We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place for children!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A perfect place for children!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We are here on a special deal in a junior bunk house, good price, great room for the kids, not so comfy for us adults! There are no pool towels available for your time around the pool and at the amazing water park, there used to be years ago but when enquired was told hasn't been for a while now, bit disappointed, advised to buy some in the gift shop! But all this is forgotten when you realise you can have 4hours of child free time. Kids love the activities in the kids club and we loved being able to go out for a meal child free (some great restaurants close to the resort) (mind you the pizza is fantastic in the cafe). Breakfast is a bit slack, but they cater for tour groups and well as families. It's nice the pool is heated as I wasn't so keen on the kids swimming in the cooler weather but of course how to you keep them out, beach is with walking distance and great for a bit of a sunrise wander. The kids love this place and as we all know if you can get a few hours "child free" it makes life just that bit easier, even if it means sleeping on a hard bed for a few nights.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Lisa M,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and have recommended others to experience our resort.

kind regards
David & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    540
    217
    121
    134
See reviews for
1,141
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I've attempted to express my concerns regarding my recent stay at the Paradise Resort three times, with no reply or response. So I leave this review as a warning to others looking for a family-friendly resort that's worth the high price for an inclusive and relaxing family holiday.
If this is you - I suggest you DO NOT stay at this "resort"!

We entered our adjoining rooms and were met with a mouldy wet smell. There was a big wet patch on the carpet of one room that was still very wet (it appeared to have been cleaned in that spot) and this smell permeated the room for the entire stay.

The food was especially disappointing. The menu at the Poolside Café and the Bistro appears to be the same, so variety is limited. We treated our family to “dinner out” one night, and were expecting good quality, enjoyable meals. Instead, there were limited kid’s meal options (none of which included vegetables or anything particularly appetising or special), very small portions of fish and the “prawn and chicken” wok tasted like it had been made with precooked, reheated chicken. If you are going to charge restaurant prices, you really do need to serve restaurant quality food! If I wanted reheated chicken and noodles, I'd have stayed home and eaten my toddler's leftovers.

The poolside barbeque was even worse. I’ve spent many years in outback Australia and attended boarding school and by no means am I a fussy eater. But this barbeque food was terrible! One small paper plate permitted per person, and a small array of dried out burger patties, anaemic sausages, chicken pieces doused in a tub of dried herbs and some very tasteless salads. Apparently there was also steak on offer, although none of the staff pointed us towards the actual barbeque which was placed some distance away with the chef’s back turned to us and no indication at all that there was more food choices on offer should we venture over there! It was especially disappointing.

Still on the topic of food at the resort, we were also extremely disappointed with the bistro breakfast, which was essentially an over-priced and under-whelming continental breakfast. I think there were a choice of four cereals, toast, yoghurt and some pastries. There was no fresh fruit on offer. And no wait staff informed us of the option to pay an extra cost to receive a menu of hot items – we were informed that the hot items being served in the adjoining room with open doorways right beside our table, were not for us and were told nothing more

Our room was serviced twice during the 5 days. On the first two days, housekeeping turned up just after lunch. Not surprisingly, in an inter-connecting family room booked for 2 adults and 6 children and containing a cot by request, we had a toddler taking a nap at that time. So we quietly exchanged some towels, emptied the bins and left it at that. When housekeeping arrived at the same time the next day, we realised this would be a daily occurrence, and our options were to have the rooms serviced or have the toddler sleep. We chose the option that led to the most parental sanity – and since there were no other times for our rooms to be serviced, we had no further cleaning done for the remainder of our stay. I’d strongly recommend you arrange housekeeping to occur at more family-friendly times, in a family-oriented resort!

The television in one room did not receive many channels, but did have an inbuilt DVD player. Which did not work. We’d assumed since that particular unit had poor reception but included a DVD player, that it was in the room essentially for use with DVDs, and did not learn until well after the Discovery Desk had closed that the DVD player function was even worse than the television unit itself. We were told by maintenance the following day that it could not be repaired, and that we could hire a DVD player if we wanted one.
There was also the option to hire a microwave, a bottle warmer, a steriliser, a high chair and many other items that other similar places of hospitality offer as complimentary tools that help with regular family tasks, like feeding the baby or warming up some milk at midnight!
We were also not impressed with the kids’ club arrangements for toddlers. On the single day we attempted to leave our toddler there, it was staffed by one carer. Indeed there were not many children booked in for her to care for, but for the ten minutes we trialled our son in her care, she had two or three screaming, distraught toddlers and was simply not able to manage. She wasn’t exactly a reassuring, gentle, soothing carer to start with, and seemed quite frazzled when we returned, and relieved when we elected to remove our son from the kids club. Understandably, she seemed quite overwhelmed with more crying children in need of attention than she was able to provide alone. On this particular day we were not the only parents to remove their child from the toddler kids club.

I do want to commend your staff on being courteous, friendly and helpful at all times. They were each very professional in their manner but equally warm and welcoming, and we have absolutely no complaints about any of them. The bistro and café staff especially were accommodating and really pleasant to be around.
I’ve never written a letter of complaint before and I hope I have been clear but not offensive or dramatic in expressing my concerns. We had looked forward to this time away all summer, and were just so disappointed with how it turned out. I hope that in writing to you, some of these issues might be addressed so that others do not return home feeling they wasted precious family holiday time and expense on a resort that left them disappointed and frustrated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MashedPotater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear MashedPotater,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your time at Paradise Resort. It is our policy to respond to all of our guests and we are not sure how this was missed, we would be more than happy to discuss your stay in more detail. As we don’t have your details, if you would like to discuss this further please contact us directly on 0755794493.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

2 main reasons for booking this resort was the kids club and the water park features for kids and adults. I just came back from our weeks holiday and the water park, pool and spa features were very disappointing or should I say, freezing. The web site said the pools were heated in winter so you would think that would make it comfortable for this time of year. My kids tolerated it once for about 10 minutes and then never went in again. The junior water park was absolutely freezing, the smaller water park was not freezing but it was very cold. The main pool was cold and I only tolerated 10 minutes in there once and the spa was just warm (not very comfortable for too long). The adult spa was even worse. I went in one night on my own with a cocktail looking forward to some 'me' time and I stayed in there 5 minutes. That too was cold. When I complained to management I was told basically that that was the temperature it was and that was acceptable. I saw no-one else in the adult spa and didn't see much of the guests stay in the pool for long. I challenge any of management to get into these facilities themselves and see how long they last. The kids club was generally very good. My older boy had a great time and we appreciated the couple time we had. My younger two were in the under 2's kids club but I had mixed feelings about that. It seemed to be set up well, most of the staff were very good but I got the impression that what the kids did and how they were treated really depended on which staff were on duty. Apart from two occasions, the kids didn't go out into the outdoor play area. When I asked staff about it, they informed me that it was because they were understaffed and needed to shut the outside off so they could manage the place better.

Our second biggest grumble was the disappointment in the aqua room view we booked. We paid extra for our aqua view, only to find out that there was a huge palm tree stuck right in front of it, restricting our view. When I complained, they couldn't move us but didn't want to refund our aqua view room unless we moved to an outside facing view. They didn't seem to understand that a restricted view was not what we expected or paid for. I felt very 'seen off' particularly as the room above us had no restrictions so why should we pay the same as them. In the end, we were compensated which was acceptable but I felt we had to fight for it.

THe majority of the staff were helpful and nice. The splashes bar food was good and the pizza particularly was excellent - much better than expected. The convenience of having everything there was very good. To be fair, I have no complaints about the room (except the lack of aqua view that I paid for). I didn't choose this resort for the style and standard of the room. If that was a consideration, I definitely would have booked somewhere else. You an't expect too much if the rooms are not self-catering. I quite liked the fact that we spent little time in the room.

Another disappointment was the TV. The web site said that there was lots of channels including kids TV. It gave me the impression that there would be sky TV or at least digital TV. IT was not, just regular analogue TV. The picture was rubbish but I believe everything is turning over to digital now so that may have changed.

Overall, I had a good holiday and a good stay. Some staff need to be on the same page as there seemed to be a real mix of attitudes. The kids club overall was good but the outside water areas were a real let down due to the intolerable temperatures. We didn't use them but we expected to use them a lot. The daily programme was good but my kids were too young to be interested in it but would be great for older kids. Would I go back? NO. Too expensive for what it was and what we got out of it. If the water park and pools were more comfortable then yes but I got the impression the resort would be glad to see the back of us after our complaints. I would seriously look at somewhere like sea world next time.

Room Tip: If you book an aqua room, check for restrictions of the view first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mrs Sharon T,
It is a shame that you found it necessary to post your feedback after emailing me your comments earlier this morning and my immediate response to you that I was looking into your claims and would contact you shortly.
Since you have found it necessary to publically post your feedback, I will therefore respond publically.
Firstly as already communicated to you we are extremely appreciative of your feedback and the recommendations that you gave our operations manager during your hour long meeting with him.
A full report was undertaken with our management team and your acceptance and acknowledgement of complimentary breakfast for the duration of your stay for the family as compensation was believed to have been acceptable to you.
Your main complaint is that a Palm tree was outside your second floor balcony obstructing your view. This tree and the room have been in place for many years and we have never had a complaint prior. Being in the tropics most people see palm trees as a treat rather than an inconvenience.
You were offered alternative rooms albeit a limited choice due to availability or compensation which you took.
In relation to the waterparks I can assure you that all except the large water structure are as stated heated. To say they are freezing is obviously an exaggeration, however we did check the heaters and found the main spa at 34 degrees as stated and the main pool and small water structure at 28 degrees. Since your feedback we have increased the latter to 30 degrees which whilst warmer is still not bath temperature.
In relation to the adult Spa we can find no reason why this would have been cold that evening in question other than a fault in the electric system as I personally checked it the following day after your feedback and found it to be warm please accept our apologies.
Mrs T, we take all comments very seriously and have done since purchasing the property just over 2 ½ years ago which can be seen in the millions of dollars we have invested into the refurbishment so far and the millions more with our rooms due to open in the next few weeks. There will always be room for improvement and we are focused on actioning this daily.
We did and have taken each and every one of your comments seriously including us not being able to brush your children’s teeth after their meals in the kids club.
Once again thank you for your time and feedback
Regards
David Brook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in may in a resort family room. This being our 2nd visit to the resort,we opted for the larger room this time as the kids are getting older. Was some reno's happening with 1 entire wing closed off which didn't really affect us at all, what noise you could hear was soon drowned out by the kids in the water park. Our room looked as though it was half renovated recently, apart from the bathroom. Newish kitchen, cupboards, benches and curtains. Room was clean and reasonably stocked.
Price is a bit steep if your only looking at the accommodation side of things, but when you factor in the free rein of the water park facilities, free xbox + game hire and the 4 hours of blissful mummy daddy time, the costs aren't so bad.
We ate a fair bit at the resort, the pizza's are awesome and the staff always friendly and helpful. Restaurant food was good but we mostly ate from the bar area... better atmosphere.
Only 2 drawbacks I found,
1. Nothing overly comfortable to sit and relax in in the rooms, only the firm bed with pillows behind you or hard wood dining chairs. I felt rather uncomfortable by our last night. Even if just a couple of tub chairs or a little 2 seater...
And 2. No pool towels. If you forget your towels from home, you only have the one's left in your room for showering n all. Supplying some beachtowels wouldn't be such a bad idea. Last time I didn't think to pack the kids towels and so they had to use the same towels they needed to use at shower time, filling them with chlorine.
After this lot of reno's are done, it would be nice to see them move on to those god aweful bathrooms... but at the end of the day, kids had fun, we had some time off, and that makes it all worth while xxx

Room Tip: Bunkhouse rooms are good for smaller kiddies, bottom bunk isn't full length, from 8yrs up though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyCoo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Missycoo78,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your 2nd visit and hope you will make it a 3rd to try out our new furniture in the our newly refurbished rooms.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Fantastic resort for families. So much for children to do especially the waterpark. My children loved the kids clubs. The rooms are a little dated, however they are being refurbished. Pity there are no cooking facilities in their rooms apart from a microwave. Would of been great if they had BBQ area as well. The food was nice in the restaurant but a little pricey. Great selection for breakfast.The staff were friendly and helpful. We will be staying there again for sure as our children loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear RosieL123,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
It is nice to hear that your children enjoyed the kids club it is always a lot of fun. We look forward to seeing you again soon to try our newly refurbished rooms.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I've looked at this hotel a couple of times but this was the first time I have stayed. Whilst the rooms themselves aren't anything special its really about the activities for the kids which didn't disappoint. The water park was great and the older kids bigger park looked like a lot of fun. My daughter loved the kids club of which we had a free 4 hours of each day we stayed. The activities and performances were good fun for the kids. They do try and charge you for anything extra such as DVD players, microwave, etc and some of the activities however all up it was an enjoyable stay. The resort could do with a bit of an upgrade but we will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Ben V,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
We are glad to hear that your children enjoyed their time at the Resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon to try our newly refurbished rooms.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We visit the Gold Coast almost every July, mostly to visit Wet n Wild. We have stayed at Paradise Resort once before and intend to stay there again this year. It has great accommodation, but the higher end rooms are better if you plan on spending time in them. The kids club is great for young kids as is the water park section. This is more than adequate while the adults sit around the pool area and have some adult time. I wouldn't say that the pool area was an ideal place for quiet time, but we certainly had a great time. It is also a great place to base yourself. The food was nice but to stand out. I think that it ws not value for money. I would have liked to have seen a distinctive character to the food served, but nonetheless it was not bad in any way.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank narayansmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Narayansmate,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
It is always nice to hear feedback from our regulars, and will take on board your comments about the food. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,661 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,468 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort Gold Coast

Property: Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Address: 122 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Resort Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted best Family Resort in Australia, Paradise Resort Gold Coast is renowned as Heaven for Kids and a Paradise for Parents! Where every accommodation package includes up to 4 hours of supervised care for every child 0-12years per day in the famous Zone 4 Kids Club, valued at $40each. The Zone 4 Kids Club is fully supervised which allows parents time to escape the daily routine and indulge in some holiday sightseeing or precious down time. There is also a giant Kids Water Park right in the centre of the resort, an indoor and outdoor playground, a permanent ice-skating rink plus a whole range of free daily activities and entertainment. And while the kids are looked after parents can rediscover the art of relaxation in the exclusive Zone 4 Adults. The outdoor spa area features a large heated spa and lounge chairs offering parents a place to unwind and soak up the sunshine 'child free'. Complete with the lagoon pool and spa, gym, bistro, cafe and bar Paradise Resort is the perfect choice for your next family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Paradise Resort Surfers
Paradise Hotel Surfers
Paradise Resort Australia
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing