We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mantra Sun City”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Albion Park, Australia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Mantra Sun City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Although these are mainly privately owned rooms, so they can vary from room to room, you should expect very spacious comfortable accommodation. Mantra Sun City is close to the beach and the central shopping areas. The views up and down the coast were spectacular, make sure you get up early and watch a sunrise.
The rooms were very quiet, but we were 28 floors up so did not hear any traffic noise. We did not have anything to do with the reception, as we went through private booking, but the staff we ran into were very polite.
The Aztec water slide was a big hit with my family and there is a good selection of pools for different age groups.
There was a problem with the heated pool not being heated and one lift refusing to accept our key. Also avoid the place on garbage week as the bins were left in the sun for 4 days, at the main entrance, and the stench became very potent.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are quieter. Get a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Hi Mark C,

Thank you for posting your review. Mantra is the Letting Agent for Sun City but there are also a number of private let units which we are not responsible for and it is difficult for me to make any comments about these units. There was an issue with our humidifier for the indoor pool which was fixed within 24 hours. Our garbage bins are taken out to the street daily for collection and return into the building the same day.
Thank you again for your comments.

Regards,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    516
    275
    134
    131
See reviews for
734
479
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tannum Sands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Nice but a bit pricey for what you get, charged $3 if you want a pool towel........come on. Rooms are very spacious and well appointed and can't think of anything that was wrong except that everything additional would incur a charge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hi amie66,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay with us.It sounds as though you enjoyed your stay at ourr property. The extra charge for pool towels is to cover the laundry and replacement cost as we do lose many of these items.
I certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Sincerley,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast OZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

What a great place to stay. We had a two bedroom ocean view apartment with views down out over the ocean and all down the coast and the views at night were great too. We had plenty of room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, large fully equipped kitchen, separate laundry and a decent verandah. What a great pool for the whole family, couldn't get enough. The apartment was clean and tidy. All round nice and comfortable feel for the whole family. Like the location too, just a 5 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Central Surfers Paradise. Service was friendly and efficient. Yeah a nice place to stay and relax. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treasureireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Hi treasureireland,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review following your recent stay with us. I will be certain to pass this on to all the team.
It sounds as though you got to make use of all our facilities at the property - this is highly encouraged!
I certainly look forward to welcoming you back again with your family in the near future.
Sincerely,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

we booked Mantra Sun City after reviwing the website and thought the waterslides would be great for our 6 & 4yr old. They loved the slides and pool area and spent hours going up and down (warning - kids have to be a certain height to use them so check in advance). We needed lunch on arrival and the bar only serves chips and icecreams and the resturant wasn't opened so we were not prepared for that.
Sadly the room we had was very dated and in poor condition and the TV was ancient and did have ABC4 (which our kids love). It did have a great view of the ocean. Overall it was only for one night and we got a good rate but I would say our room didn't really reflect the images on the website.

Room Tip: perhaps request facing the ocean to minimise the noise from the highway and also ask for a modern ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hi MelindaBrisbane,
Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay with us at Mantra Sun City. We are thrilled you were delighted with your stay at our property. It is certainly family orientated and the water slides and pools are great entertainment for the children. All units are privately owned and we are constantly working with owners to refurbish where necessary. Your feedback is of valuable assistance to us when talking with these owners.
Thank you again for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon for a longer stay.
Kind regards,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Fabulous Pools, 24 hr Reception and On site resturant great value with free full buffet breakfast each morning. Room was a little run down but clean perfect for families with a full kitchen, dishwasher, plus wash drier. Down stairs is a pool bar pool tables, timezome like games and several pools one with 2 waterslides and BBQ area. We have stayed here twice now and will stay again. Location is perfect for theme parks only a street from the bus to seaworld and another to dreamworld movie world etc

Room Tip: We got a 2 bed apt with 2 bathrooms full kitchen and view of Beach and River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Simone S,
Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us at Mantra Sun City.
We are thrilled you were delighted with your unit and all the facilities the property has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you and your family back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We expected far more from a Mantra resort. Our room had stains all over the carpet, the airconditioning was useless and shut down in the middle of both of our nights we stayed. The TV remote did not work properly. When we asked after one night for this to be fixed, it was not completed and we were not offered another room. Sweated 2 nights in a row. The hallways smelt musty and the whole place had a general feeling of being run down. Will never go to Sun City again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Hi Paul M,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay.
We do experience maintainance issues from time to time and when reported we endeavour to fix them. Sometimes with air conditioning they cannot be fixed immediately however, minor issues such as remote can. We had been experiencing issues with our garbage chutes due to a faulty fan motor which may have caused some odour in some of the foyers. I do sincerley apologises for any inconvenience caused due to these isues during your stay.
I hope that we do have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sun City in the future.
Regards,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We were disappointed when we arrived at reception and were told $200 from our bank account would be frozen for 4-10 working days, even though we were only staying for 3 nights. This had not happened at the Salt Beach Mantra we had previously stayed at, also;

- Our room smelt musky on arrival and the furniture was dated, with no spare cushions on the lounges.
- The bedroom was decent sized however the curtains were sheer, with thick decoration curtains on either side that could not be pulled shut, which meant our room was flooded with light by 6am every morning making it impossible to sleep on our zip queen bed.
- Parking was difficult to find as it seemed the reserved spaces were scattered and some not properly marked.
- No beach towels were supplied and we were told it would be $3 to hire them, not what we were expecting.
- We had to go down to reception to collect more toilet paper as what we were allocated was not enough and there was no room service to check our supplies.

Overall comparing to Mantra on Salt Beach this was a huge let down, and we will not be staying here again, if anything we will visit Sayas Restaurant again as the service and meals were wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Jasmin B,
Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us at Mantra Sun City. I do sincerley apologises for some of the issues which you encountered during your stay.The bond you were charged is standard across all our Mantra properties and all hotels. We may certainly need to look at how we explain our parking procedures as there are 176 car park spaces available for our guests in the basement levels and a further 40 visitor parks. It may have sounded a little confusing on check in. As we are an apartment style accommodation, basic supplies of guest amentities and linen are only provided. Additional items are available from reception 24 hours daily. I am pleased that you did enjoy our restaurant and thank you again for this valuable feedback.
Kind regards,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing