We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool, bad sheets.”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
North Coast NSW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice pool, bad sheets.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for one night for her birthday. We loved the pools, the slides and the spa. Staff were friendly and attentive. However, the metal chairs and stools in the room are very heavy to move and uncomfortable, and I was very disappointed to have to sleep on 40% polyester sheets at a hotel of this standard. I had a very uncomfortable 'sleep'. Also a little disappointed that room service was delivered in a take away container in a plastic bag! Overall, not bad, but disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maryatbruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear maryatbruns,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your overnight stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We certainly appreciate your feedback regarding the pools, slides, spa and the staff, it's great to read and I'll be sure to pass on your comments ot the team.

I am however to read that the stools in the room are heavy to move, this is the first advice I have had on this problem so I'll be sure to investigate your room and the issue you have raised.

I also offer my apologies that you were not happy with the standard of sheets, Unfortunately this is the standard that all of our properties use on the Gold and Tweed coast and again the first time the issue has been raised.

Our room service meals are clearly stated on the a la carte menu on how they are served, the reason for htis is maintain a competitive price to our guests and also the issue of room service trays in our corridors.

maryatbruns, thank you once again for your feedback, we do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    594
    315
    149
    149
See reviews for
847
539
41
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location approximately 100 metres to the beach and around a 1km from Cavill Avenue. Stayed in a one bedroom ocean view apartment with plenty of room and views of the ocean and hinterland. The rooms are looking a little tired and are in need of a refurb but overall they were clean and comfortable. A little frustrating with getting in and around the area due to the light rail system being put in but overall we had a good stay. We would definately stay here again!!

Room Tip: Definately go for an Ocean View on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissielou71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Lissielou71,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent short break to Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're pleased that you found the room spacious and clean and the general location of the resort.

We are constantly working with our owners to ensure that refurbishment and refreshing of the rooms is happneing and we will again continue this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City Resort

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Quite a good location, although at the moment the Gold Coast is under construction with the light rail being worked on so all around the property and the streets is fenced off and sometimes gets quite noisy. Request a high level room with ocean views as they are fantastic, if you happen to get a hinterland view this is also okay but we prefer the surf side. Hotel has all the services and things you need but the decor is a bit outdated with the colours etc but overall very clean and well kept. Down in the lobby they have a nice area to buy snacks,drinks and icecreams. Also happy hour in the bar for cocktails.

Room Tip: high level ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank o12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear o12,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City resort.

We thank you for your contribution outlining the hotel's accommodation and leisure facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with myself and child. We stayed on the 32nd floor with ocean/amazing view. The check in was quick, however swipe cards didn't work and had to be redone (no big deal). The room was clean and well fitted out. Although it was very 90s decor and fittings. The block out curtains were a real plus (esp with kids!!)
The hotel itself has some sort of Aztec, Indiana Jones, Vegas theme going on... which probably makes it feel more dated! It also has the atmosphere of somewhere a bit derelict / that was quite busy in former days, eg bar that was never open, atm that was out of order...
Pool and outdoors areas were really nice and appeared well maintained. Indoor pool is supposedly heated but wasn't. Had to pay non-refundable $3 for a towel.
I noticed other comments about the smell on the room floors - didn't notice it myself except when putting garbage in the chute!!
Roadworks around the area made it frustrating to get to, and seemed to change on a daily basis - although this is no fault of the hotel. There was also a bit of noise from the backpackers across the road (again no fault of the hotel, but it does travel - even to up to the 32nd floor!)
Overall, really good - if a little dated. Staff helpful and friendly. Location good, and good facilities.

Room Tip: Ocean view up towards main surfers is great for view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilbluehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear lilbluehorse,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent short break to Mantra Sun City Resort, we certainlyh appreciate your contribution.

It's great to read that the apartment and resort suited your needs and I thank you for the detailed feedback on the resort's leisure facilites and services.

The theming you mentioned is certainly Aztec and the Body Corporate are working closely with a project management team to have this refurbished in the very near future, bringing the theming a refreshed and renewed look which will certainly assist with the whole look and feel of the building.

The light rail work that is currently occuring will be with us in the short term but major construction work should be completed by the end of this year ending traffic congestion and unwelcome noise.

Once again, thank for your contribution, we do look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City in the near future.

Best regards
Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the easter weekend for a night, got a mystery deal through wotif and ended up with a one bedroom ocean view apartment. Check in was speedy and the staff were super friendly. View was fantastic nice ocean view on a high floor and the apartment was huge, however all the furniture was very old, the couches were ripped and faded and the matress on the bed quite small and uncomfertable, hubby's feet hung over the end. Wouldnt pay full price for this particular room with the way it was looking and state of furnishing, it would be muh nicer if it had newer furniture. However i do have a girls night next for a friends birthday next month and this was the only place with 3 bedroom apartments so hopefully the next stay will be in a better room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Tristan M,

Thank you for your recent review following your overnight stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I am pleased that the staff were super friendly and your check in experience speedy.

I would appreciate it if you could please email me directly at the hotel so I can liaise with the owner of this apartment to upgrade the furniture with urgency.

My email address is Damian.Sillars@mantra.com.au

I would also like to have a look at your next booking for your girls weekend away.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bed apartment on the 23rd floor with 4 children (teenagers) (not all mine thank goodness). The pool for the kids was amazing a kept the 13 year old girls very entertained. The balconies all the way around were handy. Great views. Our room needed a spruce up with paint but still presented well. First impression was "wow". Nice furnishings and curtains was the key. The staff were courteous. Room was not super cheap. But that's the going rate I guess for such an apartment. It was large. The restaurant Sayas was okay. Not great cocktails but the food was nice.Again, a bit expensive but not out of this world expensive. Views were lovely from so high up. Would be nervous if our teens had been really young out on the balcony. Mattresses were reasonable but could do with an upgrade also.

Room Tip: If you don't have little ones then go the higher floors for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Brisgirl11,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent short break at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the apartment suited your needs.

I also appreciate your feedback regarding the staff, I will be sure to pass the feedback on that you found them courteous.

I thank you for taking the time to visit Sayas Restaurant during your stay and will pass your feedback onto the Restaurant team for review.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

First time with my family (2 girls under 6) to Gold Coast. Booked Mantra Sun City because of the water slide facility without checking Trip advisor first. Then went to Trip advisor website and read bad comments from other travellers. Almost cancel the reservation but luckily we paid extra to have ocean view room (worth every cents) and requested to have higher floor & away from the lift. All ticked and there was no problem at all upon checked in. Girls loved their room, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. Pools, gym, spa and sauna are great plus all staff members are very helpful. Thank you so much and we will recommend this hotel to our family and friends. There is one small thing...the rubbish area is really2x smells! Maybe in the future Mantra Sun City can find the solution for that!

Room Tip: Pay extra for ocean view, strong req for higher floor (for light sleepers).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommyS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear MommyS_13,

Thank you for taking the time to provide very valuable feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I'm very pleased to read that you did not cancel your reservation and that you enjoyed your stay with us including the apartment, facilities and staff, great to read.

We are working on a solution with urgency regarding the odor coming from the refuse rooms, installing new lidded recycling bins to ensure that the odor is contained within that room.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing