We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked two connecting rooms for a week for our family of 5. It was recommended by a friend who told us the rooms were "a bit tired" but the facilities were fabulous. We found the accommodation to be more than tired, similar to what you would expect in a backpacker's hostel rather than a hotel or resort.

Literally the first thing I saw when I opened the door to our room, before I even put the key in the slot to activate the lights, was a cockroach running across the tea / coffee area. My husband went down to reception and we were offered another room, but in the smoking section of the hotel. I was adamant I couldn't stay in the original room so we moved to the new room. No cockroaches thankfully! The staff were at pains to point out also how prevalent bugs are in Qld due to the weather although I've never encountered any in my stays at other hotels.

The kids' club was also a big disappointment, my kids are 10, 9 and 6 and after their first session made me promise they would never have to go again as they were so bored.

The laundry room was a bonus although I found one round in the $4 per cycle dryer left things still very damp so they needed to be either hung out or put through another cycle.

The pool area was good, although the scheduled activities didn't interest my kids. The kids went ice skating on our final day which they enjoyed.

In hindsight I wish we had stayed somewhere else as the standard of the accommodation really detracted from this leg of our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Front Office Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Georgiakk

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback so we can continue to grow into the future.

As stated in other responses, we have just completed stage one of our room refurbishment and had these rooms been available I am sure they would have suited your needs. Comparing our room to a backpackers is not a fair representation of the rooms. I am pleased the staff where able to move you quickly to another room. With higher occupancy it does limit the availability of rooms when trying to change a booking and as a result it was unfortunate that moving to the smoking wing was all that was available. Additionally the first room you were allocated was placed offline and inspected for pests which no further evidence present. We run a monthly pest control program using an external contractor, which covers all areas of the hotel. Despite our best efforts from time to time some pests do make their way indoors.

Our Kids club receive excellent recognition on a regular basis for the work they do and it is a shame your children didn’t find it enjoyable. It would be appreciated if you could forward on some suggestions with how we could have made their experience a better one. This can be done via our contact us page and will be forwarded to the Resort Entertainment Manager.

We hope that you find suitable accommodation next time you are on the gold coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    537
    214
    120
    133
See reviews for
1,133
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just want to state that myself, Wife and Son Sam 10 and Daughter Elizabeth 7 recently stayed in a Junior Bunkhouse and LOVED it. Staff were Friendly and Helpful, room was recently renovated, was clean and refreshing. The Kids club (included in cost of some rooms) was loved by the kids the two 4 hour sessions we used. The outdoor pools and kids water parks were a huge success with us all. Overall I rate Paradise Resort highly and we will be back over and over again (until Kids are too old). Thank You Paradise Resort Gold Coast for making our family Holiday a success.

Room Tip: Ask about the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickandkathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Front Office Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear patrickandkathryn

I am so pleased to read your review of your time at Paradise Resort. As you had experienced on your last visit we have invested millions on our facilities over the past 2 years with the Z4K WaterPark always a success with the kids. Additionally it is wonderful that the recently refurbished JuniorBunk room was a hit with your family, these specialised rooms combined with all the resort facilities are what ensures our guests keep coming back.

Our Z4K Kids Club and staff always receive positive recognition for the wonderful effort they put into looking after the kids so parents can have to time to themselves.

We certainly look forward to you returning to the resort for many more years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Fantastic outdoor facilities for kids, no problems keeping them entertained.

Rooms are very average and looking in need of a much needed upgrade, and with ants !!!
Food in the restaurant is expensive and very basic,not a lot of healthy options for kids.

Staff are very friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Front Office Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Isabella2003

We certainly pride ourselves in the facilities we offer to our guests, many of which are included in the room rates, and as such are so pleased you and your family enjoyed yourselves.

We also understand that our rooms are aging and that is why we have just completed stage 1 of our room refurbishment which included 100 rooms fully upgraded, we hope that should you try us again, you look at booking one of these rooms which we are confident will suit your needs.

I have passed your comments onto our Chef and he was disappointed you felt the food didn’t meet your expectations. We have always felt the variety, quality and price was well matched for families traveling to Paradise Resort. All our menus are available via our “Eat” section of the website with prices starting from $3.50 for sandwiches and our most expensive item on the menu just $36 for a Seafood platter.

We certainly hope to see you again on your future visits to the Gold Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lightning Ridge, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had a bad experience where there was an awful smell in our room. Took several phone calls for them to relocate us to another room. When they did we got downgraded and not enough beds for my family. Before we were moved the executive house keepers cam and spray a toxic chemical throughout our room, and this made me sick with headaches and stomach cramps. The manager was really rude and treated us like it was our fault. The rooms are old and rundown with cracked tiles and dirty carpet.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty ordinary. only good thing is the kids club. Mayb ask for superior room but thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug777_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Travelbug777_13,
Further to my reply to your written complaint. The smell in your room was due to the milk spilt by your party during your stay. Even after you contacted the QLD health Authority they came and gave us a clean bill of health. The toxic smell was room deodorant offered at 930PM at night minutes after you complained to us of a smell. Any room deodorant is toxic if you drink it.. The room move was to a similar style room. As previously communicated we acted immediately to your request to clean the milk. As regular return guests I would assume that over the past four years you would already be aware of the standard of our rooms so am surprised that you continue to return if you are unhappy with our facilities.
kind regards
David Brook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here in the first week of July with our 5 year old and 14 month old. We opted for a resort family room with a pool view and were very happy with our choice. Our room was spacious, serviced every day and on the 3rd floor so we probably had the quietest spot. Pool closes at 9pm so expect a little noise up until then (our kids went to bed at 7 and slept through the noise no worries).
The resort has brilliant facilities for kids, we didn't bother with any of the theme parks as our son befriended some other kids and was happy just hanging in the water playground, pool and spa. Yes, parts of the resort could use a facelift, the lifts are old and slow, but it is evident that the owners are bit by bit refurbishing the place. But kids don't care about the cosmetics, our son didn't want to leave! Personally I would rather have a holiday with happy kids than a fancy bedspread. Love the open play sessions at the kids club and we gave the ice skating a go too. Meals were all very good and reasonably priced.I gave the gym a go and the equipment was all very clean and in good working order. I found all staff, including front desk, restaurant, lifeguards and housekeeping to be very friendly and helpful. Special mention to the lovely blonde lifeguard (I don't remember her name) who was so great with the kids.
The resort is also very central to Surfers so you can walk to many things including the Coles and Woollies if you need a few things. I have already recommended this place to many people, well worth the trip across the country for us!

Room Tip: Recommend a resort family room for accommodation with a second bedroom, as high up as possible if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narelle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Narelle_11,
Many thanks for your most positive feedback of your stay with us. I will certainly pass on your compliments to Skye our poolside attendant and know she will be delighted. We hope to see you all again one day and once again thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful account of your holiday with us.
Regards
David & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Summary: we would go back if we were taking the kid to the Gold Coast, but see the tips for some pointers! Staff are very helpful and friendly.

We needed a place that would entertain our overly active 5 year old (is there another type?) on the Gold Coast within reach of the theme parks and the shopping precinct. Our travel agent recommended this one, and it seemed to fit the bill completely.

It is, in fact, absolutely fantastic for the kids. There are a number of pools, all shallow enough to be safe for the kids (with supervision - the point is emphasized by the resort that they do not provide lifeguards, although staff do walk around and keep an eye on behavior and so forth). while being fun for them, and two have big playground features within the pool, with slides, tipping buckets and various other water features. The kids love them!

There is even (get this, it still spins me out) a spa for the kids. They absolutely love that! The weather was a bit cooler on the Coast the week we were there (mid-winter, so expected that) so the kids just piled in to the spa on their way between the other pools. One of the weirdest sights out there, a spa full of little kids!!

There is a kids club (basically child minding by a nice name!) which runs four-hour sessions in the morning and afternoon, as well as games session in between. There is a games room, a pool table and an ice rink. The restaurant and cafe have a reasonably good selection of foods and the prices are also reasonable.

The resort also has four "mascots" which entertain the kids at various times. Cheesy, but again the kids love it. There are appearances several times during the day for five or ten minutes at a time, as well as games every hour by the staff for anyone who wants to participate. They really cater well to the kids.

We found though that there is basically no provision for the parents. The pools are central to the resort, so there is no getting away from the noise. There is a "For the Adults" bar area with a big screen TV available, but it is in a through-way near the pool, and has four or five bar tables with stools. There is also a gym on site which we didn't discover until the last day as the advertising brochures hadn't been updated; they list the gym as being a nearby external site several minutes walk away. The lack of thought towards adults is apparent when you realise that even the toilets in the lobby are labelled "Boys" and "Girls".

The biggest disappointment though was when we first walked into our room - to say it was "tired" is an understatement. There is apparently a refurbishment program underway but it is several decades overdue. All the furnishings and appliances, although workable, were damaged in some way or another. Several lights however didn't work. There is a shortage of power points if you have to run things like a CPAP (my wife and I both need these, so we usually take a power board and extension cord when we go away. Yes, this time we forgot and had to beg for a power board, which staff did supply, but is it really acceptable these days to have just one already used double outlet available near the bed?). One of the only free power outlets near the TV didn't work too. Carpets were old (but more worn in the corridors), paintwork was old and peeling in places, tiles were broken in the bathroom, the list goes on.

WiFi is patchy in the rooms, available freely in the public areas. Speeds and throughput were quite good though, but I found that using my phone on 3G as a WiFi gateway for my wife's phone (no data package) and the iPad was the most reliable way out of the problem.

There is a kitchenette - ie. bar fridge and a microwave oven. Amount of utensils was a variable, eg. three spoons, two forks, three bowls first day, four by the third day. Similarly towels weren't changed after the first day then the third day we had extra. Room service seems to be variable in quality.

We had a Bunkhouse room which has a little partitioned off area for the kids in a double bunk. It's got decorated walls and the kid loved it, thought it was great (it was actually a feature I saw on the web and figured he would like).

And this is actually the point of it all - the kids won't bat an eyelid at these "faults". They see a cool room within the room; the pools, the spa, the playgrounds, etc etc. We didn't bother to go to the theme parks after the second day as our kid enjoyed playing with other kids in the resort just as much, so we chilled as much as we could by the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room! Get a Family or King bunkhouse if you have more than one kid, the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWhoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear DrwhoAuckland,
Many thanks for your feedback., your comments in relation to us totally focusing on the children is a very accurate explanation and one we focus on for that point of difference from other resorts. In terms of our accommodation rooms we are delighted to inform you that as of the beginning of July we now have 100 rooms completely refurbished for the more discerning customer. Whilst we find that many families are happy to stay in our older rooms as they don't have to worry about what the kids get up too other guests find the room the most important part of their stay. We hope that you will return and experience our upgrade. You can view these rooms on our website.
kind regards
David & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a newly refurbished room at Paradise Resort and were truly amazed. The rooms are neat and look nice and new. We were the first people in the new room! The addition of a microwave certainly helped and the shower and new beds were brilliant. The room is finished well although a bigger table would have been good.

The whole resort is amazing right from the kids club and the smart computer booking system right through to meals and facilities. I dare anyone to find a better value resort that allows you to use a kids club for free as part of your accommodation and give the adults 4 hours to enjoy themselves, such a blessing!

Staff were always friendly and we appreciated the equipment hire service to hire a second pram for the theme parks. The water parks are amazing and the playground and kids facilities are awesome. We really loved using the open session each morning to let the kids burn off some steam.

The food in the supermarket as well as the bistro and cafe were reasonably priced and gave the option to eat in the room. A toaster and bowls/plates and cutlery would be welcome in the new resort rooms for a bit of feedback. Kids activities such as cupcake decorating and plaster craft were well priced and good fun!

A resort in this location so close to theme parks, the beach and Cavill Avenue is not easy but we were pleased with everything we found in the resort. Can't highly recommend more especially the new refurbished rooms. What a delight to all who work in the resort and their outstanding efforts each and every day! Thanks for making our holiday wonderful!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiftos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Swiftos,
Thank you for your most appreciated comments, not only were your the first to enjoy our new rooms but also the first to comment. We are delighted that our investment has been the right one and everything exceeded your expectations.
We hope to see you all again one day and once again thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review.
David & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,440 reviews
4.0 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
1,096 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort Gold Coast

Property: Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Address: 122 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Resort Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted best Family Resort in Australia, Paradise Resort Gold Coast is renowned as Heaven for Kids and a Paradise for Parents! Where every accommodation package includes up to 4 hours of supervised care for every child 0-12years per day in the famous Zone 4 Kids Club, valued at $40each. The Zone 4 Kids Club is fully supervised which allows parents time to escape the daily routine and indulge in some holiday sightseeing or precious down time. There is also a giant Kids Water Park right in the centre of the resort, an indoor and outdoor playground, a permanent ice-skating rink plus a whole range of free daily activities and entertainment. And while the kids are looked after parents can rediscover the art of relaxation in the exclusive Zone 4 Adults. The outdoor spa area features a large heated spa and lounge chairs offering parents a place to unwind and soak up the sunshine 'child free'. Complete with the lagoon pool and spa, gym, bistro, cafe and bar Paradise Resort is the perfect choice for your next family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paradise Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Paradise Resort Surfers
Paradise Hotel Surfers
Paradise Resort Australia
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing