not be receiving it, not even a discount for the trouble.
The room itself was mutton dressed as lamb. No doonas were provided on any of the beds (in the middle of winter), The mattress protector was old and the mattress itself was stained and the bed broke halfway through the night. Overall a complete disappointment considering how much we spent on the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Keitha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Keitha C,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I am very sorry for the confusion regarding your breakfast, believing that it may have been included in the rate and the paperwork confirming that it was not. I will ensure that the team are made aware of this confusing correspondance so that this does not happen again.

I also offer my apologies regarding your bed, I will endeavour to try and investigate which room this was so that we can rectify this with urgency.

Once again we do thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My god! How rude and unprofessional. We paid almost $1900 for 3 nights. Room is ok. None of the essentials like a chopping board and bulbs out throughout the apartment. Sun chair broken. Spacious but basic. We were room 2301. We rang the manager Ricardo Ramjass who's customer service was disgraceful! They advertise room service daily and do not deliver and really do not care. I have no issues paying the $$$$ but service and standard must deliver. In this case it did not.

Room Tip: Ocean view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cla2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Cla2m,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We appreciate that there was miscommunication regarding room service on Sunday and Monday evening's whilst the restaurant is closed, I do apologise that the communication exchange has left you feeling that the team member was rude, I have since spoken with him and have full confidence that he has tried to assist in the most professional way considering the circumstances.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just arrived home after a wonderful two days in an ocean view apartment. What a treat! Beautiful views, spacious, comfortable beds. We had the buffet breakfast each morning, which was lovely. The staff at both the front desk and the restaurant are professional and friendly. The swimming pools and spas downstairs are fun and enjoyable in all weathers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear 40RB,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent short break to Mantra Sun City Resort.

I'm pleased the ocean view suite was suitable for your short stay and you enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the service provided was great.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Mantra was ok for the price, they keep the cost down by not servicing daily unless requested for a surcharge. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and really could not complain about anything other than the weather. We had the buffet breakfast included which was what you would expect for the price. Would I stay again? Yes in a heartbeat,

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Helmut F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Hlemut F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review following your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and wouldn't hesitate to return in a heart beat.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars

General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel Sunday June 30th 2013, Booked this hotel through Wotif, classed a 4 and a half star on the site, however i would say it is too outdated to get this kind of rating. check in was at 2pm, i got there at 1:40 hoping the room would be ready a little earlier, was told it would be a half hour wait, so waited in the car until 2pm, as this was check in time, was then told it would be another 10 minutes wait, waited around in lobby until a little after 2:30 when i get told the room is ready, then by the time we fill out the paperwork and get into the room it's 2:45.

Overall was a nice hotel if you're expecting no more than 4 star, view was nice, can hear the waves crashing, rooms are quite spacious, beautiful swimming pool with water slides, great place or children as there is a cool games room also.

Only bad points were the outdated room, looked like the kitchen was from the 80's, and the late check in.

R.Hancock

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_Hancock_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear R_Hancock_Brisbane,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of the great resort facilities. I do apologise that the room wasn't ready for your arrival, very unfortuante. I thank you for your feedback on the rooms and you'll be pleased to know that we share this information with our owners in the hope that they will look at refurbishing in the near future.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $98 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Sun City offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches. Facilities include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and dragon waterslide, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade. Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing