We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“probably wouldnt stay again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Legends Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra Legends Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“probably wouldnt stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed 3 days 23rd to 25th dec in a deluxe studio. Room ok. Balcony for 2 (as long as you are not to large), pool view, and a sliver of ocean view. I booked special earlybird Mantra Prom rate.
So good value for what I paid. The king size bed. What is it good for, 2 single beds pushed together with a 50mm height difference between the two. Go back to queen size This is the last time I will stay at a hotel where car parking is not guaranteed. Mantra legends (according to the porter) has 400 rooms, 200 car spaces. So they have a deal with a commercial car park a block or so away, which is a pain in the Butt.. Because car parking is charged. why shouldn't you be able to pre book it just like the room.

Room Tip: If you want a good night sleep get queen size beds. King size are 2 smaller beds pushed together and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear ‘Stephen C’,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra Legends Hotel.

It was pleasing to read that overall you felt the room was value for money. I do however apologise that the bedding was not up to your expectations. We will certainly review the quality of the bed in that room and make the necessary adjustments.

I also note your comments about car parking and as I am sure you understand, during peak holiday periods, high demand can limit the availability from time to time. The hotel does recommend other car parking buildings that are very close in proximity to the hotel.

Thank you & regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    755
    342
    142
    116
See reviews for
433
758
101
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at mantra legends recently and found the location and overall appearance to be nice. Once in the room our expectations we're let down drastically by uncomfortable beds/pillows, dated furniture, mouldy bathroom, peeling wallpaper, 2 towels for 4 guest, and a balcony covered in cigarette ash. Paid a premium being high session but still expected more from a top end hotel chain. Upside was the breakfast which was plentiful and the breakfast staff on arrival we're exceptionally friendly. Pool area was also very nice but as mentioned in other reviews was very warn so we opted for the beach. $650 3 night stay! Would we stay there again? Not at legends.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisguy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear ‘Brisguy13’,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra Legends Hotel.

I do apologise that some areas were not up to your expectations. I have passed your concerns onto our team to ensure high standards are maintained in the future.

It was great however, to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and the service offered by the team.

Hopefully if you do choose to return to Surfers Paradise, you can consider us again.

Regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This place in ideally located for a Gold Coast holiday. We are here for seven days, last night was the first one. We are in a two bedroom on the 6th floor. The room is great. Spacious and clean. Three TVs with plenty of channels. Wifi works great. I was surprised to have to pay (a lot of places are phasing it out as the price has fallen so much), but it works, so the cost is a minor irk rather than a major pain.

We ate in the restaurant last night. We all chose "light meals" and the servings were HUGE, none of us finished our meal.

There are lots to do within walking distance, as well as a chemist, supermarket and bottle shop. Basically everything you could need is on your door step. This place is a great option at a destination I have travelled to many many times.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RedheadMumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear ‘RedheadMumma’

Thank you for giving such positive feedback on your recent stay at Mantra Legends Hotel.

We are all pleased that you enjoyed your experiences here and do hope we may be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future!

Warmest regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

$180 + PARKING at $12 = $192
Hotel is tired, old, run down and grubby.
Another Gold Coast rip off.
Overpriced for 2nd rate accommodation.
I would ask for a refund but did not want to fight with staff over the obvious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchieLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear ‘ArchieLuxury’

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at our hotel.

As I have recently been in communication directly with you, I would just like to reiterate that we are disappointed that you felt our hotel was not up to your expectations.

I do hope you have a change of mind and we may be able to welcome you back again sometime in the future,

Warmest regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hotel is reasonable and a good location to be in the center of things. Our room was unfortunately robbed here! Stayed in a ground floor ground room after the 1st nights stay we strongly believe we were set up by housekeeping. The rooms are secure and the last thing we did before leaving the room was to check the heavy door leading to the terrace was locked too before we left. Stuipidly we left our ipad and iphone out and charging on the side while we went out for the day. We returned a little while later to find the curtains to the terrace patio door billowing out and ipad and iphones gone. No forced entry, the patio door was just unlocked. Too much of a coincidence that the maid had just left it unlocked after cleaning the terrace. We reported to hotel Manager immediately who changed our room straight away but it was our word against theirs and we had no proof. Horrible start to our trip of a lifetime in Australia!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djames1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear ‘djames1000’

Thank you for giving feedback on your recent stay at Mantra Legends Hotel.

We do note your comments regarding the items that went missing during your stay. As discussed with you during your stay, the hotel did complete a full investigation immediately after you highlighted this matter with us.

As you know no conclusive evidence was found on who took the items and we recommended that you contact the local police to report the incident.

We do understand how upsetting this must be for you and if there is any other way we can assist in the matter please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

In the meantime we all wish you a pleasant holiday in Australia.

Warmest regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms. No view as was facing west, hotel is close to beach and main Surfers strip without being too close to be noisy at night. Room was clean, bed comfortable, and staff friendly. Is well priced with other hotels in the area.
Did not have breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear ‘OzBear’

Thank you for giving feedback on your recent stay at Mantra Legends Hotel.

I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed the location, room, bed and most importantly - service offered by our team.

I do hope we may be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future,

Warmest regards
Matthew Everson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

So called 'upgraded' rooms are apparently not much different to standard rooms according to a housekeeper. Came to find that our bath was dirty with hair in it and also blankets covered in black hair!
Pool was way too overheated, on a hot summers day you don't want to cool off into a 30 + degree pool full of people and hair.
Walls are paper thin so you can hear everything in other rooms and also the doors that connect room to room are always unlocked to you so you can basically walk into the room next to you (or have to worry about your own room!) Beds are so uncomfortable that we actually had to say something as there was numerous bumps in it that you roll into. When housekeeping came to our room she had 'ran out' of bed toppers so put a quilt cover on instead which did nothing. I had to flip our own mattress over to resolve some of the discomfort.
Overall wouldn't stay here again. After reading reviews after booking I tried to swap to a different mantra and staff were so rude !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear ‘AllisonSE’,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra Legends Hotel.

I do apologise that you felt the room cleanliness & mattress comfort were not up to your expectations. I have passed your concerns onto our Executive Housekeeper who will discuss the matter with her team to ensure high standards are maintained in the future.

In regards to the pool temperature being too high, unfortunately during the summer months when the ambient temperature are high on the Gold Coast, this can create problems for pool water temperatures and is difficult for us to control, however thank you for your understanding on this matter.

If your plans ever bring you back to Surfers Paradise, please free to contact me in advance so I am able to create a more memorable experience for you.

Regards
Matthew Everson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Legends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Legends Hotel

Property: Mantra Legends Hotel
Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd and Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Legends Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering premium accommodation in the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Legends Hotel provides the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. The hotel is just a short stroll to the beach, premium shopping outlets and fine dining restaurants and Surfers Paradise's famous nightlife scene is a mere five minute walk. The hotel boasts well appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring ocean or hinterland views. All rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, in-house movies, wireless connectivity and most feature a private balcony and the option of upgrading to a deluxe (refurbished) room. On-site facilities cater to both business travellers and those on a relaxed getaway. We offer exceptional conferencing facilities as well as a beautiful outdoor pool area, fully equipped gym and steam room. We offer guest services including 24 hour reception, secure undercover parking (subject to availability) and concierge. Our hotel offers an on-site restaurant, Fables and our own Tales Bar. Join us for breakfast, dinner or simply an evening cocktail. We provide the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. Limited undercover parking is available for one car only per room at a cost of $19 per day payable direct to the hotel. For more car parking information please contact Mantra Legends (parking is subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mantra Legends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Legends Surfers Paradise
Mantra Legends Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing