We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is an ideal resort for families and there's plenty to see and do. I was very impressed with the water park facilities and cafe/bar located close to the main pool. I booked online in advance to secure my reservation but was disappointed to see much cheaper specials online at a later date. Felt a bit ripped off paying $300 a night with no meals or parking included. Spent a fortune on food. I was very happy with our room located on the first floor of the Captains Quarters as it was situated very close to facilities. The room was very tidy and nicely refurbished. Only thing missing was Foxtel. It's a very noisy resort but you have to expect that with a lot of kids around. It was very annoying when the high pressure water gurney was being used to clean around the pool area at 6.30AM!! Check out process was a bit painful with 16 people waiting in the line and only 3 staff serving. Reception staff service was okay but I wouldn't say great. It would also be good to have a free high speed Wifi that you don't need to sign in to. I would visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Captains Quarters overlooking the pool, as long as you're ok with a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Front Office Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear netmot

We're glad you felt all the facilities were fantastic for you and your family and took advantage of staying in our refurbished rooms in Captains Quarters. As you mentioned, specials can come up at anytime, if not already, may i suggest signing up for our email newsletters for specials and/or like our page on Facebook to keep up to date. Alternatively, should you wish to return, our reservations team would be more than happy to help with suitable accommodation needs and questions. I'm not sure why Foxtel wasn't available in your room as we have a number of Foxtel channels available featuring kids channels, movies, sports and news. We also provide 2 options for Wifi in the resort, $5/GB in Captains Quarters rooms or limited complimentary Wifi in reception and cafe, both require signing in for security purposes.

I have passed on your feedback regarding cleaning of the pool area early in the morning to the appropriate manager for follow up.

Thank you for leaving your feedback on the resort and we hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I, along with our five children stayed here for five days in September. We had an interconnecting room for the family. The room itself is low in quality, I agree. The carpets were dirty, the bathrooms mouldy and old with chipped paint and tiles. We experienced a leakage of the shower which spread out to the entrance, soaking the carpet. We were kindly offered a new interconnecting room, which I was excited about, hoping for improved quality, but was given a carbon copy of the previous room! You need to hire small, overused microwaves and they do not have a toaster on site. Having said this, the resort itself is fantastic. The staff are all so friendly, the cleaners always happy to assist and very friendly. The pool areas are great. The main pool is warm and the water parks are great, too. Many activities are available for the kids, all day, every day. A 24 hour gym is on site, the laundry clean with adequate supply of machines (this too is 24 hours). The restaurant is wonderful with great food at great prices. The cafe makes the best coffee and the staff are wonderful. The kids adored this place and think it was one of the best places we have stayed at. We then went to Chevron Renaissance after this and the kids preferred Paradise Resort. The whole atmosphere is relaxed and happy and we met wonderful people here. Someone mentioned bogan's frequent this establishment, but honestly, the guests here are so happy and friendly. They help enhance the festive atmosphere of this resort. If you have kids and want to relax on your holiday, this is the place. The kids can walk around the resort, rather than be cooped up in a high rise apartment. I do hope they continue to improve on the quality of the rooms as this does let them down somewhat. We intend to return again with our extended family and their children.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Thezanigeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Front Office Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Thezanigeal

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are not shy of the fact our rooms are aging, however all our rooms should be clean and presentable at all times. The shower leak is unfortunate, however sometimes things happen out of our control and i am pleased you were relocated promptly to another room. As you are aware we have completed 100 rooms of various rooms types which may have been better suited to your needs.Hopefully when you, please speak with our reservations team about rooms in Captains Quarters.

I am very pleased that all our facilities meet and exceeded your needs and are unmatched on the gold coast and even across Australia. We are continuing to invest in our facilities and hopefully some of these will be ready for the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

2 water parks, playgrounds, an iceskating rink, free comepetitions (eg eat jelly to win an iceblock!). My kids (4 & 5) were in heaven. The stay included 4 hours of kids club a day - so we got adult time too! The staff were all VERY friendly (eg all the cleaners woudl talk to teh kids and wish them a fun day) and the activities staff clearly loved their jobs. Only criticism....some of teh food was shocking (eg my husbands meal came out 45 minutes after mine and teh kids and was aweful and cold. However tyheer are some great restaurants nearby (we went to Fellini and Chiang Mai Thai - the latter was only a block away and brilliant).

Room Tip: ask for teh new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac_Mac07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Front Office Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Jac_Mac07

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and got to enjoy a great family holiday with some free time when the children were in kids club. It certainly appears you got try try just about everything and can take away some great memories. It is a shame you didn't enjoy your meals which encouraged you to try some of the great local restaurants nearby. I have forwarded this feedback onto our chefs for review. Our new menus have been received well and i am sure they will be disappointed with this feedback. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is most definitely not the type of hotel I would normally choose to stay in, but when you have kids that always need entertaining, then this is the place to be!

We have actually stayed in this hotel before just for the kids facilitates and the awesome kids club, which includes a 4 hour child minding session included in your room rate, and we live on the GC!

We recommend this hotel to all our friends that visit the Gold Coast with kids as it's so much less stressful to know that your kids are going to be entertained constantly and you can even have them looked after while you go out for a quiet dinner as a couple.

The room we stayed in was a superior room in the captains quarters, which has recently been renovated so it was fresh, clean and modern. I do believe they are going to be renovating the one bedroom family rooms but they haven't done that yet.

In the short time we were there, our kids watched smurfs by the pool on the big outdoor screen one night and they had a session in the kids club while my husband and I went out for dinner and they played games and joined in with the constant activities run every hour by the pool...so that took pressure off us to keep them entertained, it was awesome!

The only tip I will add is that the food at the hotels restaurants is pretty average, so you should definitely venture out for meals occasionally as it can get pretty boring eating in all the time and there are some great restaurants right at your door step....at the Marriott hotel next door is Benihana (Japanese steak house, superb, but you need to book!) a hop, skip and jump over the road in the QT hotel is Bazaar (buffett style dining like nothing you have ever experienced, pricey but oh so worth it!) and if you head into Cavil Ave you can enjoy ribs at Hurricanes in the Soul building, best ribs on the coast!!!

Some final tips, the ice skating is over priced for what it is, tiny and not well kept, the ice was very uneven and hard to skate on....we lasted half an hour of our 2 hour session and left! and the general store on sight is great, has everything you need, snacks, wine, so handy! As there is no room service I was visiting this shop frequently :)

We will definitely go back to Paradise Resort, they have spent so much money on the kids facilitates and it really shows, not for grown ups, without kids, but for families, you can't go past it!

Room Tip: if your stay is long then def go for a family room with a separate bedroom for the kids otherwise bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenStilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Front Office Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear HelenStilly

Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us, its great to get feedback especially from our return guests. As you stated we are all about family holidays and our focus is on ensuring they kids are entertained so the parents have time to relax or venture out for a few hours. We agree we are not the most suitable property for a travelling couple or business traveler without children. Outside movies are very popular especially now the nights are warming up.

Just so you are aware for your next visit, Captains Quarters have several accommodation options which includes a Superior Resort, Superior Bunk and Superior Family Room types all refurbished. Please ask our reservations team about the options available next time you book.

At the start of October we did in fact change our menus and to date have received some great feedback. You can view these online at www.paradiseresort.com.au in our "Eat" section of which we believe offer more variety and great value.

As for the Ice Rink, i have passed this feedback onto the appropriate team to look into the surface as we have processes in place to ensure the environment is safe and well prepared for all skaters. Being one of many features at the resort we believe the size of the rink is suitable for the size of the property and prices are comparative with other specialised rinks.

Thank you for acknowledging the investment we have made to our facilities and with more to come in the future, can't wait to see you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here in April this year with my family in a interconnecting room and loved it, came back again in September with a girlfriend and our daughters and had a hoot.
Great new re-furbished room, love the new bathroom area however do have to ask why there isn't a fan? Comfy beds and pillows and the girls loved the big yellow chair.
All meals and food we ate were good value, delicious to eat and were served in a timely and friendly manner. Eggs Benedict for breaky was an excellent way to start the day and the kids loved the waffles with berries. But our favorite server/barman would have to be Jefferson (sp?) his cocktails were to die for and he was always friendly and so lovely to our girls who also loved to have a mocktail with the little umbrellas, nothing was too much trouble.
All staff were very friendly and helpful, from front desk to kids club we could not say there was a grumpy one amongst them.

Keep up the great work people and we will definitely be back, thanks for everything.

PS: Sorry could not access the email/survey. It says thank you completing our survey which I did do in April, so I am assuming that is the reason.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit more and definitely book a re-furbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Front Office Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear WG S

It's great to read a review from a return guest that both stays were fantastic. Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

We are very proud to have available the newly refurbished Captains Quarters and strangely the Big Yellow Chair is popular with kids. Our bathrooms do have an extraction vent on the wall, however i have recorded your feedback for when we complete stage two of the room refurbishment to look at the venting of bathrooms again to possibly improve on this.

I have forwarded your recognition of the staff to our Human Resources department to ensure Jeffersons name is included in our employee of the month program. The staff are always pleased when they receive guest recognition.

Hopefully your 3rd visit will be soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I just spent three nights at Paradise Resort with my two kids and a friend with two kids also.

The kids club was excellent, kids had a ball and it gave us a chance to relax on our own.

The service and staff were all wonderful, it was great to see so many workers really enjoying their jobs!

The entertainment for the kids is a great bonus. They really enjoyed the shows and the movie night.

As stated in many of the other reviews, my only negative is the room. I had read some of these reviews so I wasn't overly surprised. The room was fairly clean but the carpet was dirty and old. We were facing the highway so the noise was loud. But the rest of the resort certainly makes up for what the room is not!

We are definitely coming back but I will be sure to secure a room in the newly renovated part of the resort!

Thanks for a great few days!


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slacjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Front Office Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Slacjones

Thank you for your feedback, however I think 3 nights is too short for a great holiday, Maybe next time you should stay a little longer.

We're glad to read that you found all our facilities, entertainment and staff excellent. All staff certainly enjoy what they do and it clearly shows from all these positive reviews.

We acknowledge our rooms are aging and this is why we are undergoing a staged refurbishment, however they should always be clean and presentable as per our room standards, this feedback has been forwarded onto the housekeeping manager for action.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The bad: Our room was not super clean but it was not too bad. The noise inside our room was painful. so ask for a quiet room. No swimming towels for hire so byo.

The good; Staff are friendly and accommodating. Play areas are amazing with great views of goldie in the background. Kids club is so good, staff are friendly and great with kids. Packages are so well priced. Do not need to do theme parks, paradise resort is one.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KtCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Front Office Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear KtCoo

Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort. We are glad that all facilities and staff exceeded your expectations and that we kept you entertained enough that you didn't need to leave.
I have passed on your feedback regarding your room to the housekeeping manager as we have strict room standards that we aim to maintain. Additionally, if you prefer to not have to pack pool towels, they are available for purchase from our resort shop printed with our resort characters.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,693 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,799 reviews
3.2 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
0.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort Gold Coast

Address: Mecure Hotel Ocean Blue Resort 122 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $136 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Resort Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted best Family Resort in Australia, Paradise Resort Gold Coast is renowned as Heaven for Kids and a Paradise for Parents! Where every accommodation package includes up to 4 hours of supervised care for every child 0-12years per day in the famous Zone 4 Kids Club, valued at $40each. The Zone 4 Kids Club is fully supervised which allows parents time to escape the daily routine and indulge in some holiday sightseeing or precious down time. There is also a giant Kids Water Park right in the centre of the resort, an indoor and outdoor playground, a permanent ice-skating rink plus a whole range of free daily activities and entertainment. And while the kids are looked after parents can rediscover the art of relaxation in the exclusive Zone 4 Adults. The outdoor spa area features a large heated spa and lounge chairs offering parents a place to unwind and soak up the sunshine 'child free'. Complete with the lagoon pool and spa, gym, bistro, cafe and bar Paradise Resort is the perfect choice for your next family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Paradise Resort Surfers
Paradise Hotel Surfers
Paradise Resort Australia
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing