We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are bad but the kids loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rooms are bad but the kids loved it”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This place is a game of two halves.

Let's face it, you're only here because you have kids and you want everyone to have a good break. Your kids won't be disappointed, the kids club is good, the staff looking after them are good and the water slides are entertaining (for a day at least).

Unfortunately, the rooms are as bad as everyone says. Aside from being dated, they've gotten grubby too. There's a distinct smell of urine on several covers etc which I guess is a by-product of being a kid friendly hotel. My boy and I both had an allergic reaction to something in the room (and it wasn't a decor)!

On balance, if you're on budget, doing it for the kids and you dont mind motel style accommodation then go for it. We wont be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyDSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear TimmyDSydney,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
We are glad to hear that your kids had a good time at the resort, And we do hope you will reconsider your decision on coming back to the resort and possibly try us again after the renovations.
We do hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    540
    217
    121
    134
See reviews for
1,141
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from 3rd of february for 7 days. Actually we checked out today. Wish I planned another vacation for us. Ok, where to start from?
Rooms : I cant care less about rooms being dated but I DO care about cleanliness and the room was filty. Big splashes of old dried food on the cushion and bed cover which you can see and remove with your finger nail. Our little man walked into the wardrobe barefoot as a game a couple of times and ended up with black feet. Our room was never cleaned up properly, actually one bed was made and the other wasnt, twice!
Food : no words to describe the food. So unhealthy, so tasteless, it makes you think if the chef has ever tasted what is coming out of the kitchen. A hotel for kids and awful kids meals, frozen chicken nuggets, frozen fish, dried in the microwave pasta etc. No vegetables whatsoever, put a slice of avokado in the sandwich for gods sake. Such a shame. Also they say they serve pancakes with maple syrup, but its maple flavoured corn syrup, the nastiest kind and when you ask for the real stuff they say they dont have it. Fake menu! Doesnt anyone know its actually against the law?!
Kids club : this was the worst part. We have a 15 month old boy. Second day we took him to the club. We made it clear that he has never been to a care center before and if he is not happy call us immediately. We were watching him from our balcony all the time he was playing in the garden. He was happy, but no one was looking after him really. And they all went in for dinner so we lost sight. After half an hour we decided to call them to check on him. One of the guys said he had a good feed, got a bit upset, but now he is fine, watching a movie. Convincing enough. But we decided to have a look anyway. And we found our precious boy like this : in a pram, tied up laying down, in front of a tv holding a milk bottle, unable to see anyone, crying terrified. Makes me want to cry now when i remember the moment. Also he was so hungary, he gulped half of my plate in 5 mins. Why did they lie? I dont understand...
So anyway, it was a nerve wrecking experience overall. Stay away from the place especially if you have young kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ceyda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Ceyda S,
To say I am flabbergasted is a total underestimation. You stayed with us seven days and failed to report that your child was tied up screaming and starving. Yet you write on a website with no direct correlation to the resort with your first priority being frozen chicken nuggets and fish fingers (please advise us how else they come) and fake maple syrup.
If my son was tied up screaming and starving the last thing I would be worrying about is whether the maple syrup was genuine. I fail to see how a parent can stay in a resort with a duty manager on 24 hours per day and a General Manager on call for emergencies such as this and you didn’t report it. Next time you see such an atrocity I would suggest you report it to someone in authority. I will be following up your allegations of such an outrageous act.
As a side issue fresh vegetables are available daily from all our menus’ along with a kids club request form for gluten free, vegetarian and diabetes, as for the avocado, it is readily available in the avocado and chicken sandwiches from the café.
David Brook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Overall we enjoyed the stay as we didn't expect much from the rooms. Glad to see that a refurb is scheduled for April which is really needed in the rooms. As we have small children who go to sleep early, we found the entry door to the rooms were really loud when they sprung shut and echoed down the corridor. Our second night, we had people in the surrounding rooms opening and closing their doors constantly til 3 am. The pool area and children activities kept the kids entertained but I would recommend not staying in rooms facing the Gold Coast highway as it was quite noisy.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1110 and found that quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stxtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Stxtrail,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the outdoor facilities and hope to see you back after the refurbishment.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Well, I have to say that some of the reviews on here made me laugh more than anything. People annoyed because they couldn't get a partial credit because they want to get back to their flooded house? rude staff? not up to standard? I call Bull#%!@ on the last 2, and the first one? It's a business, the location you chose to buy a house is not their responsibility!!!

Well, we visited for a long weekend and got back home yesterday and this resort is fantastic. Great staff from bar staff to cleaners were all very friendly and forever stoppped to talk to kids.

Yes, the rooms may be a little tired but are certainly clean, remember people. Young children stay there day in, day out, of course the rooms will get tired, we are forever trying to keep a perfect home but kids make that impossible. The pool area is fantastic, the food is of good quality and theme nights are a great idea, which also gives people a chance to interact with the chefs. My only criticism if any would be $18.50 for the BBQ night was a little overpriced for the food that was on offer but at the end of the day, it was my choice to pay,

So people, if you want a great place to stay with kids and your willing to make your ego and snobbery take a back seat, give Paradise resort a chance as your children will thank you for it, if you can't do that. Stick your kids in a 3 piece suit, throw some Brylcreem in their hair and take them to the Waldorf Astoria for cucumber sandwiches.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LFender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear LFender,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
The team at Paradise Resort, appreciate your comments and I can speak for the management team when I say you have made our day.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were amazed that a resort like this would be tucked away in the heart of surfers. Every thing is just a walk away. our package included free kids club that the kids enjoyed, the ice skating was one of the high lights of our visit and the swimming was the best.

Continental buffet Breakfast was also included in our package and the selection of food was enough to get us thru to lunch time.

The mini mart was handy for those sneaky snacks when the kids felt a bit peckish.

The bistro had a limited selection of meals to choose from but cooked to perfection.

The staff throughout the resort were friendly and helpful and work hard to make our stay a pleasure.

Overall this resort is defiantly for families with kids and the whole setup is designed to cater for families with kids so if your looking for a quiet calm relaxing place to stay then good luck with staying at paradise resort as this is a family resort and we loved it. Thank you paradise resort, we loved it here and will defiantly be back in the near future and hopefully bring other family members along with us.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hicksta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear hicksta,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the facilities, and look forward to seeing you next time.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is unbelievably BAD. I knew it was a mistake to stay there even with 2 young kids as soon as we walked in reception.
We arrived late at night because of delayed flight and where greated with beyond rude service though we had phone ahead to advise of our delay ( and it was only 10 pm not 3 am...)
The rooms are beyond tired, dirty, smelly and just horrid. Think glorified roadside motel, yes that bad and this is being polite.
The pool area is geared for kids ( and I knew that when booking) but it is NOTHING great. My kids are 5 & 9 and had fun for a while. The surround is crampted and dirty, just not welcoming.
Food well don't get me started, to use a roadside analogy again it's a greasy shop... and just outrageously priced for what it is.
The kids club & activities are the only middly positive part of this motel.... can't get myself to call it resort really.
Against my best judgement I let friends convince me to come as a family and against my best judgement as I was not organising I did not even check Trip advisor..... bad bad move. Won't happen again. The bad feedback from all the reviews is very accurate.
Why do place geared for kids have to be that bad !!! It infuriates me. I never will take my kids in such a place again . There are perfectly good place in Surfers , that are superbe quality for similar price with great pool fun for kids without having to stay in this dump !!!! Enough said

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bambasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear BambaSydney,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
Clearly the Resort is not for you, please note the number of good comments we do receive.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at the resort the last week of the school holidays. Booked late and ended up on the highway side of the hotel which is fine as we booked late. However if you want sleep don't expect to get any. The beeping of the pedestrian button was constant and cars hooning around. The room was reasonable size but the word grotty comes to mind. Very old, dirty stained carpet tiles etc. the room stunk like smoke and my suitcase and all my cloths had to be rewashed when we got home to remove the stench of the room. On top of that their were ants coming out of the drains, cracks in the tiles and sinks. The room was the upsetting factor of the place. The food was tailored to kids although a few healthy options wouldn't go astray. The breakfast buffet was overpriced for what it was ( the surfer paradise surf club does a hot and cold buffet for $10 adults and a dollar per year of your child a 10 min walk away). The water park is great and the staff (although a few looked like the school holidays had tested their patience) were helpful. Would consider staying again only if the rooms got a drastic makeover.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerrad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Nerrad10,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
We agree the rooms are in need of an update and happy to say that this will commence in April
Hope to see you again after the renovations.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,479 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort Gold Coast

Property: Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Address: 122 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Resort Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted best Family Resort in Australia, Paradise Resort Gold Coast is renowned as Heaven for Kids and a Paradise for Parents! Where every accommodation package includes up to 4 hours of supervised care for every child 0-12years per day in the famous Zone 4 Kids Club, valued at $40each. The Zone 4 Kids Club is fully supervised which allows parents time to escape the daily routine and indulge in some holiday sightseeing or precious down time. There is also a giant Kids Water Park right in the centre of the resort, an indoor and outdoor playground, a permanent ice-skating rink plus a whole range of free daily activities and entertainment. And while the kids are looked after parents can rediscover the art of relaxation in the exclusive Zone 4 Adults. The outdoor spa area features a large heated spa and lounge chairs offering parents a place to unwind and soak up the sunshine 'child free'. Complete with the lagoon pool and spa, gym, bistro, cafe and bar Paradise Resort is the perfect choice for your next family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Paradise Resort Surfers
Paradise Hotel Surfers
Paradise Resort Australia
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing