We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“URGENT READ REVIEW BEFORE BOOKING”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“URGENT READ REVIEW BEFORE BOOKING”
Reviewed April 30, 2008

After spending weeks researching where would be an approperiate hotel to stay while in surfers for 5 days.. both my partner and myself agreed on the mantra sun city.. expecting a beautiful holiday and great accomodation we were highly appauled.. Paying $150p.n is not exactly a cheap holiday and you would expect something rather nice considering its non peak season. It included breakfast which mind you was horrible.. curdled eggs, and empty trays most of the time..As soon as you had one thing on your plate the rest of the trays were empty so it was quite impossible to have a plate full of breakfast because everything came out at interval times.. also breakfast was served in the lobby not the restaurant so you ended up sharing a cluttered table with people you didnt know.. Not exactly my type of breakfast sharing with strangers especially when your ment to be on a romantic getaway.. Now to the room, suposably the 'superior' king room.. We arrived to find nothing more than a basic motel room with 2 single beds pushed together.. A bathroom which was never cleaned or new towels supplied and a airconditioner on the balcony which leaked onto 2 broken plastic chairs.. Hardly my idea of 4 star.. The pool was nice although the waterslides were closed.. apparently there open one week out of the year which is in december.. Staff were rude and not helpful at all. Failing to book a taxi 3 times during our star. Young staff ran the place so when trying to request something it was impossible.. The way in whcih the staff dress also is inapproperate showing navel areas and half of there upper thighs.. if sun city is anything to go by i wont be visitng any mantra resorts again.. should of spend that extra $50 and stayed at the marriot.. goodluck.. australis across the road looks great! have a browse at that

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — the staff and the room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank melbournegal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    599
    316
    150
    149
See reviews for
851
544
41
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

We stayed at Sun City for a weekend for my boyfriend's birthday. We were very much looking forward to it as I had stayed there many years before and loved it. I booked directly with the hotel and requested on 2 occasions to have a nice room with a balcony.

We arrived and were immediately told by a disinterested, bored receptionist that there were no rooms with balconies available. I explained that I had requested this twice as it was a special occasion and she said sorry there aren't any. I asked if it was at least a nice room and she said she didn't know as each room was different.

We then went up the hotel room...it was horrible! Sun City is supposed to be a 4 1/2* hotel. This room was of a 2 1/2* standard. The bedhead was made of wicker with paint peeling off it. The carpet was old. The TV was tiny and probably about 20 years old. It was the most unromantic room I have ever been in.

I phoned down to reception and spoke to our lovely friend....she said there were 2 other rooms we could look at - another hotel room (with a balcony!? 10 minutes ago there hadn't been any?) and an apartment which would be $40 extra per night. The hotel room was pleasant and if we had been given that in the first place we would have been satisfied. However upon looking at the apartment you couldn't compare and we decided to go with this room as it was so much bigger and nicer.

We had no problems with this room other than at 1am we awoke to hear gushing water and in a panic turned on the lights and saw water running from the back of the airconditioner. We immediately turned it off and soaked up the water with a towel. I informed the receptionist the next morning and she assured me that someone would fix it that day. By the afternoon it didn't appear that anyone had been to look at it so I went past reception again and spoke to our friend from the night before, who was again rude and bored. Eventually someone took a look at it and the problem was resolved.

Other problems with the hotel....the pool is a great area and we were very excited to go on the slides. However the main big slide was closed the whole time we were there for no apparent reason.

We had breakfast included in our rate and again this was not of a 4 1/2* standard. Restaurant just looked tired and old with a very poor selection of food.

Overall I don't think we would stay there again. Although the apartment room was great and would be perfect for families, the hotel in general is tired and the staff do not appear to like or care about working there. It's a shame as it used to be a great, fun place to stay and is in a great position in Surfers!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Booking this hotel 3 months before we were due to arrive, the hotel wouldn't let us pay even a deposit. Wary of travelling all the way from WA to find no accomodation we called them 3 times before arriving just to confirm we were booked in. The last call a week before we arrived, the receptionist commented on what a great room we had on one of the higher floors.

Imagine our surprise when we arrived to find we were on the first floor!! After a few choice words, we managed to get moved to the 11th floor. The 2 bedroom apartment was very, very run down. Worn out carpets, the cane couch was worn out and covered with part of an old bedspread cover, and the bathroom door only opened if you gave it a giant shove with your shoulder. It was totally different to the pictures I had seen online.

My main worry was the windows. Having 3 children ages 6, 3 and 14 months, it was of great concern to me that the windows were so easy to open. By easily turning the latch, the window just pushed wide open. If any of my kids had climbed on a chair............well, you can only imagine. After 3 phone calls, someone FINALLY came and jammed the windows closed with some wood. Not ideal, but it let me rest easier.

After a complaint to the manager by a third party, we arrived home on the 10th day to find we had been locked out of our room. After going downstairs, the manager apologised for the state of our room, and told us the fire alarms, which had been checked that day, weren't working in our room! So were were moved to the 31st floor.

While a much better apartment, things were still run down. Like the curtain in bedroom 2, half of it was missing, so the room couldn't be darkened!!

On a brighter note, the outside facilities are fantastic! The pools are great, as are the waterslide(s). Although there was only 1 working the whole time we were there!

The reception staff are fantastic, but the other staff always looked miserable. I didn't see a smile out of any of them!

The breakfast in the restaurant isn't the flashest either. Food wasn't replaced, and the staff, well, not the most polite.

The room cleaning staff weren't the best either. My little boy's bed was made with a crushed potato chip still on the sheets.

While it's location is good, away from the hustle and bustle, but not too far to walk into town, and the grounds are great, I really feel some of the rooms need a revamp, as well as window locks! (Thankfully the balconies were lockable!)

  • Liked — Pool area
  • Disliked — Run down rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MissDefying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Stayed in 1 bedroom suite on 21st floor with great views. Suite was spacious however furniture was dated and in need of a make-over - especially the lounge which sunk in the middle and was dirty. Large bathroom which was clean. Only sheer curtains on the windows so the sun beamed in each morning at 5.30 am - OK if you have a young family and want to get an early start but if you want to sleep in you had no chance as the windows are large. Lifts and hallways were stuffy and hot - no A/C in these areas. Guests were constantly having problems with keys not operating properly. Only one block to the beach however a good 10 min walk to Cavill Ave. Excellent pool for children with waterslides. Buffet breakfast was relatively cheap at $15 however for a basic selection. The pool bar was not very well stocked - you couldn't buy a bottle of water. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel needs some TLC however if you have children, want to be close to the beach, have a great view from higher floors and not too close to the nightlife this would be a good place to stay - for anyone else - you can do better!

  • Liked — View from room
  • Disliked — No lblinds on windows
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MorganWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah WA
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

We had previously stayed in a 2 bed apartment at the Sun City when it was still The Outrigger (about 2 years ago), so after reading many reviews on this site for other hotels we decided to stick with what we knew was nice and clean and stayed there again for 8 nights at the beginning of November (off peak).

Unfortunately, our experience this time was less than great.
We booked a 2 bedroom apartment again (friends also went and booked same) and thought the rate we paid was fantastic (to book direct with the hotel for 8 nights was $5000+, we got it for $1250 through a travel agent!!!!) but there must be a deluxe version and a standard version, and this time we definitely had the standard!

The last time we stayed the room was absolutely beautiful and we really talked it up to our friends, so were very disappointed when these rooms turned out to be very average.

Horrible green paint on the walls that was chipped and cracked, very very shabby furniture, and I refused to let any of us in the ensuite shower as it was covered in mould (shower in 2nd bathroom was fine). I asked the following day to have it cleaned, which was done within a couple of hours but not very well, so we used the other shower for the rest of our stay. Our room wasn't made up once in the whole 8 nights and I had to request fresh towels (they bought up 10 so we wouldn't have to ask again!!).
Microwave in friends room didn't work, made it difficult with a baby who need bottles warmed, had to do it the old fashioned way in a pot! They sent up a technician who couldn't fix it so it was left as is.

Check in was difficult , which is the last thing you need at 10pm with 3 kids in tow. We had requested rooms next to each other (or at least on the same floor) but they didn't even have our friends booking so we ended up being on different floors. Your room card won't let you go higher than your allocated floor in the elevator and the reception staff made out like it was such a huge problem to change the cards, then stuffed it up so that we couldn't access the carparks!

Elevators were generally fine, except for the Friday when we had to wait over an hour, apparently there were a lot of people checking out (would've taken the stairs but had a pram and were on 21st floor).

Sayas restaraunt was also generally fine for dinner, though give brekkie a miss, quite ordinary and even my daughter wouldn't eat the pancakes! Staff were lovely and quite attentive but then it wasn't busy at all. Also, we were quite surprised that there was nowhere to have a coffee mid morning as they were all closed....
Room service was great, prompt and hot, though the menus in the rooms are old. They had a kids mini steak and vege dish on there that wasn't available, all you can get really is the usual nuggets & chips which was disappointing.



On the plus side - pools/spas were great, the ocean views were fantastic and the noise levels were minimal ,but I think next time I would pay the extra and stay at Crown Towers.

Last of all, we had a balcony which had sliding doors leading off the 2 bedrooms and the lounge, however they only had flick locks on the doors, there was no key lock or patio bolt so we spent the whole time being paranoid that our kids would get out on the balcony (eg first thing in the morning)........

  • Liked — great views, good location
  • Disliked — unclean & shabby, desperate need of renovations
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ravenclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Paid a premium price for a place which advertised iteslf as a 4.5* facility ... doesn't live upto its name.

Agree with the others giving this place a thumbs down.

We had a 'hotel' room. The carpets, furniture, linen looked rather shabby. Bathroom was a bit dirty (clean as such ... but tiles could do with some good scrubbing).

Rate included a daily service, but they only changed the towels and emptied the bins. Bed wasn't made up.

Had breakfast on site (which was included in the nightly rate). Was average, nothing special .... the usual breakfast fare of fruits, cereal, eggs (only scrammbled ... no other option), bacon, etc.

Service of reception staff was good, but bar and restaurant staff was appalling. Had one of the worst coffees and milk-shakes ever.

Room wasn't ready for check-in at advertised time (2pm) and had to wait 2 hours.

Corridors and lifts smelt. Corridors also had linen trolleys and temporary beds lying about for the two days we were there.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeautifulMind000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

On arrival we were given a small box of a room, very drab, the cleanliness dubious. Holes in doona cover., and green slime on wall. (someone prior to our visit must have had a cold!!)
Sadly within minutes back down to Reception and given an option, of paying an extra $50 and could upgrade to a bigger room, hopefully cleaner.
We agreed to this, paid the extra. The receptionist said they would have the house room service look at prior room...perhaps a quick makeover and remove those sad tired pale something color bedside table lamps!

Our next accomadation, was much better, still needing a bit of a spring clean, but improved greatly.

Breakfast fine, Dinner fine, lifts nearly useless, took the stairs, on a couple of occassions. Just had to step in grey water at bottom of steps in basement car park, a bad leak somewhere. During our 5 day stay, no beds made, nor any cleaning at all, and thought this was odd!!

However when requesting clean towels, (they were delivered by lady who was friendly and prompt.)

The lovely pool took a turn for the worse, it became totally brown, urgently pool company called in to rectify, warning signs placed in elevators, to advise people not to use pool and it would be back in action on Saturday. Sadly that was our departure day.

The "young girls" in the resturant appeared overworked, and at times a bit distant towards guests, yet I think to be fair, they were so understaffed, that they probably were needing some time out, it appeared rather slap dash. Simple things like salt and pepper shakers appeared to be in short supply. Talking to a fellow guest, one morning he stated an apparent shortage of cutlery led them to just wait, until another lot had been washed before they could eat brekky.

We wont be returning, I would hate own an apartment at Mantra Sun City, I think money appears a little on the tight side, and they are trying to do as much on the cheap as they can. Next time we will go for accomadation a little more personalized, as we felt invisable and just an inconvenience to the front desk staff! Better luck next time....

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank PheobeVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing