We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed in that hotel during this Easter holidays. The rooms are unclean and smelly. The couches were stained. The receptionist was rude - his name is Grant. The property is managed by Strata and the owners do not care.......Absolutely terrible experience. The location is the only advantage......service is very bad. When requested to change roons - they declined and had to stay put as we already paid. Linens were never changed. Nobody prepares your room like how you get in hotels. Do not recommend this hotel for sure. There are lovely properties on the same street - look for those ones...never ever Breakfree Beachcomber......our family holiday was ruined.

Room Tip: Rooms nos bearing 1, 2 , 3 ,7 have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    123
    65
    61
    123
See reviews for
91
175
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

A great location in the centre of surfers within walking distance to the beach and shopping facilities great eateries. Beachcomber was very clean hotelstaff are very friendly and accommadating. We enjoyed our stay and will book with Beachcomber again in the near future

Room Tip: Ocean view high up is excellent and street noise is less
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

great location and very helpfull friendly staff,our first room wasnt to flash,but despite been fully booked we were able to change rooms ,the second one much better , despite other bad reviews I would stay here again,the hotel is certainly clean despite some reviews saying otherwise

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfers paradise
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is one of the older buildings but only 1 street back from Cavil Ave and about 50 mt to the beach. This is not the quietest buildings around and has had a bad name. But we note it is in the process of being cleaned up, example is they just had the whole building clean from top to bottom and is fixing the front entrance that was damaged by some visitors to the place. we have made complaints about some of the people staying there and note they are being moved on from the place. We think in time this could be a good hotel to stay once again if they keep getting rid of the rubbish from in and out of the building. Extra Security has just been put in place and hope that the management keep on top of improving the place.

Room Tip: If you have a problem do tell reception or their after hours service and they will have security or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ph411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

great views and friendly service. Thank you Beachcombers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakoda67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I Booked the beachcomber last year for our cricket trip as it was in the heart of everything we wanted, I stumbled across it by looking on the net for cheap stays in the heart of surfers, After looking into the Beachcomber and seeing the pics and reading up on whats close with things too do and places too go, i rang them and sent a email, I recived a email and call back the next day from Glenda Ferry, She was nice and also friendly and helped out with what ever i asked!!
The appartments that we stayed in were awsome, Clean and tidy, and everything in them we needed!! The spot was what we were told, a stroll too pubs, clubs and the never sleeping nightlife,
Thats why we returned back this year, Awesome accomodation and everything we asked for, Myself and the boys say thankyou and they wanna come back for the 3rd year running....
Thanks heaps Glenda Ferry once again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalbar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

The location of the Beachcomber Resort is perfectly situated in the middle of Surfers Paradise. My Wife and I booked our accommodation through Wotif.com as our once a year time to get away from the world and spoil ourselves on the Gold Coast. When we arrived we were given our keys and instruction from the friendly staff at the reception. as we opened the room door we were amazed to find the room completely trashed and a smell that was indescribable. I returned to reception saying that the room was not yet made up from the previous people and the reception instantly gave me a key to a new room on the 29th floor. This room was at least ready to move in to, however far from a standard you would expect when paying for a service. The dirt, mold, filthy windows and very out dated apartment was disappointing to say the least. Our print out from Wotif described the room as having a king size bed and a free buffet breakfast. The bed was to single beds pushed together and the breakfast was bacon and eggs with toast - definitely no buffet and the Coffee was extra. At nearly $400 for two nights, I could have stayed at the Sheraton that weekend for $40 extra. After the second night stay, I needed a chiropractic treatment to put my back in - another $80. Please be very careful if booking at this facility.

Room Tip: Inspect the room prior to paying, otherwise don't do it, as there are far better places with bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surfers International
Surfers International
#73 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
#39 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zenith Apartments
Zenith Apartments
#32 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#12 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise

Property: Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise
Address: 18 Hanlan St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Beachcomber Surfers Hotel
Breakfree Beachcomber Surfers Paradise
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing