We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids don't care about modern rooms! But i wanted comfort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here when my teens were young and had the best holiday. That was 12 years ago. I took my eight y/o recently and the rooms have not changed just really aged. I booked an online special and i think the resort saw that as an opportunity to place me on the side of the very noisy main road and a far distance away from the pool area. After complaining i was moved slightly closer to the pill area but told to pay an extra $20 per night for the convenient location!!! So beware when booking those special deals online!!!!
The Polynesian dancers are no longer there to entertain on a Saturday night and neither are the awesome themed dinner nights at the buffet restaurant. The food is way over priced and poor quality. Breakfast was a disaster as they completely forgot my order then took over an hour to finally cook it and bring it out. The water park is a huge bonus and the only real reason i booked but i won't return. It simply isn't value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jollyjossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear jollyjossy,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
We are disappointed that you won’t be staying again Although we don’t have the Polynesian dancers any more we do now have entertainment 4 nights a week As well as a number of other activities. We are in fact going through a refurbishment early next year to enhance the quality of the rooms. I do hope you can try us again after this if not we do hope you find a more suited resort in the future.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. This resort is fantastic for kids which in-turn equals relaxed parents. The pool areas and playgrounds keep the children busy and definitely 'make' the resort.

Rooms are in desperate need of an update and unfortunately don't provide basic necessities that are required for travel with children. Rooms have a jug & fridge, tea & coffee and a few spoons and cups. No plates, bowls, toaster or microwave. Sink access is in the bathroom which feels slightly unhygienic.

The restaurant & poolside cafe provides good meals at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misslici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Misslici,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
It is Wonderful to see that your children had a great time. I do hope you can see our newly refurbished rooms next year. We commence the refurbishment in April 2013
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Kids club: Awesome. Thank you so much! The best part was my 4 yo and 1 yo could be together. Loved that the meals whilst in care were "meat and veg" not chips chips chips! Can't believe the 4 hours daily (each) of kids club was included in the price!
Water park: my daughter was in heaven!
Mini-mart: prices were reasonable, not over priced.
Service: overall everyone was so eager to help.
Food: reasonably priced. Appealed to a family audience. Service in restaurant slow at times. But food was always fast to arrive.
Entertainment: I am still wowed at the games, shows and activities that were on offer. My daughter loved the outdoor movies and the performance with the Captain, Clio and Astro.
Rooms. Great that rooms included a step for kids in the bathroom and extra padding in the portacots. Shows that the hotel really understand what families need. We were in a jnr bunkhouse and overlooked the water park. The only major criticism was you couldn't escape the noise of the water, bell, music and the loudness of the movie night. As a suggestion, perhaps when/if it gets upgraded, the rooms might get thicker doors to cut out noise on that side of the hotel. It would add to the "relaxation" aspect for the parents. The rooms will need a little more work to improve quality of the decor. But that can be overlooked for the amazing stuff going on to keep families entertained.
This is a great holiday option for any family. We used to go to Fiji to get this kind of holiday. Now we can stay local! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrekker321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Globetrekker321,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
Great to hear we can provide a better holiday destination than the beautiful Fiji. We can’t wait to see you next time.
Vinaka Vakelevu (Thank you)
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have 3 kids (7, 5, 2) and it was our first time at the Paradise and perhaps we didn't stay long enough to appreciate all its facilities, but the resort didn't hit the mark and we wont be booking again.
On arrival: there is no staff to help with getting bags in and out of the car and to your room, just a trolley for customer use. Travelling with 3 small kids means alot of baggage to move as well as keeping the children under control when checking in and out. A little help would have been appreciated.
The room: the layout was good, it was a good size, had everything we needed, although it was a dark and dated and the walls seemed paper thin. We could hear a baby crying from a room either neighbouring or down the hall for most of the night.
Facilities: there is alot for the kids to do. The kids club was the largest I've seen in a resort, we didn't stay long enough for the kids to book in for a activity session (which cost around $35-$40 per child) but we did let them in for 1 of the free play sessions. There are 2 a day 7.30-9am and 2-3pm. No staff are present so parents have to stay.
There is a convenience store near the pool which was really handy, and a movie/game rental service as well.
We thought that the kids would love the pool and water playground as they have been to something like that at a local theme park at home. It was one of the deciding factors when booking, however, they really only spent around 40 minutes of our stay playing in it. Our youngest, like all of the littlies there at the same time as us, would not go near the tiny tots water playground. The tipping water bucket makes too much noise for the little ones and they are too scared.
Our holiday took us on to northern QLD where we stayed in a resort with a small, basic, but well shaded pool and the kids had more fun there than in the big water playgroud at Paradise Resort. In summary, we booked a hotel that the kids would love without realising that we where sacrificing the small comforts that adults appreciate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoedyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear JoedyPerth,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
We are disappointed that you won’t be staying again and surprised that your children preferred a "small, basic, but well shaded pool" over our water park area. We do hope you find a more suited resort in the future.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Hubby and I wanted a weekend away with our 2 year old twins and friends had been here and recommended this hotel. I was not disappointed from the moment I booked nothing was too much trouble..Jamie was outstanding arranging portacots, parking, room with a pool view all by email. the rooms are a little old but you spend most of your time outside. The kids zone looked after my twins and gave hubby and I 4 hours each day it was fantastic. Just a couple of points a microwave in the rooms would be a big help and more shaded areas around the pool. we are only from Brisbane but will be coming here monthly for our weekend getaway. Hoping u do your $500 resort deal again soon so we can book a week. Thanks for having everything all in one we loved it and will be back

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamroscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Tamroscoe,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
Wonderful to hear that your friends recommendation was successful. We take on board your comments about the shade and microwave and can let you know we are on to it.
Kind Regards
Glen & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Fantastic family holiday. We stayed 5 nights in the jr bunk house and this was definatly not enough time to enjoy all the sites of the GC and fun stuff to do at the resort. Our boys (8 &10yo) loved the water parks and movie nights by the pool. The restaurant and cafe were fabulous & it was great to be able to stay within the safety & privacy of the resort as we traveled during the schoolies celerbrations & the boys were abit scared to go outside the resort at night. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't spend much time in our room but was clean and the boys loved the bunk beds. Thanks paradise resort for the awesome low budget family holiday, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Rod L,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
Wonderful to hear that you and the boys enjoyed your time and that you were able to avoid schoolies week. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Glen & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a wonderful family holiday with our 7 y.o boy and 3 y.o girl for 5 nights in November. We found it difficult to fault the place for what it offers - a great place for kids and it looks after the parents. Obviously the Kids Club is great, the water park with slides, pool and spa is great, we thought the choice for a continental breakfast for the family was great, the Adventure park was great, happy for free parking nearby but obviously the rooms could use a make-over.
Some special features made us think the resort above expectations - Dan the Magician was amazing (and free), the Movie night poolside was a treat, then there was music (live, Aboriginal and party style) all part of the hourly entertainment.
The staff need to be commended: happy and helpful. A Kids club worker remembered our kids the next day at breakfast, a cleaner checked for shine on the floor, room cleaners smiled and said hello, friendly cafe staff happy to join in the fun, entertaining kids. The friendly hosting was all noticeable.
We had Dreamworld tickets as part of the package, which we used on 3 days (had a ball) and returned to continue the fun at the resort. Drinks by the pool (expensive, but there is a bottleshop on site), some cheap dinners ($8 tacos, spuds, roast rolls) and kids worn out.
Job done!

Room Tip: Little time will be spent in rooms so be prepared for any circumstance. Room 3122 fine on side stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Operations Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Rod L,
Thank you for your review of Paradise Resort,
Wonderful to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the Dream world package. We will pass on your complements to Dan the magician and the rest of the Team.
Kind Regards
Glen & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
528 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,686 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,761 reviews
3.2 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
0.5 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort Gold Coast

Address: Mecure Hotel Ocean Blue Resort 122 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $137 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Resort Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted best Family Resort in Australia, Paradise Resort Gold Coast is renowned as Heaven for Kids and a Paradise for Parents! Where every accommodation package includes up to 4 hours of supervised care for every child 0-12years per day in the famous Zone 4 Kids Club, valued at $40each. The Zone 4 Kids Club is fully supervised which allows parents time to escape the daily routine and indulge in some holiday sightseeing or precious down time. There is also a giant Kids Water Park right in the centre of the resort, an indoor and outdoor playground, a permanent ice-skating rink plus a whole range of free daily activities and entertainment. And while the kids are looked after parents can rediscover the art of relaxation in the exclusive Zone 4 Adults. The outdoor spa area features a large heated spa and lounge chairs offering parents a place to unwind and soak up the sunshine 'child free'. Complete with the lagoon pool and spa, gym, bistro, cafe and bar Paradise Resort is the perfect choice for your next family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Paradise Resort Surfers
Paradise Hotel Surfers
Paradise Resort Australia
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing